Science Guide Books
I think nowadays the kids do not \"revise\" and do their own reading anymore. They either learn by \"hands-on\" - which is doing top school exam papers, or wait to be \"spoon-fed\" - parents / teachers highlight facts or pointers to them. It is so unlike our time whereby our parents leave us to read up on our own to learn and do. Worries me that this cannot continue in secondary school.....
Janet,janet_lee88:
Hi buds,
I was trying to compile the Science P5 notes/Q&A for son to revise for SA. The Ultimate Science has the green parts (like you mentioned) which requires some thinking where to fit in. Just last night, I was trying to figure out :? which section to slot in some pages photocopied from the book. SA1 jitters acting up. After CL oral has been completed today, we can revise the subjects and read up compos for next week's Paper I.
:salute: to you! You are indeed a hands-on mummy who did all the best for your children! :udawoman:....I was reading the Ultimate Science + another Science guide book on my beloved bed yesterday nite and before I could realise, I am already :snooze: :snooze: ...Hubby woke me up when he has finished with his stuff in the living room and popped me a Qn,\" Are you having exam or our dear girl taking it? You look more kanchoeng, stress and tired than she does!\" :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
I was on the last topic \"Fungi and Bacteria\" and guess the terms & jargon words put me off bah....Yes, agree with buds that the font is quite small so I always have my set of highlighters with me
..So, literally the 1st few chapters of the books are full of colours! :love: -
Pen88n:
I think nowadays the kids do not \"revise\" and do their own reading anymore. They either learn by \"hands-on\" - which is doing top school exam papers, or wait to be \"spoon-fed\" - parents / teachers highlight facts or pointers to them. It is so unlike our time whereby our parents leave us to read up on our own to learn and do. Worries me that this cannot continue in secondary school.....
My girls are on auto-pilot.
Most times...
I don't believe in compiling notes or highlighting their notes whatsoever.
Furthermore, i'm not a fan of highlighters to be honest. I dunno why..
Again, gives me headache. :faint: Yah, i get headaches easily.. the
lack of iron acting up i suppose..
They revise when they are free and chase me to test them. :faint:
If i'm not onz, i'd be sending the wrong message.. ain't it? :idea:
They do it all on their own. I provide the resources... like study cards...
notepads... coloured pens... cookies and milk... accompaniment... and
of course hugs, kisses, love & support.
If any of my assistance is required it would only be how to study smart
instead of study too hard (ie. mugging). Troubleshoot into weak areas
and how they can learn best or absorb information according to their
learning styles. This makes revising less painful and less wasteful (time)
cause i prefer quality revision (really sink info into hard drive up there)
over quantity revision (overwhelming time spent to revise but nothing
sinks in) :rant: ... -
Heyya Champion, yes.. the fonts in Ultimate Science is painfully small for this specky. :faint:
Hi Buds,
Agree...so as I mentioned, my only \"console\" is that I use highlighters to keep me awake!
Whoa! Congrats that both your kids are auto-pilot type :celebrate:....mine is really errr..semi suto-pilot...Haha! -
Must prep from young..
My girls were on their own timetable since 4yrs old..
It is easier if they agree to their own work schedule.
They'd be more willing to follow through.
So now that they're in primary school the time allocation
is based on their old (habits) routines die hard. A lotta
work and discipline... and definitely determination but
got to really see through or else wasted effort... esp
since at that time i had to manage 2 kiddies at one
go..
Being a stay home parent, one can easily lose track of time or waste
time if not planned properly. While planning activities in your mind is
good, putting the plans on paper allows the children to be able to manage
their activities on their own and remind themselves and me... when is play time
or outdoor time... but to do that they need to have completed all the activities or
assignments set for the day. They will take the books or materials from their own
shelves, work with them and hand them up for marking. Then comes play time.
Totally agreed.
I set this routine for my two kiddos since young and they will follow the routine till at least now, that is in primary six .
Cheers
Lynn2buds:
Must prep from young..
My girls were on their own timetable since 4yrs old..
It is easier if they agree to their own work schedule.
They'd be more willing to follow through.
So now that they're in primary school the time allocation
is based on their old (habits) routines die hard. A lotta
work and discipline... and definitely determination but
got to really see through or else wasted effort... esp
since at that time i had to manage 2 kiddies at one
go..
Being a stay home parent, one can easily lose track of time or waste
time if not planned properly. While planning activities in your mind is
good, putting the plans on paper allows the children to be able to manage
their activities on their own and remind themselves and me... when is play time
or outdoor time... but to do that they need to have completed all the activities or
assignments set for the day. They will take the books or materials from their own
shelves, work with them and hand them up for marking. Then comes play time.
Starting from this year, Iโve been going to the โstationeryโ section in Popular to get flags, highlighters as well as page separators.
Regarding routine (aka time-table), Iโve set this since son was in P1. Now he is used to following it. Itโs appropriate to have one so that there is a proper system what to do everyday. Setting one is not easyโฆhave to follow childโs timing after school, bath, rest & lunch etcโฆbut once itโs up, child just have to follow it. -
:rotflmao: Funny lar you, Champion! :rotflmao:buds:
Hi Buds,
Agree...so as I mentioned, my only \"console\" is that I use highlighters to keep me awake!
The green fonts and pages are already painful for my eyes
and the bright highlighter from the pens sure won't help in
my case, hence it totally put me off from purchasing it plus
it is verrrryy wordy! :faint: Wordy = More to read. :faint:Champion:
Semi is good! Yours on the way to full auto liao lar.. you're also hands-on mommy. :celebrate:Whoa! Congrats that both your kids are auto-pilot type :celebrate:....mine is really errr..semi suto-pilot...Haha!
In our case, it has always been the girls who agreed upon and put up their own work scheduleStarting from this year, I've been going to the 'stationery' section in Popular to get flags, highlighters as well as page separators.
Regarding routine (aka time-table), I've set this since son was in P1. Now he is used to following it. It's appropriate to have one so that there is a proper system what to do everyday. Setting one is not easy...have to follow child's timing after school, bath, rest & lunch etc...but once it's up, child just have to follow it.
hence they keep to what has been arranged more willingly. For my P4 not much time to schedule
cos come back from school already what time. :rant: Sure say the pillow calling me.. :lol:
Btw, back to topic... i like one assessment book also available in Popular. Will share with you soon. -
Ha..ha..no choice leh - I no good in Science so I have to rely on the Ultimate Science Guide + another one to help me understand what is SCIENCE so I can help to coach DD1 :roll:
The green fonts and pages are already painful for my eyes
and the bright highlighter from the pens sure won't help in
my case, hence it totally put me off from purchasing it plus
it is verrrryy wordy! :faint: Wordy = More to read. :faint:buds:
Aiyoh...semi auto-pilot means still can't ่ชๅจ่ชๅleh! Still must push push :rant:. NO lah, I am not really that hands-on yo :oops: ...Am still learning and trying my very best to help DDs with their school works and for DD1 her coming SA1Champion:
Whoa! Congrats that both your kids are auto-pilot type :celebrate:....mine is really errr..semi suto-pilot...Haha!
Semi is good! Yours on the way to full auto liao lar.. you're also hands-on mommy. :celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.