In-law problems?
But when it comes to sons, seems like these girls are new additions to the family - so can \"hiam\"?
There was this man who brought 3 girls home to meet his mum over dinner.
After they had left, the man asked his mum to guess which of the three is his girlfriend. The mum guessed correctly and the man was amused. When he asked her is it because of affinity, her replies was;
\"I know it's her because I don't like her at first sight.\"
Generally (not all), in MIL's eyes, DILs had 'taken' their position in the sons' heart as the No. 1 lady, that's where the conflict starts.
One mountain cannot house 2 tigress. -
... I not getting hantam by my DW but by other people's DWs......
:rotflmao: . And yet the girls still wonder why we DHs don't complain about our PILs. -
... I not getting hantam by my DW but by other people's DWs......
:rotflmao: Good one guys.. Luckily buds is not logged in.. :lol::rotflmao: . And yet the girls still wonder why we DHs don't complain about our PILs.
Or else it will be a cold & lonely night for me...
krazy:
[color=darkred]yaps.. in fact, it got me even more frustrated and upset with my in laws. sigh...
then they got relatives to pressure me.. no more friendly : \"so when are you going to have another?\" to the very straight, in your face : \"its time to have another one. you are not young anymore.\"
so easy for them to say...
Hi krazy, I totally know what you mean and feel! Nowadays, I just give them half a smile whenever I get that kind of question..
Whenever I get pushed further, I will say DH says kena TOTO first then have #3.. they bo-pian leow.. :lol:krazy:
my resources are limited.. its all me!!!! .... sigh...
Hang in there dear.. :hugs: I'm sure your gal is extra close to you since you are there tending to her every needs.. take heart that you will always be that special #1 person in her heart... I have a very near and dear person who is going thru this as you are... and she too takes much courage and strength to brave through it with her darling DS as her pillar of hope.. :love: and her family's mental support... :hugs: -
RRMummy:
yeah.. that will be a good reason to give. hahaha.
Hi krazy, I totally know what you mean and feel! Nowadays, I just give them half a smile whenever I get that kind of question..
Whenever I get pushed further, I will say DH says kena TOTO first then have #3.. they bo-pian leow.. :lol:
Hang in there dear.. :hugs: I'm sure your gal is extra close to you since you are there tending to her every needs.. take heart that you will always be that special #1 person in her heart... I have a very near and dear person who is going thru this as you are... and she too takes much courage and strength to brave through it with her darling DS as her pillar of hope.. :love: and her family's mental support... :hugs:
my girl is close to me but like all kids, she has her moments. and will ignore my words: eg yesterday she returned from the playground with bruises on her legs.
i was not upset that she fell but more so when i said to bath before application of medication. ils said... never mind and then went ahead to apply medication and then let her watch tv.
they made it sound like i was depriving my child BIG time of what? television?????
common sense to bath and clean up esp after running amok at playground and also wash and clean wound before applying meds right?
krazy:
kids being kids always know who to listen to when it suits them.. mine the same.. sometimes makes me :x or :stupid:yeah.. that will be a good reason to give. hahaha.
my girl is close to me but like all kids, she has her moments. and will ignore my words: eg yesterday she returned from the playground with bruises on her legs.
i was not upset that she fell but more so when i said to bath before application of medication. ils said... never mind and then went ahead to apply medication and then let her watch tv.
they made it sound like i was depriving my child BIG time of what? television?????
common sense to bath and clean up esp after running amok at playground and also wash and clean wound before applying meds right?
and old folks.. I always say that my kids gets away with everything with my dad... during our time, the same 'offence' would have gotten us a punishment for sure!
but when thing like that happen I will still go up close to my kid, stare her in the eyes and repeat what I said with a very stern voice.. so they better budge or else.. most times the IL/my parents will back down and ask DD to better listen up before mummy comes with the cane..
Funnily, DH has more issues with his own family then me having issues with his parents.
Yah, there are many things that my PILs do that I really cannot understand but well everyone have their own ways of handling things. I just accept that that is the way they are and work around it. And luckily for me, we do not live together. -
Come on guys, any of you got IL problems, or is it mainly a gal thing?.
I have massive philosophical and moral issues with my MIL. However, after \"dealing\" with it for a number of years, I realized that there is NO WAY in this universe she will change. Thus, I no longer treat it as a problem. It's like complaining about the rain.schellen:
.... this is why married men ultimately transform from fiery verbose scientists with Important Missions into tranquil, head-nodding monosyllabic monks.3Boys, maybe you forgot one difference between men and women? Women just want to pour all their miseries out and have a listening ear. We feel much better this way. We're not really seeking solutions here unless we actually ask for them and mean it. However, guys like to analyse and solve things so maybe our gripes here \"irk\" you cos you see solutions and wonder why we don't implement them.
All the DWs here don't comprain ah. You made us this way hor.jedamum:
One mountain cannot house 2 tigress.
Tell me about it (wo)man.....
Two mountains, one each lor. -
sashimi:
Amen to that.
It's like complaining about the rain. .sashimi:
hah hah! We are the borg, you will be assimilated.......... this is why married men ultimately transform from fiery verbose scientists with Important Missions into tranquil, head-nodding monosyllabic monks.
sashimi:
I have massive philosophical and moral issues with my MIL. However, after \"dealing\" with it for a number of years, I realized that there is NO WAY in this universe she will change. Thus, I no longer treat it as a problem. It's like complaining about the rain.
I agree. I hate being stuck in the middle too. And after a disastrous trip together (with my mom, sis, sashimi, a friend and an ex-colleague, and being stuck in the middle for all of them!!), I swore never to travel with DH and my family ever again. Maybe that's why my dad refuses to travel with my mom and sis.
sashimi:
I gave up complaining about you already what. I only do it for fun nowadays to mock you in front of our DD mah. I just need to make sure you don't do your head-nodding when I REALLY need a proper answer. :politebleah:.... this is why married men ultimately transform from fiery verbose scientists with Important Missions into tranquil, head-nodding monosyllabic monks.
All the DWs here don't comprain ah. You made us this way hor.sashimi:
One mountain cannot house 2 tigress.
Tell me about it (wo)man.....
Two mountains, one each lor.
This is why my MIL and I chose (intelligently, I might add) to live separately and at different ends of the island. I cannot imagine the rest of our families having to deal with us 2 tigresses under one roof. LOL
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.