Healthy breakfast for school kids
i think that breakfast is the most important of the meal for the day.
My DS loves hard boil eggs with mayo. Is there any limit to the no. of eggs a child should take in a week? Know adult should limit to 2-3 eggs per week.
cherrygal:
hi,My DS hates bread... so sandwiches are out.
I ask him what he wants before he sleeps every night so I prevent morning fights. If I forget to ask him, then it will be Frosties with milk.
If I don't want to wake up, I sometimes cook porridge in a thermal pot and DH and DS can have it for breakfast.
Sometimes, DS will ask for waffles and we use the frozen ones too.
His fave is half-boiled eggs but that requires me to wake up to prepare. I think it's ok for kids this age to take half-cooked eggs as long as you get the eggs from a good brand. Don't buy those cheap eggs that come in a tray of 30. And don't buy from N&N or \"Lim Chu Kang\" brand (also from N&N) eggs. N&N got into trouble with the AVA or HSA twice already. I only trust Seng Choon or Chew's.
how about kampung egg ? -
mummaid:
My DS loves hard boil eggs with mayo. Is there any limit to the no. of eggs a child should take in a week? Know adult should limit to 2-3 eggs per week.
The old myth about limiting eggs is no longer true as research have found. Kumpong eggs is, of course, the best. But how to get? If you have lobang, please PM me. I am very enthu about eggs!!!
Battling the egg myth: http://healthinmotion.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/eggs-the-myth-of-cholesterol-and-exercise/
During a lively debate on nutrition, a good friend the other day raised the link between eggs and cholesterol. This subject is one of curiosity because rather than being a culprit of disease, eggs are actually very good for us. First, we have to understand that cholesterol is not necessarily bad. Humans need it to maintain cell walls, insulate nerve fibres and produce vitamin D, among other things. Second, there are two types of important cholesterol: dietary cholesterol and blood cholesterol.
Dietary cholesterol is found in certain foods, such as meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, and dairy products. The second type (blood cholesterol, also called serum cholesterol) is produced in the liver and floats around in our bloodstream. Blood cholesterol is divided into two sub-categories: High-Density Lipoprotein (HDL), and Low-Density Lipoprotein (LDL).
LDL cholesterol is considered bad because it sticks to artery walls. Too much of it can cause heart problems, but scientists are now discovering that consuming food rich in dietary cholesterol does not increase blood cholesterol.
A 1999 study, published in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) suggest that those who consumed seven to 14 eggs a week had the same rate of cardiovascular disease as those whose consumption included no eggs.
In another study (February 2009 Nutrition Bulletin paper: βEggs and Dietary Cholesterol β Dispelling the Mythβ), Prof. Bruce Griffin and Dr. Juliet Gray reviewed studies of egg consumption, dietary cholesterol and heart disease risk. Their conclusion was that though dietary cholesterol can increase LDL cholesterol a small amount, the effect is clinically insignificant, and does not increase the risk of heart disease. In fact, eating eggs may increase HDL cholesterol, counteracting the effect of LDL cholesterol on heart disease risk.
These studies fly in the face of conventional wisdom on eggs, which advises people to eat no more than three or four eggs a week. In fact, health organizations including the British Heart Foundation, the American Heart Association, and the Food Standards Agency no longer advise that the number of eggs eaten needs to be limited. With the exception of people who have been advised to limit eggs for health reasons (such as those with familial hypercholesterolemia, a genetic predisposition to high cholesterol), eggs are now regarded by medical professionals to be a valuable contribution to a healthy, balanced diet, and can be eaten daily. -
Thanks for the info daddybear.
Would love to give DS hard boil eggs for breakfast but it takes too much time to prepare (time is precious esp during the morning rush hours). Just wondering if it causes any 'harm' if I pre-boil the eggs the night before and keep them in the fridge (without shelling them) and heat them up again the next morning (probably just need to take 5mins). Is this considered 'overnight food'? :roll: -
mummaid:
I dun know the overnight issue, but I wld think the taste wld be different. Nothing beats the taste of warm egg.Thanks for the info daddybear.
Would love to give DS hard boil eggs for breakfast but it takes too much time to prepare (time is precious esp during the morning rush hours). Just wondering if it causes any 'harm' if I pre-boil the eggs the night before and keep them in the fridge (without shelling them) and heat them up again the next morning (probably just need to take 5mins). Is this considered 'overnight food'? :roll:
Actually cooking hard boiled egg is not time consuming, esp if small eggs are used.
I wake up at least 20 mins earlier than the children. I usu. take the eggs out from the fridge and leave them overnight to return to room temperature. In the morning, I wld boil a small pot of water for cooking eggs. Once the water starts to boil, I set the timer to 10 mins. Once 10 mins is up, the eggs are ready. By the time I finish shelling the eggs, the children's alarm clocks wld ring. Breakfast is ready
how big is the egg and how much hot water ? what type of container ? pre-rinse with hot water to prevent heat loss or not ?
I dun know the overnight issue, but I wld think the taste wld be different. Nothing beats the taste of warm egg.mummaid:
Thanks for the info daddybear.
Would love to give DS hard boil eggs for breakfast but it takes too much time to prepare (time is precious esp during the morning rush hours). Just wondering if it causes any 'harm' if I pre-boil the eggs the night before and keep them in the fridge (without shelling them) and heat them up again the next morning (probably just need to take 5mins). Is this considered 'overnight food'? :roll:
Actually cooking hard boiled egg is not time consuming, esp if small eggs are used.
I wake up at least 20 mins earlier than the children. I usu. take the eggs out from the fridge and leave them overnight to return to room temperature. In the morning, I wld boil a small pot of water for cooking eggs. Once the water starts to boil, I set the timer to 10 mins. Once 10 mins is up, the eggs are ready. By the time I finish shelling the eggs, the children's alarm clocks wld ring. Breakfast is ready
how big is the egg and how much hot water ? what type of container ? pre-rinse with hot water to prevent heat loss or not ?[/quote]The size of the egg is approx. less than 5cm tall and 4cm wide. I buy from a wet mkt stall. The metal pot is approx 12cm tall and 12 cm in diameter. Water level is slightly more than 3/4 of the pot.
I dun know the overnight issue, but I wld think the taste wld be different. Nothing beats the taste of warm egg.Jennifer:
[quote=\"mummaid\"]Thanks for the info daddybear.
I dun understand what is \"pre-rinse with hot water to prevent heat loss or not ?\" U r referring to the metal pot?
I put tap water in the metal pot, place the eggs inside and start the boiling. My 10 mins guide produces hard boiled egg with a soft egg yolk. If one prefers a harder egg yolk, then need to boil slightly longer. -
I agree warm egg taste better, that's why i thought may be i should heat it up again the next morning. Hmm...maybe should try it out to see if re-heated' eggs taste different. Usually i take about 20min to boil the eggs (taken out straight from the fridge) so that i'm 100% sure that I'll get hard-boil egg and not half-boil egg. Anyway, may try to leave the eggs overnight at room temp like what Jennifer has sugg, hopefully it'll cut down on the boiling. Must do some 'experiment'. :lol: My mum ever told me that if I can pick up the eggs using a pair of wooden chopsticks, it should be quite safe that the eggs are ready. Have tried that but am not skillful enough so sometime i drop and crack the eggs in the boiling water instead
Oh yes, i usually add a bit of salt in the water so that it's easier to shell the eggs later. So much about EGGs hmmm... -
mummaid:
I agree warm egg taste better, that's why i thought may be i should heat it up again the next morning. Hmm...maybe should try it out to see if re-heated' eggs taste different. Usually i take about 20min to boil the eggs (taken out straight from the fridge) so that i'm 100% sure that I'll get hard-boil egg and not half-boil egg. Anyway, may try to leave the eggs overnight at room temp like what Jennifer has sugg, hopefully it'll cut down on the boiling. Must do some 'experiment'. :lol: My mum ever told me that if I can pick up the eggs using a pair of wooden chopsticks, it should be quite safe that the eggs are ready. Have tried that but am not skillful enough so sometime i drop and crack the eggs in the boiling water instead
Oh yes, i usually add a bit of salt in the water so that it's easier to shell the eggs later. So much about EGGs hmmm...
Eggs at room temperature will take shorter time to cook through. I hv experienced it.
There is a new Chinese entertainment show on TV titled \"26 hours\". Believe it is Japanese. The episode I watched has someone demo shelling 5 eggs within seconds. The trick is to use the bamboo mat for rolling Japanese rice rolls. Place the middle of hard boiled eggs along the strings tying the bamboo mat, roll up the mat like rolling the rice rolls, the egg shells will hv cracks along its middle. Definitely easier to shell the eggs than our traditional Chinese method- knocking all sides and peeling the cracked pieces.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.