Comparing Pre-school English Reading and Phonics Enrichment
xuanxuanwu,
please discuss Jurong Preschool http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=72&start=0.
Preschools does not only mean childcare. Centres which conduct daily weekday lessons for preschoolers are consider as 'preschools'. Those once a week are normally known as 'enrichment centres'. -
xuanxuanwu:
Dear xuanxuanwu, please check this thread for recommendations for English enrichment classes which are what you appear to be looking for. If you want something near you, tamarind's suggestion of PCF is an excellent one, given the high standard of the PCF that she is referring to.[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]
Dear parents, I am living in jurong west st.65. looking for English class for my daughter , she is 3 years old in this coming july. maybe just one hour course per day /. want her to learn the basic English like daily language, colors, numbers...etc. any recommdations? thanks -
hi, tamarind, thanks a lot hor. I will check ...thanks.
tamarind:
Hi xuanxuanwu,xuanxuanwu:
Dear parents, I am living in jurong west st.65. looking for English class for my daughter , she is 3 years old in this coming july. maybe just one hour course per day /. want her to learn the basic English like daily language, colors, numbers...etc. any recommdations? thanks
We live on the same street
You can try the PCF at BLK 662B, they have nursery class for 3 years old. I think it is 2 hours daily, completely in English.
Also check with Morris Allen at Jurong Point level 3. Their teachers are all native speakers from UK, USA, New Zealand, Australia, etc. (I fancy native speakers lah) But I cannot remember whether they have classes for 3 year old. -
Hi all KS parents,
need yr advise… my K1 boy had attended GUG Reading and Writing when he was 4 but we have to drag him there, so after 2 terms we stop. I tried to teach phonics(those CAT, BAT, LAP, only) to him but his attention spasm is real short. I panicked while he cannot really read … instead of phonics, I switch to High Frequency words using one of the assesment fm Popular. We tried to learn 4 words per week… or only 4words every 2 weeks as he still has his CMA homework to complete…or when he falls sick (which is quite often) then mummy will relax abit…
In his CCC he is learning but the result is not quite satisfactory and also those cl, sh etc, I really have no idea!!!
is it too late to send him to phonics class now or shld I try to continue to teach him the basics??
if sending him to phonics class, which ones are good? And he usually gets bored quite easily. But his CCC has a separate phonics enrichment which am not sure of the review.
Thanks in advance! -
Most of the pre-schools have phonics as part of their syllables but it may not help the child much if the parents don’t practice with them. The child would most likely to forget after a full course in school. So, the point is, if the parent could attend the phonics teaching themselves, they would be a great help to their own child by reinforcing the teaching on a day to day basis.
Mummyboy:
Most of the pre-schools have phonics as part of their syllables but it may not help the child much if the parents don't practice with them. The child would most likely to forget after a full course in school. So, the point is, if the parent could attend the phonics teaching themselves, they would be a great help to their own child by reinforcing the teaching on a day to day basis.
Are there any phonic class whereby parent can attend with kids? -
lweishih:
Hi,Hi parents,
ICL clementi branch is going to start a new class for K1 crash course this July. Need 6 to make the class. Any body here would like your kid to join before the class is fully taken up?
Thanks
ws
I'm interested to send my daughter.
How to contact them?
Thx -
HI all,
Just wanted to update all that the new class starting next week at AMK for K1 Crash course is full. Thanks!
rgds… -
catddy2002:
Hi,lweishih:
Hi parents,
ICL clementi branch is going to start a new class for K1 crash course this July. Need 6 to make the class. Any body here would like your kid to join before the class is fully taken up?
Thanks
ws
I'm interested to send my daughter.
How to contact them?
Thx
I managed to sign up my daughter liao! -
sumo22:
May I know what's the timing/day of the class? Do you know what's the fees? Thanks.
The clementi class will be on Sat at 3 pm. Was there for the briefing. They are targeting to start it sometime this month. Not usre abt the fees though. sorry.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.