Help me to choose Samsung galaxy S, galaxy tab or iphone?
Good to know there are so many choices. Have to wait till July to meet the 21 months requirement otherwise has to pay additional $300.00.
I’m also wondering which smartphone to get… still stuck with my nokia dumbphone.
$500 for a Iphone… with a normal dataplan… quite EX leh…
HTC Incredible S… any good?
The salesguy says 12GB plan is more than enough…
If I’m taking mobile broadband… I can use wifi right? Then I wouldn’t need high 3G data plan right?
Apps… I think most ppl play games only…
And I’m supposed to be entitled to change handset every year… and phones are not built to last nowadays… -
I've answered your questions below. Highlighted in red.
In general, no charges are applied when you use Wifi to surf the internet, whether at home or outside.
Charges only kicks in when you use 3G. You can download an app to help track your data usage for 3G.
In general, I prefer to use wifi at home because it is much, much faster than 3G and it's free
Free Wifi in public areas is prone to dropped connections and slow speed. I'll rather use 3G then.TREX8:
What I will need to figure out (and appreciate if anyone can share) is the charges for accessing internet/emails etc on the go. I've gotten a value dataplan which allows for 12GB of free data per month. Would like to know whether charges apply in the following scenarios:
1. When I access and surf/download information from the internet using the wireless connection at home?
No charges.
2. When I access and surf/download information from the internet using wireless@sg.
No charges.
3. Can I access the internet \"as and when\" (that is, outside of my house and wireless@sg spots)?
Sure, but that doesn't mean it's hassle free. Most of the time, there are dropped connections.
4. I am not a media heavy person (that is, almost never download songs, videos etc) and mainly access the internet to read emails and surf for news. Would 12GB/mth seems sufficient?
more than enough for your needs.
Paiseh if my questions do not make sense but seem too basic :oops: -
It's time to dump your dumbphone. Even kids nowadays already downloading apps big time.
I'm also wondering which smartphone to get... still stuck with my nokia dumbphone.
$500 for a Iphone... with a normal dataplan... quite EX leh...
HTC Incredible S... any good?
The salesguy says 12GB plan is more than enough...
If I'm taking mobile broadband... I can use wifi right? Then I wouldn't need high 3G data plan right?
Apps... I think most ppl play games only...
And I'm supposed to be entitled to change handset every year... and phones are not built to last nowadays...
Yes, there is a preimer price for iphone. I don't know why ppl are willing to pay for it perhaps to support their sky high stock price and make their employees feel motivated.
Here's the spec for HTC Incredible S http://asia.cnet.com/product/htc-incredible-s_specs-45429219.htm#
You can check other specs here as well. http://asia.cnet.com
I never use more than 1GB/mth. I only use it for email and web browsing. I heard if you use it for tethering 1 whole day it will use up at most 1GB.
I know some ppl didn't sign up data plan. They can use wifi at home/office/starbuck..... and free wireless@SG at shopping mall.
Apps... mostly games lah. Some apps are for news, stocks, dictionary and etc.... Both free and paid.
The phone subsidy for 12mths recontract is $100 lesser compared to 21mths (also depending on plans). -
cimman:
TREX8, one very important thing u must remember whenever u are overseas. Disable Data roaming. I have a friend surf internet in JB and end up the phone bill more than 1k :!: .I've answered your questions below. Highlighted in red.
In general, no charges are applied when you use Wifi to surf the internet, whether at home or outside.
Charges only kicks in when you use 3G. You can download an app to help track your data usage for 3G.
In general, I prefer to use wifi at home because it is much, much faster than 3G and it's free
Free Wifi in public areas is prone to dropped connections and slow speed. I'll rather use 3G then.TREX8:
What I will need to figure out (and appreciate if anyone can share) is the charges for accessing internet/emails etc on the go. I've gotten a value dataplan which allows for 12GB of free data per month. Would like to know whether charges apply in the following scenarios:
1. When I access and surf/download information from the internet using the wireless connection at home?
No charges.
2. When I access and surf/download information from the internet using wireless@sg.
No charges.
3. Can I access the internet \"as and when\" (that is, outside of my house and wireless@sg spots)?
Sure, but that doesn't mean it's hassle free. Most of the time, there are dropped connections.
4. I am not a media heavy person (that is, almost never download songs, videos etc) and mainly access the internet to read emails and surf for news. Would 12GB/mth seems sufficient?
KSP:
ya... even my dd knows how to play games on relatives' iphone liao...
I know some ppl didn't sign up data plan. They can use wifi at home/office/starbuck..... and free wireless@SG at shopping mall.
Apps... mostly games lah. Some apps are for news, stocks, dictionary and etc.... Both free and paid.
The phone subsidy for 12mths recontract is $100 lesser compared to 21mths (also depending on plans).
ya... some frens didn't sign up data plan 2. Then the smartphone not very smart liao right?
The salesguy say I need to buy the device (card or usb) for mobile broadband although the service is free... does it make the wifi connection better? If no, then waste $$ right?
Orh... he didn't say abt the $100 lesser... think he's trying to smoke me...
Not addicted to any apps yet... so cannot appreciate at the moment.
Then we're actually paying for what we don't need if we're not fully utilizing the 12GB plan... waste $$...
Disable data roaming... this is referring to surfing with 3G right? Auto Wifi connection overseas is still free right?
Galaxy Tab can make phonecalls also? A bit funny right? Putting it to your ear.... -

ya... even my dd knows how to play games on relatives' iphone liao...KSP:
The phone subsidy for 12mths recontract is $100 lesser compared to 21mths (also depending on plans).
ya... some frens didn't sign up data plan 2. Then the smartphone not very smart liao right?
The salesguy say I need to buy the device (card or usb) for mobile broadband although the service is free... does it make the wifi connection better? If no, then waste $$ right?
Orh... he didn't say abt the $100 lesser... think he's trying to smoke me...
Not addicted to any apps yet... so cannot appreciate at the moment.
Then we're actually paying for what we don't need if we're not fully utilizing the 12GB plan... waste $$...
Disable data roaming... this is referring to surfing with 3G right?(Overseas Data roaming cost a bomb!!!) Auto Wifi connection overseas is still free right? (Wifi is alway free)
Galaxy Tab can make phonecalls also? A bit funny right? Putting it to your ear.... (Need to use a bluetooth) -
Tks cimman for answering my questions and KSP on the tip to disable data roaming.
Based on no charge for wifi connection, then it is ok to set my phone's wifi settings to autoconnect?
Will try to look for the apps to track data usage. Now, only \"problem\" seems that battery drains out rather fast compared to my Nokia E63. But it could be because I have been using it more to try out this and that.
Daddy D, I got my phone at $240 on M1's Value plan ($36/mth), after $100 subsidy and $50 android phone promotion. Some friends told me that there is no need to pick up a dataplan but the phone will cost more. So I thought just top up about $10 per mth from my regular plan - otherwise, as your said \"then the smart phone not very smart liao?\"
I decided to \"upgrade\" to a smart phone primarily so as to keep in touch with technology --otherwise, my kids will be faster than me and I feel it is impt to keep in touch with them.
KSP:
TREX8, one very important thing u must remember whenever u are overseas. Disable Data roaming. I have a friend surf internet in JB and end up the phone bill more than 1k :!: .[/quote]cimman:
I've answered your questions below. Highlighted in red.
Free Wifi in public areas is prone to dropped connections and slow speed. I'll rather use 3G then.
[quote=\"TREX8\"]
No charges.
No charges.
TREX8:
Cool... I also have to upgrade cos' everyone is using smartphone liao.
Daddy D, I got my phone at $240 on M1's Value plan ($36/mth), after $100 subsidy and $50 android phone promotion. Some friends told me that there is no need to pick up a dataplan but the phone will cost more. So I thought just top up about $10 per mth from my regular plan - otherwise, as your said \"then the smart phone not very smart liao?\"
Looking at Starhub smartsurf... $38/mth... also have $100 trade-in.
Headache to choose from so many brands/models... and still have to spend more time to re-learn how to use a phone... :stupid: :celebrate: -
Ha ha, think positive - you keep your mind active when you are learning new things- very important, especially for a SAHM like me. Otherwise will also become obsolete liao...
Cool... I also have to upgrade cos' everyone is using smartphone liao.TREX8:
Looking at Starhub smartsurf... $38/mth... also have $100 trade-in.
Headache to choose from so many brands/models... and still have to spend more time to re-learn how to use a phone... :stupid: :celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.