St James Church Kindergarten
why parents din want kids to participate in computer lessons ? isn’t it good for kids to learn how to use PC ?
bezzlay:
oic..so what do they do in the \"learning center\"?
Yes, those who do not want to attend the computer session will be at the learning center. Term1 this year they allow those who did not pay to sit and participant but account wasn't given to parents but some parents complained that they do not want their kids to participate. So in Term2 it is back to the above arrangement.Celyw:
HI bezzlay,
is it true the computer session is included during the 3 hours session and we have to pay extra $90 for it. If we do not want to pay then our kid will just sit around the classroom while those paid will go to attend the computer session?
greenbean,
maybe some rather pay $$ for a professional computer training outside (or already enrolled), maybe dun like the kids staring at computer at so young age? Got lah got parent with their own reasons...:P
my concern is why they have to do it during the 3 hours session, why can't it just be an optional class after school?
Celyw:
oic..so what do they do in the \"learning center\"?
Yes, those who do not want to attend the computer session will be at the learning center. Term1 this year they allow those who did not pay to sit and participant but account wasn't given to parents but some parents complained that they do not want their kids to participate. So in Term2 it is back to the above arrangement.bezzlay:
[quote=\"Celyw\"]HI bezzlay,
is it true the computer session is included during the 3 hours session and we have to pay extra $90 for it. If we do not want to pay then our kid will just sit around the classroom while those paid will go to attend the computer session?
greenbean,
maybe some rather pay $$ for a professional computer training outside (or already enrolled), maybe dun like the kids staring at computer at so young age? Got lah got parent with their own reasons...:P
my concern is why they have to do it during the 3 hours session, why can't it just be an optional class after school? :([/quote]Its an area with some toys and story books. -
My son will be in K1 session 1 (8:15 - 11:15 am) at Leedon Campus in 2012.
I understand that from the current teachers that session 1 is a very popular session from Kindergarten level onwards. Due to childcare arrangement issues, I’d need to switch him to the later session 2 (11:30 am to 2:30pm) as much as we wish to keep him in session 1.
Do pm me if you’d like to swop K1 session 2 for session 1 in 2012. -
greenbean2011:
how well does St James kindergarten core curriculum prepare children for Pri 1 Chinese, going non-SAP school ?
Not very well at all...so that is why I am considering pulling out after this year so that my son can benefit from a better K programme elsewhere.
I say this as my friends who sent their kids to SJCK all complain that their pri sch gg children are all finding it difficult to catch up.
Feel so sayang to pull my boy out...but I think the school has become complacent over the years and they are definitely over-rated...
Oh btw...fees just raised again....sigh.... -
no need to sigh ... over high school fees increase.
there are high standard child ones around, eg: little campus in Bishan. Their structured curriculum is impressive! K1 students are taught creative composition writing ... no need to wait till K2. Even if you do not enrol yr child there eventually, at least you visit them, have an idea ... how they equip children adequately, very well for Primary 1:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=389617
there are also other good kindergarten around:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21313 -
Actually, I’m quite concerned about some kindergarten which teach kids creative writing at k1. Does the child has a strong background in English? Otherwise, how would he or she be able to write creatively??
all kids start out on equal footing. There is no need strong foundation in english, to begin writing compo at K1. Most kindergarten will start writing compo, only at K2.
however, this child care centre at Bishan called my little campus - is exceptional. Their structured curriculum is impressive! K1 students are taught creative compo writing ... hence, no need to wait till K2. How they manage ? pay them a visit... you flip through their workbooks, you will understand the secret behind.
even if you do not enrol yr child there eventually, at least after you visit, you have an idea ... how they equip children adequately, indeed very well for Primary 1:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=389617 -
You DO need to have basic English in order to write creatively. Else, how would you have simple vocabulary to expand your story? Creative writing is different from normal writing.
I do know about this child care, but I have also heard about the negative views about this childcare.
Anyway,pls stick to the discussion. this thread is about SJK. Else chief will come after us.
you are right, let’s stop talking…Chief kiasu don’t like.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.