In-law problems?
mama_g:
For my case, my mil will 'chase' us back home if happen that we are disciplining the kids. Very drama de... will say things like she cant bear to see us disciplining kids, kids will outgrown their bad behaviour.... so all kids no need to be discipline as they will outgrown on their own??? Make no sense to me at all
yah.....a bit weird leh :shock: how can let them outgrow....so if never discipline, just let them be? Can't imagine. But hey....your hubby is the outcome of same teaching
Sometimes I dilemma too....while we yak over trouble with MIL, it's their son we have married....so ironical :lol: -
cwc:
Sometimes I dilemma too....while we yak over trouble with MIL, it's their son we have married....so ironical :lol:
Mother's behaviour is different from Grandma's behaviour.
Before marriage, my hubby told me his mother was very stern and forbade him to do many things (eating titbits, watching TV), he had to wash his own sch shoes, made his own breakfast, etc. Now, a totally different approach for the precious grandsons :lol: -
I agree!!! My MIL was a very fierce mum, always screaming and caning her kids. But now with her grandchildren, she will endure all kinds of crappy behavior from them. She told us once, \"these are not my children, so it's not my responsibility to discipline them.\"cwc:
Sometimes I dilemma too....while we yak over trouble with MIL, it's their son we have married....so ironical :lol:
Before marriage, my hubby told me his mother was very stern and forbade him to do many things (eating titbits, watching TV), he had to wash his own sch shoes, made his own breakfast, etc. Now, a totally different approach for the precious grandsons :lol: -
MummyThreeStreams:
I agree!!! My MIL was a very fierce mum, always screaming and caning her kids. But now with her grandchildren, she will endure all kinds of crappy behavior from them. She told us once, \"these are not my children, so it's not my responsibility to discipline them.\"[/quote]But frankly, I think most of us are guilty of this in some way. I scream and punish my kids.....but when other people's kids (be it neighbour, SIL/BIL, friends' etc) behave in equally bad or worse manner, I tend to keep silent or perhaps mildly reprimand.....definitely not in the same degree. My own kids have questioned about the \"unfair treatment\" before. And I have also told DH statements like....\"well, not my kid, not my problem. If the parents dun even bother to discipline, dun think I should too\".....sound familiar?Jennifer:
[quote=\"cwc\"]Sometimes I dilemma too....while we yak over trouble with MIL, it's their son we have married....so ironical :lol:
Before marriage, my hubby told me his mother was very stern and forbade him to do many things (eating titbits, watching TV), he had to wash his own sch shoes, made his own breakfast, etc. Now, a totally different approach for the precious grandsons :lol:
cwc:
\"well, not my kid, not my problem. If the parents dun even bother to discipline, dun think I should too\".....sound familiar?

Once I was on board a pubic bus. One toddler was crying loudly (the fake cries type) and I saw him beating his mum.
After a few bus stops passed, he still had not stopped. So I shot dagger looks at him. He saw and quickly stopped.
not my children, but causing distress to me :lol: -
Hubby told me he doesn't need to wash bowls. His mother very fussy about that...she must use hot water to do so. Upbringing wise, she didn't teach them about hygiene. Hubby's sister throws her undies into the washing machine...I still puke thinking about it.cwc:
[/quote]Let me tell you something hubby's sister did that caused me to puke even more. She hang her USED sanitary pad at the toilet door knob for the whole day. She doesn't wash her socks after every use. Once I saw her smelling her worn socks to check whether can wear again or not. :!:Jennifer:
[quote=\"cwc\"]
Hubby told me he doesn't need to wash bowls. His mother very fussy about that...she must use hot water to do so. Upbringing wise, she didn't teach them about hygiene. Hubby's sister throws her undies into the washing machine...I still puke thinking about it. -
[quote=\"sall
She hang her USED sanitary pad at the toilet door knob for the whole day. [/quote]
:faint:
if just once or twice well maybe forgetful but if this is a habit, :siao: -
jessicawongcs:
Where friend is concerned, can't say anything. But that hubby's sister is terrible...how can she throw her undies into washing machine ? Old enough to wash herself. This thing definitely her mother never teach.sall:
Let me tell you something hubby's sister did that caused me to puke even more. She hang her USED sanitary pad at the toilet door knob for the whole day. She doesn't wash her socks after every use. Once I saw her smelling her worn socks to check whether can wear again or not. :!:
i ever had a frd who dont wash her stained underwear and put it in the toilet, found out abt it when we shared room in a hotel :x -
cwc:
Good point, but i indeed dont have good experience and views on her 'children' aka DH's elder sister and brother.... As for DH.. bo bian la... my \"ah lau\" mah... when fate knocks on the door..how to escape?mama_g:
For my case, my mil will 'chase' us back home if happen that we are disciplining the kids. Very drama de... will say things like she cant bear to see us disciplining kids, kids will outgrown their bad behaviour.... so all kids no need to be discipline as they will outgrown on their own??? Make no sense to me at all
yah.....a bit weird leh :shock: how can let them outgrow....so if never discipline, just let them be? Can't imagine. But hey....your hubby is the outcome of same teaching
In their family, there are no family bonding, no meals, no outing , no bdae celebrations, MIL favours obviously on the elder bro, very often will hear her say she called her elder son but never heard her saying she call her elder doter... Tat day i asked her... both ur son and doter are 'married out', seldom come home... why u only call ur son, never heard u call ur doter de?? This is her up bringing???
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.