All about Cakes & Cookies Baking

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.3k Posts 87 Posters 396.6k Views 1 Watching
      micollh

tisha:
      micollh:

how i wish i could bake again.. but my oven gave up liao.. so i haven been baking for awhile.. and thinking abt it, when i bake i use butte and sugar .. in long run.. usually i eat what i bake.. i gain weigh.. do you eat what u bake or ur family members eat the most of it ?

If my experiment turns out good all will eat. Else everything will end up in my tummy πŸ˜›

tt' always the case right ?

Augmum

tisha:

Thanks Augmum. I'll try partially substituting butter with olive oil. Since it is a savoury biscuit it might work I believe. For sweet cookies I don't think olive oil will go well.
        u're welcome πŸ˜„
        yes, u can try to substitute partially to see how it taste like.
        tisha:
        What about other oils, like sunflower oil?
        never try b4 leh.....
        how this sunflower oil smell like ??

Augmum

tisha:
          micollh:

how i wish i could bake again.. but my oven gave up liao.. so i haven been baking for awhile.. and thinking abt it, when i bake i use butte and sugar .. in long run.. usually i eat what i bake.. i gain weigh.. do you eat what u bake or ur family members eat the most of it ?

If my experiment turns out good all will eat. Else everything will end up in my tummy πŸ˜›

haha....yr poor tummy πŸ˜‰
          as for me, if it dun turn out well, i still have a very faithful supporter .........
          and that's is my gal :lol:
          she's not picky eater....she'll still gobbles up everything πŸ˜‰

Augmum

micollh:
            tisha:

[quote=\"micollh\"]how i wish i could bake again.. but my oven gave up liao.. so i haven been baking for awhile.. and thinking abt it, when i bake i use butte and sugar .. in long run.. usually i eat what i bake.. i gain weigh.. do you eat what u bake or ur family members eat the most of it ?

tt' always the case right ?[/quote] πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ that's depend whether u have a faithful supporter or not to ease yr burden .....arhh, i mean yr stomach's burden :lol:

twinklejoy

calling all cake baking experts, :?:

how to prevent cake turning dry and cakey the next day? And how to make the cake fluffy and soft? :?
              any secret recipes? πŸ˜‰

Augmum

twinklejoy:
                calling all cake baking experts, :?:

how to prevent cake turning dry and cakey the next day? And how to make the cake fluffy and soft? :?
                any secret recipes? πŸ˜‰
                firstly, me no expert, i am still learning too πŸ˜‰

prevent cake turning dry, i have no such problem.
                maybe can stored in a enclosed container as to prevent mositure lost.

cake fluffy and soft??....u mean like chiffon cake...
                for chiffon cake, i have yet to achieve that :oops:

for normal fluffy cake.....
                remember to sieve the flour, it makes it light and helps to add air into it.

the speed of the mixer also an impt factor, as it incorporates air into it.
                if use folding method, then light hand folding with a big spoon/spatula in a circular movement.

also i heard that eggs and btter are best at room temp,
                do not melt the butter in microwave as it'll stiffen the cake. (but sometimes to quicken the process, i also use low heat in microwave :lol: )

Yes...would like to hear from those more experienced cake bakers πŸ˜„

twinklejoy

firstly, me no expert, i am still learning too πŸ˜‰ ...

Thanks so much Augmum! :love:
                  I'm using breadmaker to bake cake πŸ˜‰
                  bread came out ok but definately not cake. tried a few times liao.. disappointing results.
                  The cake become so fragile, easily broken into pieces the next day..what would be the possible caused? *guessing : not enough eggs?* :?

okie dokie, I will sieve the flour next time and try again πŸ™
                  Thanks Thanks! πŸ˜„

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

I guess if you have a decent cake and you don’t want it to turn dry and crumbly the easiest way is to wrap it in cling wrap and put it in the fridge.

Augmum

twinklejoy:

Thanks so much Augmum! :love:
                      I'm using breadmaker to bake cake πŸ˜‰
                      bread came out ok but definately not cake. tried a few times liao.. disappointing results.
                      The cake become so fragile, easily broken into pieces the next day..what would be the possible caused? *guessing : not enough eggs?* :?

okie dokie, I will sieve the flour next time and try again πŸ™
                      Thanks Thanks! πŸ˜„
                      Er......u are using the breadmaker to bake cake ??
                      if that 's the case, i won't be able to answer yr question, u 'll have to ask those experts over there.
                      as the breadmaker is designed for breadmaking, how would one able to control the speed of the mixer and other steps in cake making.....
                      for certain cakes which are not so \"fussy type\" maybe still ok.....
                      but if u wanna a more fluffy one.....maybe still the conventional oven method is the best.

twinklejoy

Er......u are using the breadmaker to bake cake ??

if that 's the case, i won't be able to answer yr question, u 'll have to ask those experts over there.
                        as the breadmaker is designed for breadmaking, how would one able to control the speed of the mixer and other steps in cake making.....
                        for certain cakes which are not so \"fussy type\" maybe still ok.....
                        but if u wanna a more fluffy one.....maybe still the conventional oven method is the best.
                        agreed!
                        That's why bread ok from breadmaker..but not cake.
                        It has the function to bake cake too but alas...
                        Thanks again! πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 23 / 133