Littlefly:
for all my maids, i will tell them before they start on day 1 that no money should be kept in their wardrobe. she has to surrender any money she has for my safekeeping before starting the work. and her salary will be kept by me, unless she needs it, she will ask from me. So, any amount of money found in her belonging will be mine for sure. this is agreement between maid and myself.Read many postings that helpers steal from employers...
Just wonder how did most of you safeguard against maid theft?
currently we left our bags/wallets/ keys in the study room (some spare cash locked in study room cabinets) but our helper usually wakes up before we do. So far nothing is missing but i guess we probably shouldn't leave it to chance and we don't have any cameras installed.
If i remember, i would bring my cabinet keys into the master bedroom before i sleep but occasionally i forget too.
yes, i keep all my important documents, money in study and lock it at night after we go to bedroom and day when we go to work. but quite inconvenient, as at times, i forgot to bring my key, left it in the study and lock it. so got to wait till my hubby come back then can open the room. but it's a measure to stop maid from stealing and all lor.
so far for me, no incidence of stealing from maid. -
gumiho:
Yaloh! agreed with what you said....I just get a ex-singapore Myanmar as I had sent the old one back home, since she no heart to work in singapore, she thank me till wanted to knee down on the floor, can you imagine that, so actually she did all these thing in purpose so that I will buy air ticket n sent her back....
Sometime I'm wondering whether they really cannot see what is happening or they simply turn a blind eyes. All maids are the same.darling_sunshine:
So it's all a lie when they say experienced. Some more had to pay higher salary for their experience yet can't perform. To them, eye-power children is same as look after children. Asked her look after my toddler, she really just 'looked' lor. My toddler happily chewing gor gor's crayons, she still 'looking' until i quickly shouted at my kid. Then grab the mouth to dig out all the small chewed crayons. Questioned maid, still can smile at me and say never see. FAINT!! :stupid:
Now my this new ex-sing maid only worked for 6 days and this morning resign liao, as her biodata written she is single, completed contract, work in chinese family with 2 kids 10, 12 and now all not true....She married w 2 kids, nv complete contract just work 1 yr ganna sent back hm by employer, work w filipino wife married Ang Mo, looked after 1 yrs and 3 yrs baby, can't cook cos no need to cook last time....No hand wash cloth. Too good life there so can't stand my family which need to cook for 6 persons plus herself, need to hand wash due to my 2 boys too dirty after schooling...See lah, you think they came here to play of work!!
Any idea if the new rule applies to getting replacement maid?
micollh, thanks for sharing.
I did not think of it when maid arrives. Do you check your maid’s belongings from time to time ? So far, i only checked her belongings once when she first arrived.
Btw, do you buy toiletries for her or deduct from her later or you would have to accompany her for all her purchases ? Your maid don’t have any off days too ?
Did you keep a joint saving account with her ? -
clk:
Too good life there so can't stand my family which need to cook for 6 persons plus herself, need to hand wash due to my 2 boys too dirty after schooling...See lah, you think they came here to play of work!!
Sometime I'm wondering whether they really cannot see what is happening or they simply turn a blind eyes. All maids are the same.gumiho:
[quote=\"darling_sunshine\"]
So it's all a lie when they say experienced. Some more had to pay higher salary for their experience yet can't perform. To them, eye-power children is same as look after children. Asked her look after my toddler, she really just 'looked' lor. My toddler happily chewing gor gor's crayons, she still 'looking' until i quickly shouted at my kid. Then grab the mouth to dig out all the small chewed crayons. Questioned maid, still can smile at me and say never see. FAINT!! :stupid:
[/quote]Understand those maids who had worked for ANG MOH are not suitable to work for local.
To them working for local is hardship but working for ANG MOH is good life. -
clk:
Too good life there so can't stand my family which need to cook for 6 persons plus herself, need to hand wash due to my 2 boys too dirty after schooling...See lah, you think they came here to play of work!!
Sometime I'm wondering whether they really cannot see what is happening or they simply turn a blind eyes. All maids are the same.gumiho:
[quote=\"darling_sunshine\"]
[/quote]Understand those maids who had worked for ANG MOH are not suitable to work for local.
To them working for local is hardship but working for ANG MOH is good life. -
tamarind:
Good suggestion, thanks!Title: Maid hitting baby
I have added a new maid in my blog, and included a short video of her hitting a baby
Make sure you check out my blog :
http://singaporemaidcomments.blogspot.com/2008/08/evangeline-panganiban-enopia-filipino.html
This maid has not been blacklisted. You may end up employing her ! So please take note of her particulars if you are planning to employ a new maid. My blog also includes a list of other maids to avoid. -
Huh! I had just interview another maid who employer is Ang mo, wife is Africa, 2 boys heard very active n naughty, asked her leave becos she can’t stand maid’s English too poor, work there 3 mths Liao. Now see u said they work with Ang mo very gd life, like tat I Ma die again? Cos I had start application Liao… Hope tis round dun be so "Suew"!pray hard man!
Littlefly:
i check when i feel i suspect something.. occassionally i will open her wardrobe to see if things are neat (when she is not around, like at the kitchen) if i find things missing, like few weeks back one of the kitchen small knife was missing then i worried la,, so i check her stuff lor, in case she keep it mah..(maybe i thk too much, but better be safe than sorry lor). but din find anything la. (we suspect she throw it together with the rubbish, she sometimes blur also)micollh, thanks for sharing.
I did not think of it when maid arrives. Do you check your maid's belongings from time to time ? So far, i only checked her belongings once when she first arrived.
Btw, do you buy toiletries for her or deduct from her later or you would have to accompany her for all her purchases ? Your maid don't have any off days too ?
Did you keep a joint saving account with her ?
i will provide al her toiletries, including deoderant, not much money involved, so is ok, when u r nice to them, they are more willing to serve us better , my opinion. but i decide on brand and all, she jst take whatever i give. no off day, no public holidays. quite poor thing but no choice.
no, i did not open an account for my maids, as i feel, if they want to go back all the sudden, i wont have problem giving them their money immediately. all her money was kept with me in my study room cupboard. -
she gets more than 8 hrs of sleep which sometimes I too dont get

exactly, i look after my baby at night, get up few times until now he is 13 months-old then better. but my maid can sleep through.. also 8 hours. wonder who is more tired sometimes.. haaa..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.