Where to get SG Souvenirs for oversea kids

18 Posts 9 Posters 6.1k Views 1 Watching
      BeContented

Not sure if this is the place to post.

Some overseas kids will be visiting my DD's school next week. DD has been assigned to be a buddy and has to get a gift between $5 - $10. The gift needs to have some representation of SG ....

Any suggestion what and where can I get all these stuff? Already have some committments over this weekend, dun think can run down town to get them. Any idea if Jurong Point / IMM / West Coast Plaza etc selling such stuff? 🙏

LOLMum

i find it very troublesome to get these things for foreigners because most of the time, these things (or similar) could be found in their countries as well (some even cheaper).

dont know of any place in the west that sells them but if you could just squeeze in a bit of time from your packed schedule …

bugis village has lots of singapore thing - like t-shirts with prints "singapore is a fine country" etc., merlion spoons etc.

i find those bags, hats with the nonya print (sia pattern) very attractive and you could find them at bugis village (the one opposite bugis junction) at around your budget.

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

Agree that Bugis village is great.

My colleagues from China got all their souvenirs from there and the prices are reasonable too.

BeContented

Alamak, I stay end of West…run all the way to Bugis to get a souvenir…

Besides, weekends packed with tuitions + have full month party to attend, a bit tight leh.

Little M

If you don't want to go \"all the way from the west to central\" to buy a souvenir. Then why don't you make one. It is the thought that counts 😄

Way2GO

cwc, try Chinatown.

But please check where it is made to ensure it's not made from ur visitors country of origin. 😉

• VeveyV Offline
                  Vevey

Mayb take a look at Mini-toons etc gift shops or even Value $ Shop for some inspiration? Or get some food stuff like kaya or pork floss? U dd can decorate the jar to personalise it. 😉

hquek

Mustafa sure to have such souvenirs, but may be a bit challenging since you are in the west.

Not sure what type of souvenirs you need to get but for us, we typically get bengawan solo biscuits, ya kun kaya, bak kut teh spices/chicken rice mix when we visit our foreign friends.

BeContented

Thanks for all the suggestions.......

errrhhh...... for 10 year old kid????

Maybe should feedback to the teacher....must really have something that represent SG meh???

BeContented

Little M:
                        If you don't want to go \"all the way from the west to central\" to buy a souvenir. Then why don't you make one. It is the thought that counts 😄

Perhaps......now what can I do for a 10yo kid.....dun even know boy or girl yet.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 2

gingerbreadzzzG
                        gingerbreadzzz