I think you guys have a reputation to uphold. 1,000 pages by end of Term 1 of school. 10 pages a day is chicken feed to participants of Pei Hwa thread[/quote]So are you going to give the active parents here KS points
For 1,000 pages?? :rotflmao:Happy Mama:
[quote=\"Brenda10\"]
HaHa. Who say you can \"Shou-Kong\", you need to \"jia ban\" today and tomorrow.
For Pei Hwa thread, itβs a 24/7 call centre. Regardless of the time I post message for help, it will definitely be βansweredβ.
But honestly, can we post queries on subjects, CA/SA on another thread ? Otherwise we wonβt be able to keep to strictly Pei Hwa parents coffee talk. -
Good news for you markfch. Genes run in the family, it would not deviate to much.
Now you got me reeealli curious. How high is high leh? Can share? :evil:Happy Mama:
though it puzzles me how she got that IQ score (which was considered reasonably high) when she was 6 years old... but her results don't seem to tally with her IQ score leh...Either the IQ test wasn't accurate back then, or, she's an extremely late \"bloomer\"... but how late will that be? After PSLE or after O-levels?
Talking about IQ test, I remembered my sis telling me that my niece's kindy teachers were all suggesting to her to arrange an IQ test for niece. Since it costs time and money, sis didn't bother. Later on Shicida ctr conducted their internal IQ test for niece and her score was off-the-chart kind (> 200).
I know that Shicida's IQ test may not be universally accepted but even if she takes the Mensa one, I pretty sure my niece's score will hit the roof. She's really that good!
I have totally disregarded the scoring because I thought it wasn't quite accurate judging from DD's results... but definitely not >200... :lol: :lol: :lol: Your niece is really fantastic to have hit >200.Now you got me reeealli curious. How high is high leh? Can share? :evil:
Talking about IQ test, I remembered my sis telling me that my niece's kindy teachers were all suggesting to her to arrange an IQ test for niece. Since it costs time and money, sis didn't bother. Later on Shicida ctr conducted their internal IQ test for niece and her score was off-the-chart kind (> 200). I know that Shicida's IQ test may not be universally accepted but even if she takes the Mensa one, I pretty sure my niece's score will hit the roof. She's really that good!
Trapwithin:
Good news for you markfch. Genes run in the family, it would not deviate to much.
Now you got me reeealli curious. How high is high leh? Can share? :evil:markfch:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
though it puzzles me how she got that IQ score (which was considered reasonably high) when she was 6 years old... but her results don't seem to tally with her IQ score leh...Either the IQ test wasn't accurate back then, or, she's an extremely late \"bloomer\"... but how late will that be? After PSLE or after O-levels?
Talking about IQ test, I remembered my sis telling me that my niece's kindy teachers were all suggesting to her to arrange an IQ test for niece. Since it costs time and money, sis didn't bother. Later on Shicida ctr conducted their internal IQ test for niece and her score was off-the-chart kind (> 200).
I know that Shicida's IQ test may not be universally accepted but even if she takes the Mensa one, I pretty sure my niece's score will hit the roof. She's really that good!
[/quote]Agree! Just wondering if mark's niece is from his family side or wifey's side? Mark's son is sure to have some of those IQ200 genes.
Oh by the way, DH says Einstein's IQ level was between 170-180... Heeheehee!!! -
Just want to check with parents on how u build ur kids's math foundation in p1/p2.... My ds is in p1 he seems to be still weak in the LESS THAN / MORE THAN concept, also weak in number pattern..he seems less focused in math than EL/CL and he gets tired easily whenever we go thru maths..is this normal :?
I would like to help ds build a stronger foundation in p1/p2 cos I know it is not going to be easy in upper pri...
XYZ1 -
XYZ1:
You can try using manipulatives, no need to buy, just use daily items to help build up concepts of more or less than. Know what value each number represents by playing games using number flash cards.Just want to check with parents on how u build ur kids's math foundation in p1/p2.... My ds is in p1 he seems to be still weak in the LESS THAN / MORE THAN concept, also weak in number pattern..he seems less focused in math than EL/CL and he gets tired easily whenever we go thru maths..is this normal :?
I would like to help ds build a stronger foundation in p1/p2 cos I know it is not going to be easy in upper pri...
XYZ1
If he gets tired easily, take short breaks, then move on. Prep the child before each revision on what you wish to achieve with him.
CKS dropped by recently and mentioned that he'll archive our thread once we hit 1000 pages. Then we can start anew. Would that be ok?For Pei Hwa thread, it's a 24/7 call centre. Regardless of the time I post message for help, it will definitely be 'answered'.
But honestly, can we post queries on subjects, CA/SA on another thread ? Otherwise we won't be able to keep to strictly Pei Hwa parents coffee talk.
Strictly speaking, all the coffee talk shouldn't be here. Only official CA/SA qns should be here, hehe.
But people like me enjoy the company of PH parents here so much that I can't seem to keep on track
Trapwithin:
You'll never know how happy you made me when I read that. I certainly hope so ....... just a bit of similar quality genes for ds pleeease and I'll be eternally grateful.
Ok lah, I know I must count my blessings. At least ds appears to be pretty comfortable in maths so far.Happy Mama:
Niece is not just fantastic, she's jin scary :!: . For instance, at age 2 she could write out the months of the year in perfect spelling and chronological order. At age 3, she started reading novels independently. At age 4, she started writing essays consisting of a few pages in almost perfect english. :faint:I have totally disregarded the scoring because I thought it wasn't quite accurate judging from DD's results... but definitely not >200... Your niece is really fantastic to have hit >200.
Btw, I'm not trying to sell Shicida cos niece exhibited ingenuity way before she joined their class. -
Whoa! Your niece is scary. How old is she?
You'll never know how happy you made me when I read that. I certainly hope so ....... just a bit of similar quality genes for ds pleeease and I'll be eternally grateful.Trapwithin:
Ok lah, I know I must count my blessings. At least ds appears to be pretty comfortable in maths so far.Happy Mama:
Niece is not just fantastic, she's jin scary :!: . For instance, at age 2 she could write out the months of the year in perfect spelling and chronological order. At age 3, she started reading novels independently. At age 4, she started writing essays consisting of a few pages in almost perfect english. :faint:I have totally disregarded the scoring because I thought it wasn't quite accurate judging from DD's results... but definitely not >200... Your niece is really fantastic to have hit >200.
Btw, I'm not trying to sell Shicida cos niece exhibited ingenuity way before she joined their class.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.