[Ang Mo Kio/Bishan/Thomson/Toa Payoh] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    525 Posts 183 Posters 418.8k Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      Elena

Hi MyMooMoo,

Please see your PM. Hope this helps.

Elena

pinkapple

elchwong:
        Hi littlehelper,

1) Reached at about 8am ...

All these are observed when I'm there....what happens if I'm not there???
        which school is this, please?

pinkapple

goldfish1395:
          ... until recently, we went for an open house in a montessori sch (not exactly near bishan but off CTE near those bungalow) and upon comparing, i realized that eh, i dun see it in UM and yet the price difference is a mere $50?

That sch has PERSONALIZED tracking of the child progress in montessori programme. I even saw the principal showed me how the teachers keep track whether KID A or B has mastered the alphabet or the montessori toolbox tat is categorized by color. And for Nursery size, it has a class size of less than 10? ..
          which school is that, please, Goldfish?

am looking for a childcare for my baby when she turns 18mths next year.

our elder son just joint united monte last year.
          we're not exactly pleased with the school.
          my hubby said he will NOT recommend the school to others.

our main issue with the school - lack of discipline and supervision.

Kids can run amok or out of the main area and teachers don't even know. a few times, we saw one or two children outside the main area at the reading area or even at the sofa near the door and nobody knows.

A few times my son wet his clothes because he and/or his friends were playing water in the toilet and the teachers didn't even know.

Once, I witness a two boys getting into a fight and by now u should have guessed - no teacher was around until one new young teacher happened to walk by and I motioned her to the boys. She appears clueless as to what to do. Good things the boys stopped.

if you must know what's good about them - they do teach phonics well and I'm happen that my son can read quite a bit now at K1.

Also love the reading area and reading culture there.
          wait time = reading time.

my son is now k1 so we're not sure if a change of school will be good.
          opinions, any1?

smurf

Hi goldfish,

May I know where is the sch that you mentioned? Can PM me if u r uncomfortable. 🙂

• G Offline
              goldfish1395

Hi Smurf and Pinkapple, ermm.. i cannot recall the name leh! I try to google it bt alas.. oso cannot find! I hope they will put mailer in my mailbox next time!! Sorry leh 😞

But Pinkapple, i share the same views on the lacking of supervision which results in mishap in sch tat i dun want to elaborate here. There are too many new teachers (which i have no idea how committed they are) and most of them look quite 'spaced-out'.

Based on the current situation, i am not confident to see through my kids over the K1/K2 stage actually. Have u seen their K2 works so far for a guage?

The only thing i like abt the sch is there is no TV! Kids are encouraged to play with toys or read books while waiting for parents to fetch them.

smurf

Ha? Cannot recall name ah? Then what about the address leh? Or maybe tell us specifically nearer to where which buidling?

• G Offline
                  goldfish1395

Hi Smurf

Okok.. because of ur keen-ness, i go map.gov.sg to find the exact location agar agar and i found this link!!!

http://singapore.locanto.sg/ID_113424637/OPEN-HOUSE-ON-12th-MARCH-2011-T-UNITED-WORLD-EDUCATION-GROUP.html

It is called T-United World Education? Strange.. no montessori is mentioned in the sch name! No wonder i google like mad and i cannot find it! But it is not accessible for those wif no car lo...

smurf

Hi goldfish,

Oh…I went before…the teachers are not Montessori trained, except the main teacher, which is only 2 or 3 I think. But the teachers are quite nice though.

K1mum

I have just shifted to bishan and I’m looking for a good quality childcare for my K1 boy and Playground for my niece. I don’t intend to to place the kids in any PCF centres.

My criteria:
                      1.small class size
                      2.low turnover rate of teachers
                      3.caring, loving teachers
                      4.open communication with parents
                      5.clean and bright enviroment
                      6.safety
                      7.no/little tv

Any gd recommendation?

lady_love

Oh my goodness i didnt realise it was so difficult not to mention stressful finding a good place to send our kids.

My daughter has just turned 18 months so my husband and I thought maybe we should send her to a pre-school expose her a bit; either halfday or just a couple of hours, we wnt to send her somewhere good where she will learnt things, not just play jump around and come back, that she can do at home.

we live in Bishan so thought of United montessori but read some of your reviews here and i duno if you al are being over kiasu or is it really that bad.

Called them for an apt they seem pretty packed for the next 2 weeks so they must be doing something right. So just wait and see then il go check it out.

Can anyone reccomend anything else near bishan area for an 18 month yea old

Thanks

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 38 / 53