All about 1 dish meal

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    281 Posts 61 Posters 100.9k Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

I learnt this recipe from a Taiwan TV cooking prog. Very simple one "Claypot tofu with prawn, squid n pork belly meat". I simplified into claypot egg tofu with pork belly meat since prawn & squid aren’t my children’s favourite items.

Ingredients
      1. 2 tubes of egg tofu, thickly sliced and pan fried on both sides.
      2. 300g pork belly meat, ask for suitable for braising type, sliced thinly and seasoned with light soya sauce, sesame oil or onion oil, a pinch of pepper
      3. 5 big leaves of cabbage, blanched briefly in boiling water with a pinch of salt n little oil to soften slightly
      4. some carrot slices and fresh mushroom slices
      5. 300ml of soup stock (can be made from stock cubes)

Method
      1. Blanch the cabbages leaves. Arrange these in the claypot.
      2. Pan fry the egg tofu. Remove from pan and put these on top of the cabbage leaves in the claypot.
      3. Pan fry the pork belly slices. Remove from pan and put these around the egg tofu in the claypot.
      4. Saute 2-3 pieces of ginger (thin slices) and a few garlic (peeled) in some oil in the same pan used to fry the pork belly meat.
      5. Add the carrots and mushrooms slices and fry a while.
      6. Add the soup stock, bring to a boil. Pour the mixture into the claypot.
      7. Simmer the claypot for 30 mins.

The original recipe with the prawn n squid follows a similar method. The prawn n squid are added into the boiling soup mixture for a while.

I used stock cube, so I do not add any soya sauce or salt.

noob

noob:

[quote=\"Augmum\"]
        My fav would be Chicken Claypot Rice with Salted Fish.

Can share recipe on chicken claypot rice?

no problem

i am lazy to wash the claypot, so i din use it although it tastes better cooking in claypot.
        i use the rice-cooker.

firstly, marinate chicken pieces with some soya sauce, pepper , sesame oil and cooking wine.
        other ingred :
        chinese sausage.....the red and black type (duck liver)
        mushrooms
        salted fish - fried till fragrant
        cooked chye sum

while the rice starts boiling, throw in the all ingred except chye sum

when the rice is cooked,
        boil some black soya sauce together with soem salt and sasame oil,
        pour it over the claypot rice.
        serve with some chye sum.[/quote]Do u need to fry the chicken before throwing into the rice cooker?

Augmum

noob:

Do u need to fry the chicken before throwing into the rice cooker?
          No, dun fry it.
          also try to time so that teh chicken is juz cooked, not overcooked.
          hope u have the chance to try it out. πŸ˜„

noob

noob:

No, dun fry it.

Thanks Augmum for your sharing, will get ingred n try it out tomorrow πŸ˜„

metz

Vevey:
              Try rinsing the kway teow b4 cooking to separate them.

Helps to remove excessive oil too.
              Thanks! I'll try it out this weekend. :celebrate:

• E Offline
                EatNonStop

EatNonStop:

I am a FTWM with 2 kiddies. My mil will cook dinner during weekdays and takes a break in weekends thus I will try to make simple meal during weekends if we are too lazy to go out. I am always on the go to search for goodies/food that require min preparation and cooking time. Starting this new topic so to hope to pick up wonderful 1 dish meal recipes.

I had already posted this Ipoh HorFun photo in \"how to cook nice meals\" topic but lets take it as a start ya. :lol:

EatNonStop wrote:
                Occasionally, I will prepare my hubby's favourite. Ipoh Hor Fun

Others would be Mui fan, Seafood Mui fan. (gravy over steamed rice)
                and
                Baked Rice, Fried Rice, Pineapple Fried Rice. πŸ˜„

Can share how to make Seafood MuiFan Gravy? Thanks

• E Offline
                  EatNonStop

How about prawn noodles, soto, mee siam, laksa.

Sometimes I will cook tomyam soup and add the thin type of horfun/kwayteow.

Cold soba, hot soba. Kimchi soup with korean rice cake.

Think there are many more but cannot recall now. πŸ˜‰
                  Hi Funz, I am very keen to try cook Prawn noodles & Mee Siam. Can share recipe? Thanks :lol:

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

EatNonStop:
                    Hi Funz, I am very keen to try cook Prawn noodles & Mee Siam. Can share recipe? Thanks :lol:

I don't have the detailed mee siam recipe for you as my mum usually prepare the rempah in bulk in advance and we will freeze it and use it as needed. So a bit difficult to give you the qty of all the ingredients that goes into the rempah. You can try the recipe from this blog.
                    http://www.mamaswok.com/2008/12/recipe-for-mee-siam.html

For us we will omit the milk for the gravy and add a a bit of pounded dried shrimp while frying the rempah for the beehoon.

For toppings aside from the usual egg and tauhu, we will buy the dried grago (very small prawns/shrimps) toast till crispy and sprinkle liberally on the mee siam when serving.

Prawn noodles. Ok. Again I cannot give you qty but I can give you method.

Ingredients

Prawns (usually glass or white prawns)
                    Raw Fish Cake
                    Chicken bone or pork bones or both
                    Garlic
                    Kang Kong
                    Bean Sprout
                    Noodles, beehoon

In a large pot, put the bones to boil for stock.
                    In another pot, boil the fish cake until cooked. Do not discard the water used for cooking, add that to the stock
                    Clean the prawns, do not deshell. Boil the prawns and add the water used for cooking the prawns into the stock.
                    Once the prawns have cooled, remove the shell. Do not discard the shells. Heat up a wok, fry the prawn shells until fragrant, no oil needed.
                    Add the fried shells into the stock. Throw in a few crushed garlic and bring to a boil, then let it simmer for another 20-30 mins.
                    Strain out the stock, add a bit of black soya sauce for colour and salt to taste.

To really extract the sweetness of the prawns, if I am in the mood for this step, I will blend the shells after frying them before adding into the stock. I know that a lot of people recommend adding a bit of rock sugar but I find that when you use enough prawns, there is no need to add rock sugar. And the sweetness from the prawns is different from the kind of sweetness you get from sugar.

The rest of the steps you know lah. Pre-cook all the vege, slice the fish cake. Blanch the noodles and beehoon. When serving, put everything into a bowl, pour the soup over, serve with a topping of fried shallots and pepper. If you like some meat, you can boil some pork belly and slice them up and add to the ingredients.

Augmum

noob:

[quote=\"noob\"]

No, dun fry it.

Thanks Augmum for your sharing, will get ingred n try it out tomorrow :D[/quote]U're welcome noob.
                      hope u have a successful 1 st try.

• E Offline
                        EatNonStop

EatNonStop:

I don't have the detailed mee siam recipe for you as my mum usually prepare the rempah in bulk in advance and we will freeze it and use it as needed. So a bit difficult to give you the qty of all the ingredients that goes into the rempah. You can try the recipe from this blog.
                        http://www.mamaswok.com/2008/12/recipe-for-mee-siam.html

For us we will omit the milk for the gravy and add a a bit of pounded dried shrimp while frying the rempah for the beehoon.

For toppings aside from the usual egg and tauhu, we will buy the dried grago (very small prawns/shrimps) toast till crispy and sprinkle liberally on the mee siam when serving.

Prawn noodles. Ok. Again I cannot give you qty but I can give you method.

Ingredients

Prawns (usually glass or white prawns)
                        Raw Fish Cake
                        Chicken bone or pork bones or both
                        Garlic
                        Kang Kong
                        Bean Sprout
                        Noodles, beehoon

In a large pot, put the bones to boil for stock.
                        In another pot, boil the fish cake until cooked. Do not discard the water used for cooking, add that to the stock
                        Clean the prawns, do not deshell. Boil the prawns and add the water used for cooking the prawns into the stock.
                        Once the prawns have cooled, remove the shell. Do not discard the shells. Heat up a wok, fry the prawn shells until fragrant, no oil needed.
                        Add the fried shells into the stock. Throw in a few crushed garlic and bring to a boil, then let it simmer for another 20-30 mins.
                        Strain out the stock, add a bit of black soya sauce for colour and salt to taste.

To really extract the sweetness of the prawns, if I am in the mood for this step, I will blend the shells after frying them before adding into the stock. I know that a lot of people recommend adding a bit of rock sugar but I find that when you use enough prawns, there is no need to add rock sugar. And the sweetness from the prawns is different from the kind of sweetness you get from sugar.

The rest of the steps you know lah. Pre-cook all the vege, slice the fish cake. Blanch the noodles and beehoon. When serving, put everything into a bowl, pour the soup over, serve with a topping of fried shallots and pepper. If you like some meat, you can boil some pork belly and slice them up and add to the ingredients.

I think Aga Aga should know how to go about it liao....thanks..Let me try this coming weekend....I love prawn noodle with real thick prawn stock..Yummy :drool:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 29