2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      livewith_vanilla

Hi parents !

Dun be :shock: :x :?: when it seems that your DD/DS teachers have finished their 6A books and practices ! It's normal. My teacher also rushed through. She didn't even teach. She taught the p6 new topics but other than that we were on our own. Her homework was very vague and like this:

Complete as much as you can for 6A maths workbook and homework book
      Complete your editing and synthesis and transformation book
      Complete as many practice papers as you can.

yeah, so basically, we ditched our social studies and music for academics. I only remember having music lessons for the first term ? Social studies for first half of the year.

After that it was English,Maths,Science,MT and PE. Just that. No Health Ed either.

After the June hols it was just basically finishing the correction for the books and starting on outside school papers

By prelims, we were doing purely notes,revision and practice papers.

After PSLE, freedom. šŸ™‚

Your kids will get used to it. It took me about a month to adjust. Now, I miss the rushing times. šŸ˜„

Augmum

Brenda10:

[quote=\"Brenda10\"]
        I feel that 'Speed' has quit a number of methodologies to learn. I also hope that the teacher can spend more time on it.

To most P6 pupils, SPEED is the toughest topic.

Yes. I also think that Speed is tougher than Circle. Have to be clear about the relation between the speed, time and distance.[/quote]ya.....for circle, is actually quite easy...(the most loved topic for my gal šŸ˜‰ )
        becos ę„ę„åŽ»åŽ» abt the same....shifting the pattern here and there,
        just dun confuse the formula for area and circumference.

Augmum

livewith_vanilla:
          Hi parents !

Dun be :shock: :x :?: when it seems that your DD/DS teachers have finished their 6A books and practices ! It's normal. My teacher also rushed through. She didn't even teach. She taught the p6 new topics but other than that we were on our own. Her homework was very vague and like this:
          oh yes....at the beginning, her teacher also din bother to teach for maths... šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜›
          juz need to say \" today's HW is to do from page xx to page xx\" :lol:

Brenda10

oh....can't remember for CL, how fast they went thru....
            anyway, the pace in P6 was really fast and furious... šŸ˜‰ :lol:
            the maths HW for my gal at that yr, could be 20 over pages of the activity bk in 1 day. :roll:
            Hi augmum

Quite true. We have started to feel it after CNY and guess by June will be even worst.

Brenda10

livewith_vanilla:
              Hi parents !

yeah, so basically, we ditched our social studies and music for academics. I only remember having music lessons for the first term ? Social studies for first half of the year.

After that it was English,Maths,Science,MT and PE. Just that. No Health Ed either.

After the June hols it was just basically finishing the correction for the books and starting on outside school papers

Your kids will get used to it. It took me about a month to adjust. Now, I miss the rushing times. šŸ˜„
              Hi Vanilla

Thank you for sharing your experience last year.

Quite true, the teacher had given the green light since last year for subject like maths that you can do as many as possible and don't need to follow her schedule.

I also think that their music and Art & craft lesson will also be taken to do other activities any soon.

Brenda10

Yes. I also think that Speed is tougher than Circle. Have to be clear about the relation between the speed, time and distance.

ya.....for circle, is actually quite easy...(the most loved topic for my gal šŸ˜‰ )
                becos ę„ę„åŽ»åŽ» abt the same....shifting the pattern here and there,
                just dun confuse the formula for area and circumference.[/quote]

Hi augmum

Thank you for sharing. In fact dd likes circle too as like what you had described that shifting the pattern here and there.

livewith_vanilla

Brenda10:
                  livewith_vanilla:

Hi parents !

Hi Vanilla

Thank you for sharing your experience last year.

Quite true, the teacher had given the green light since last year for subject like maths that you can do as many as possible and don't need to follow her schedule.

I also think that their music and Art & craft lesson will also be taken to do other activities any soon.

Art was taught by another teacher but cancelled frequently when exams neared and disappeared totally when prelims,PSLE neared.

Music disappeared after June holidays. 😮

SS disappeared fairly quickly since Its taught by form teacher

HE, I think we quickly finished it in the first and second month to get rid of it.

For us, all subjects were given green light. šŸ˜„

livewith_vanilla

livewith_vanilla:

Hi parents !

oh yes....at the beginning, her teacher also din bother to teach for maths... šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜›
                    juz need to say \" today's HW is to do from page xx to page xx\" :lol:

Mine was this:

\"Recess try to do your maths. Don't waste time. Then when you go home, do as much as you can\"

The p6 prefects, like me, especially from my class (first class) didn't do duty after three months. It was study study study. My teacher loved to give us compos to do during recess.

She didn't even bother to give us pages. She just said this: Finish Chapter XX . And if anyone finished a particular book, she gets the whole class to finish it. Those were the times my class wanted to literally kill the person who finished the book so quickly.

Brenda10

livewith_vanilla:
                      Art was taught by another teacher but cancelled frequently when exams neared and disappeared totally when prelims,PSLE neared.

Music disappeared after June holidays. 😮

SS disappeared fairly quickly since Its taught by form teacher

HE, I think we quickly finished it in the first and second month to get rid of it.

For us, all subjects were given green light. šŸ˜„
                      Sounds like 逃难 or ꉓꈘ. Just hope that all P6 children can tahan this period lah.

Brenda10

livewith_vanilla:
                        Mine was this:

\"Recess try to do your maths. Don't waste time. Then when you go home, do as much as you can\"

The p6 prefects, like me, especially from my class (first class) didn't do duty after three months. It was study study study. My teacher loved to give us compos to do during recess.

She didn't even bother to give us pages. She just said this: Finish Chapter XX . And if anyone finished a particular book, she gets the whole class to finish it. Those were the times my class wanted to literally kill the person who finished the book so quickly.
                        Actually I prefer to have compo be it CL or EL do during their lesson or supplementary class. BEST is not to bring home as this two are very time consuming when do at home.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 602

msmui.tuitionM
                        msmui.tuition