Raffles Girls' Primary

7.2k Posts 564 Posters 2.8m Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

greenbean, you should write an article or novel on RGPS. All this nostalgia is fun to read and meaningful for the younger RGPS girls.

• G Offline
        greenbean2011

provided i go round interviewing many ex-rgps parents, collate interesting stories from different era,

- 1950 to 1960
        - 1961 to 1970
        - 1971 to 1980
        - 1981 to 1990
        - 1991 to 2000
        - 2001 to 2010
        - 2011 to 2020

different era, different events happening.
        different principal, different style of leadership, different set of acheivements for the school.

kekekekekeke

moonee

Yes! Yes! KUDOS to ksme :celebrate: for posting the old pictures. Really appreciate it, I saved them all and am gonna get it printed. I almost forgot I was frm Red Cross until I saw the photo on National Day, Hee, hee, I was looking hard to see if I was in there. :lol: Hey, thaks for the effort.

Greenbean: Kudos to u too :celebrate: I was already so thrilled to see the pictures and my heart was beating faster as i read ur post. You really do have a great memory. Oh yes I heard about the jabs using a hose and stepping on their stomachs frm my mum too, i guess tat happened in the toilet back then..no wonder its so :!:
          I checked with my mum about red house, its located at the junction of victoria street, the shop houses....it was painted red and there were some furniture shops. My mum says there was a very good bakery, think its called Victoria bakery where they made bread and cakes, she used to sit there and enjoy good bread and coffee. Carlton hotel occupies the land today.

ksme

So happy that my fellow RGPS sisters enjoyed the photos as much as I did!

jtoh,
            Were you an ex-RGPS girl too? Are younger than us? πŸ˜‰

Greenbean,
            My father told me he had to queue for a place for me to go to RGPS and \"kena\" ballot too. I was lucky he got a place for me. Were you still in RGPS in 1976? If so, let me know which class and which session, I'll scan your class photo for you.

Moonee,
            Glad you like the photos. Since you mentioned Red Cross, I have scanned another 2 pages on Red Cross just for you! Are you in these photos? Btw, if you let me know which class you were in in 1976 and which session, I will scan your class photo for you too. For that matter, anybody else has request for any class photo, please post here and I will gladly scan for you.

http://postimage.org/image/2pej24kqs/

http://postimage.org/image/2peo0qm84/

I am so glad I chanced upon these posts even though I don't usually visit this thread since I don't have daughters to send to RGPS. :love:

bicky

[quote=\"greenbean2011\"]

h) dun know … what is this Red house ?[quote\"]

This is a western restaurant located opposite CHIJ where Carlton is now. This restaurant is red in colour that's why is called The Red House. Imagine those days, going to a western rest is a luxury. I have not been there but always very curious to know what kind of food they serve. I told myself, when I grow up, I want to go there. But never get the chance. Is no more 😞

However, I tried the Ipoh Hor Fun at the coffee shop next to Shanghai bookshop. Is the best hor fun I ate in my life. I still remember the taste.

Greenbeen, you really brought us back to ancient time !!!

winterman05

hi hi!

I have been called for PV interview for 2013 enrollment too.
                I am wondering if there are any specific areas that the school need? If I mention I can help out in Chinese language (story telling or language camp) would it help to 'enhance' my chance?

Hope someone can help along. PM me if possible.
                thanks in advance.

Luanee:
                Bowie:

Hi greenbean2011,

Actually, we have not been confirm a place in RGPS. :oops:
                We just been called for PV interview for 2013 enrollment.

So now trying to do more ground work to know the school and also to find out any tips to get selected in the interview. Not sure what kind of service they need for the school? :?

This is the first time we \"participate\"in this \"NATIONAL Primary School Registration Excerise\" so very blur here.

We stay quite far from RGPS so if don't do PV then sure no chance to get in. Also concern on logistic cos we are both working so if relocate very far then we will have a problem to bring her there.

Ya, we are secretly very proud of our gal Chinese. :oops: Somehow our hours of story telling and learning together paid off and she is quite a independent reader now for Chinese story books. Can see that she is very interested in Chinese Language thus thinking if possible we should start her in school that provide higher chinese so that her interest can grow from there. :love:

Hi Bowie I have replied ur pm. If u have any further questions u can ask in this thread as my pc takes a long time to load pms.

Btw I admire ur dd's flair for Chinese. I have a younger daughter in N2 now and her Chinese absolutely sucks! She can understand but speaking is horrible. I am quite worried..

• E Offline
                  edithcloset

[quote=\"ksme\"]So happy that my fellow RGPS sisters enjoyed the photos as much as I did!

jtoh,
                  Were you an ex-RGPS girl too? Are younger than us? πŸ˜‰

Greenbean,
                  My father told me he had to queue for a place for me to go to RGPS and \"kena\" ballot too. I was lucky he got a place for me. Were you still in RGPS in 1976? If so, let me know which class and which session, I'll scan your class photo for you.

Moonee,
                  Glad you like the photos. Since you mentioned Red Cross, I have scanned another 2 pages on Red Cross just for you! Are you in these photos? Btw, if you let me know which class you were in in 1976 and which session, I will scan your class photo for you too. For that matter, anybody else has request for any class photo, please post here and I will gladly scan for you.

Hi ksme
                  I just read this post and nearly cry...ur picture bring back memories of my old days, i would be glad if you could post the class photo of Pri 3 of yr 1976....kowtou to you, you r great !!

• G Offline
                    greenbean2011

dear moonee,

I see …. now I understand what is Red house.

my family was poor.
                    Dad was sole bread owner, mum a housewife, bringing up a large family plus grandparents staying with us. We could not afford the luxury of eating nice, lovely yummy hot cakes and confectionary at the Red house. I din even know the existence of Red house until you tell me now. Really sua ku.

from the way you write about the cakes, you make my saliva drip.

kekekeeke

=================================

dear ksme,

Thank you so much for your kindness, patience and generosity in taking precious great deal of time, to scan in so many photos for us.
                    I am very touched by your gesture, and with your speedy response.

when I saw all these precious photos, I felt emotional.
                    I kept reading her history a few times.

Yes! I feel like crying, just like edithcloset.
                    because it invoked so much past memories instantaneously … as a picture speaks a thousand words.

I am grateful to you, for these precious photos.
                    they are priceless - no where can I find them again.
                    I had already downloaded and stored them safely in my pc.
                    will send for printing later, to paste into a photo album.

will check my report card later - see which class I was from.
                    then pm you for more photos later.

================================

dear bicky,

your Ipoh Hor Fun makes me … want to go down and eat it now.
                    is the stall still around, or shifted somewhere else ?

kekekekke

jtoh

Hi ksme, I'm not from RGPS but my dd was, so I'm enjoying reading about the history of RGPS and more than that, remembering little nuggets of Singapore's past. The school should expose the girls to these little bits of history and how much a part of Singapore's history RGPS is. I don't think I'm much younger than you. But I don't recall ma-jies and trishaws. πŸ˜„ Maybe the part of Singapore I lived in wasn't that well-off. πŸ˜„

KSP

I think I still can see some ma-jies and trishaws in chinatown when I was very young. Those trishaws at that time were not as fanciful as those we see at Ablert St now.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 218 / 721