Teaching Chinese at Home
tamarind:
Just realized this...r a sahm? Wow...thatz a lot of books to read a day...
Hi jerejoy,jerejoy:
Hi deardear07,
Yes, he reads with understanding. He is strong in his English. Maybe becos I have been reading 15-20 books to him everyday since birth. He started to read on his own when he was 25th month old. I followed v closely to Tamarind teaching methods. I think her methods r really awesome. A v big thank you to her. U can try to follow her phonics part. A good start for early reader.
I am happy to know that you find my methods helpful
Your son is amazing ! -
cimman:
Dun give up now. Start from the basics.my son is in P4 this year. We don't speaking Mandarin at home. He has failed twice in his Chinese test this year and his Chinese teacher says that he will most likely fail his exams. He can't read words that P2 students can. I really don't know what to do. He is so reluctant to learn Mandarin. He goes for Chinese Tuition, but doesn't seem to be helping him.
All the parents here seem to have started the groundwork early. Unfortnately for me, that is all in the past now. -
deardear07:
Just realized this...r a sahm? Wow...thatz a lot of books to read a day...[/quote]Hi deardear07,
Hi jerejoy,tamarind:
[quote=\"jerejoy\"]
Hi deardear07,
Yes, he reads with understanding. He is strong in his English. Maybe becos I have been reading 15-20 books to him everyday since birth. He started to read on his own when he was 25th month old. I followed v closely to Tamarind teaching methods. I think her methods r really awesome. A v big thank you to her. U can try to follow her phonics part. A good start for early reader.
Your son is amazing !
Yes, I am. I read 5-7 books to him in the morning, afternoon and night before he sleeps. But as he is in N1 this yr, I can only read abt 5-10 books to him daily cos he is in the afternoon session. -
jerejoy:
Hi deardear07,
Just realized this...r a sahm? Wow...thatz a lot of books to read a day...deardear07:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]
Hi jerejoy,
Your son is amazing !
Yes, I am. I read 5-7 books to him in the morning, afternoon and night before he sleeps. But as he is in N1 this yr, I can only read abt 5-10 books to him daily cos he is in the afternoon session.[/quote]my my...u r really fantastic! my son ever forced me to read 5-6books to him at a go...i was so tired n thirsty after i din wana talk at all...
for me now, when i get home after work, 1book is just about what i can handle.maybe on good days, 2 is the max.
:roll:
Wesim:
Actually Wink-to-learn already teaches strokes of the characters. Don't see a need to teach a 1yo to write strokes other than that.I have been flashing Chinese flashcards (wo hui du) since she was 12mths old. I bought Wink to learn Chinese DVDs and also read 3 Chinese books to her (i like those from Scroll - simple and not too wordy) every night. I am also teaching her to write strokes. My aunt bought san zi jin for her. Will try to get her to listen for a few minutes (she is now 25mths old).
i need help, can someone explain to me the difference between 胶版纸 and 铜版纸? I googled but i dont quite understand the difference :oops: is it 1 is matte (thinner) and 1 is glossy (thicker?)
I found this explanation:
(I bought the 鸡蛋哥哥(全四册) - there are only 4 books (hardcover) inside, paper quality is 铜版纸.
The first one has 7 titles. Paper quality is 胶版纸. I'm taking to mean softcover, bound with glue.)
paiseh, still dont know the difference. Am asking coz there is a set of books in dangdang having both diff type of paper, price diff is 30yuan
Thanks! -
铜版纸 is more expensive, right?
Honestly, i am proficient in chinese, but still fail to figure out the difference. :oops:porcupine12trade:
i need help, can someone explain to me the difference between 胶版纸 and 铜版纸? I googled but i dont quite understand the difference :oops: is it 1 is matte (thinner) and 1 is glossy (thicker?)
I found this explanation:
(I bought the 鸡蛋哥哥(全四册) - there are only 4 books (hardcover) inside, paper quality is 铜版纸.
The first one has 7 titles. Paper quality is 胶版纸. I'm taking to mean softcover, bound with glue.)
paiseh, still dont know the difference. Am asking coz there is a set of books in dangdang having both diff type of paper, price diff is 30yuan
Thanks! -
Hello everyone, hope you can help me with my question - for children in Singapore, should we be looking for books with simplified chinese or traditional chinese?
My son is 2 years old.
I guess this is quite a basic question, but honestly, I am quite clueless about Chinese (which actually makes me quite anxious to expose my son to it!). Thanks in advance! -
pinkiepirate:
Hi. you should look for simplified chinese (简体字) as our primary school text book are using 简体字.Hello everyone, hope you can help me with my question - for children in Singapore, should we be looking for books with simplified chinese or traditional chinese?
My son is 2 years old.
I guess this is quite a basic question, but honestly, I am quite clueless about Chinese (which actually makes me quite anxious to expose my son to it!). Thanks in advance! -
Thanks Brenda10! I understand that Chinese newspapers are in traditional Chinese (is that correct?) so does that mean that our children will not be able to read newspapers?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.