Help me to choose Samsung galaxy S, galaxy tab or iphone?
TREX8:
Actually by asking u are also contributing. Reason is u motivate others to search for answers to share with everyone here. :celebrate:KSP:
Hi everyone here, i thought of creating a new thread Club Android for any android discussion. What say u? I just need 3 supporters and i will start the thread. Thanks.
I am ok to support but afraid that I won't be able to contribute much.
I will be able to ask lots of questions, but paiseh, won't be able to provide much of the answers ... -
bzmum22:
Me too! or Three??I support!

I support... provided I don't end up buying iphone...

Done!!!
I have created a new thread called http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=384956#384956url. Have Fun!!! :celebrate:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=384956#384956 -
Just want to know if android is compatible to flash player? I hate it that apple dun support flash and there are tons of web site using flash! :x
TREX8:
well, good for you for having the \"know it all\" role in the family. Nowadays technology is moving so fast that even the people in the high tech industry is having trouble catching up.
well, I used to be dealing with educational technology before \"retiring\" (as my DD nicely puts it, about 5 yrs ago). So been out of touch for a while. I am planning for my second career (when the kids are older) and definitely smart phones and the like are creeping their way into the classrooms. Like NYGH using ipads, and PJC using iphones. So really feel the need to \"catch up\" and also to prevent any generation gap from building. As it is, when DD (12 yrs old) talks about Taylor Swift and other pop singers, I am already like \"huh, who?\" So far, in the family of non-techies, I am the \"know-all\" - so must hang on to that position. Maybe not know-all but at least won't go \"huh? What?\" :roll:
Do agree that \"dumb phones\" can provide information at a glance. My previous phone can display my calender items for the day, missed call and sms on the same homepage. Now I have to tap on Calender to access my today's list.. Can't seem to customise my homepage like I used to. At best, can only decide on what apps I want to display on the first page - or am I missing something here?
Don't worry about generation gap. The fact that you're closely involved with your children's daily lives means that there will not be any gap. As far as I'm concerned, generation gap exists when there is little to no communication between the generations. Once the communication channels are opened and used frequently, any distances can be bridged. On the other hand, if a high tech savy parent has little communication with their children, a huge generation gap will exist.
Generation gap is not about understanding the latest technological gadgets, or the latest pop culture, but whether your children can confide in you their daily problems, squabbles and joys.
No, you're not missing on anything when it comes to your homepage. The smartphone is actually a misnomer. As you've discovered, and as anyone else who has moved from dumbphones to \"smartphones\" have discovered, when it comes to daily tasks like making phone calls, searching for a contact to call, finding out who called, and so on, the smartphone user interface is actually more troublesome and unintuitive. You would have thought they would have got it right by now with the hindsight gleaned from the dumbphones.
After awhile, you'll get used to it. I still don't like it, but I got used to it.
On Android phones, you can put widgets on the homepage. There are a few calendar apps out there that are widgets. What are widgets ? well, they are just live icons (as opposed to dead icons representing an application), that displays real time information that the applicaton gathers or generates. Widgets also allows you to interact with the application via the widget user interface. So, they're pretty nifty to have around. However, as with everything else, there is a downside. Since widgets are \"alive\" all the time, they take up memory and memory is a precious commodity in Smartphones.
Smartphones starts lagging when there is insufficient memory. -
TREX8:
4. I am not a media heavy person (that is, almost never download songs, videos etc) and mainly access the internet to read emails and surf for news. Would 12GB/mth seems sufficient?
more than enough for your needs.
Paiseh if my questions do not make sense but seem too basic :oops:
TREX8, one very important thing u must remember whenever u are overseas. Disable Data roaming. I have a friend surf internet in JB and end up the phone bill more than 1k :!: .[/quote]
Just to add on, for most people 12GB will be sufficient. You will notice when surfing web that some site had customised pages for mobile phone which required less data to be downloaded.
One possible usage whereby you may go beyond 12GB is using the tethering feature. This mean turning your mobile phone into a wifi-hotspot and allow other device to connect to it to use the 3G for internet access. -
smurf:
Just want to know if android is compatible to flash player? I hate it that apple dun support flash and there are tons of web site using flash! :x
I have an android smartphone (2.2, Froyo) but it doesn't support Flash either
sakura_2009:
I have replied http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=385201#385201urlsmurf:
I have an android smartphone (2.2, Froyo) but it doesn't support Flash either
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.