All About Pre-school Math Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    210 Posts 95 Posters 304.4k Views 1 Watching

cantbearit2:
      thks, buds!!! :udawoman:

:oops: You're welcome. šŸ˜‰
      cantbearit2:
      It was an eye opener for me wen i read your posts in e Montessori thread.
      Oooooh yes... :please: Indeed it is to open the eyes of fellow parents
      keen on Montessori education to further explain how the methodology
      can help children learn holistically instead of just academically. šŸ˜‰
      cantbearit2:
      I like the concept but unfortunately i dun have the logistics to enrol DD2 (4 y.o.) in e daily Montessori prog. She's currently in a daily cc which is close to my hse.
      Where do you reside? :evil:

Coming from mainstream education style as well, i was the most sceptic
      of sceptics when it came to learning and what more to practise some new
      concept i did not know or believe in at that point... but in time; with more
      concrete experiences through years of hands-on work with children, i
      began to see how the method works through the teachings of Dr Maria.

So, needless to say... i'm sold! :love:
      cantbearit2:
      I like e concept of learning fr concrete object to abstract. I believe understanding fr e v basic is v imp. I dun like rote drilling as it does not build understanding. I dun like memorising formulas to become human calculator too. So Kumon & CMA is out.
      Yes! I love it too! It gives the children concrete impressions of what they
      were learning and not just like you say... abstract learning. šŸ˜‰ This
      way they love to learn even more as they can slowly understand the
      underlying meanings to what they are being introduced to... so in time
      the love for learning comes from the hunger to explore even deeper &
      even more... for the love of learning that comes from the heart. Children
      are more self-motivated to learn from a young age, no force neccessary..
      especially since Montessori advocates learning in a non-threatening
      environment. šŸ˜„
      cantbearit2:
      However IM not too sure if once a wk enrichment in Montessori Math is gd enough. e ctr nearest to me is CS Montessori. Fr e Montessori thread i have read, e comments r for daily prog not e weekly enrichm, tats y I wan to find out more. But CS is mix age grp (3.5-6y.o)for weekly enrichm too. Fr yur comments, it may not b suitable for my DD2 leh. Looks like I may need to shop ard agn. sigh. logistics is still an issue for me.

Thks anyway. I was tinking u could b e one ans my query. Hee....& I was rite. šŸ˜‰
      Daily is of course better cos it is more holistic. Your child not only get to
      learn just Math or Science or Geography but eveything a child needs and
      would love to know about Language, Social Grace & Courtesy just to name
      a few.. How old is your DD2 by the way? šŸ˜‰

cantbearit2

cantbearit2:
        I like the concept but unfortunately i dun have the logistics to enrol DD2 (4 y.o.) in e daily Montessori prog. She's currently in a daily cc which is close to my hse.

Where do you reside? :evil:

Coming from mainstream education style as well, i was the most sceptic
        of sceptics when it came to learning and what more to practise some new
        concept i did not know or believe in at that point... but in time; with more
        concrete experiences through years of hands-on work with children, i
        began to see how the method works through the teachings of Dr Maria.

So, needless to say... i'm sold! :love:
        Honestly, IM sold too. I was even telling DH e other day, if my DD was attending a Montessori sch, I dun even need outside enrichm which translates to time savings for other family bonding activities. šŸ˜‰

IM staying in Hougang. For those 3-4 hrly prog, i need to have bus transport cos IM a FTWM & DH timing R pretty unstable. For full day prog (like a childcare thgy), I dun noe which is e more recommended one. Like u said, put aside e montessori curriculum, it's really dependent on e directress/ teacher if ey can deliver it.

I found all e recommended ones r either on e western, eastern or northern side of our island lor. Nothing much in e NE leh. 😢
        Daily is of course better cos it is more holistic. Your child not only get to
        learn just Math or Science or Geography but eveything a child needs and
        would love to know about Language, Social Grace & Courtesy just to name
        a few.. How old is your DD2 by the way? šŸ˜‰
        Yes, I luv the cultural learning too.....!!! :love: Tats y contemplating a daily prog. But i dun wan 2 take e strain of logistics. DH drives DD1 (7 y.o.) to student care in e morn. & she takes e sch bus hm & my mom is nice enough 2 take care of my DS3 (16mths old) at hm. IM currently e PIC for fetch/send my DD2 (4y.o) :lol:

Any gd recommendation? :?:
        If not convenient, can oso PM me šŸ˜‰

Thought there's a Shekinah Montessori over your end?

Heard that is quite good. That said however... most
          times it is dependent on the teacher that you will
          get for your child's class honestly for no two
          teachers are the same. šŸ™

I didn't know you have 3 kiddies until you mentioned
          it! You working full time too! :salute: Yes, your mum
          is verrrryyy nice to offer care for your DS. :please:

botakgundul

jolim26:
            i'm still looking for lobang to buy mpm books rather than attend lesson... anyone can help?

Hi jolim26, do you manage to buy mpm books? I'm also interested. Can you share with me how to order the books?

cantbearit2

Thought there's a Shekinah Montessori over your end?

Heard that is quite good. That said however... most
              times it is dependent on the teacher that you will
              get for your child's class honestly for no two
              teachers are the same. šŸ™

I didn't know you have 3 kiddies until you mentioned
              it! You working full time too! :salute: Yes, your mum
              is verrrryyy nice to offer care for your DS. :please:
              Shekinah?? Ok, will check it out. Ya, can't agree more. Teacher is a very impt factor.

Same as u mah, 2 DDs 1 DS. Hee..... But my children no montessori environment at hm lor....haha...!!!

DS3 is yr end bb so by 2012 term 3 then eligible for the daily Montessori prog near my pl. Hee....will sound my mom out 2 c if she's willing to help me fetch/send DS next yr. But who noes, if I like wat i c at shekinah then prob resolved. keep my fingers crossed. :xedfingers:

I vaguely recall there was a Shekinah branch where you reside.

I may be wrong.. :siam: But in any case, can try to recce. Hmmm..
                seems that your end of our dot doesn't reali have that many choices
                of Montessori schools aye? It's okay dear. Even if without a Montessori
                environment in the home, the teachable moments in your daily routine
                can be Montessori inspired / inclined. Wherenever independence can be
                encouraged, try to allow so instead of doing things for them. Converse in
                proper conversation as how you'd speak to adults-no baby talk. Let them
                help around the house with say... wiping tables after eating... wash own
                dishes (with or without stool)... dry the utensils and sort them properly...
                make their beds... help peg some laundry (can begin with say socks or
                handkerchiefs etc)... and many more opportunities when it comes.

Math skills can also be exposed by doing mundane home stuff and you
                can engage them with simple explorations as they go about helping you
                out at home.

Oh i see, you're same like me! 2 DDs and 1 DS. What a coincidence. šŸ˜„
                :xedfingers: Crossing my fingers you can find a good Montessori place
                for your children. I'm helpless here for i honestly cannot find my way
                around there..

Err.. Hougang right? Or was it Sengkang? :?

Mixed aged group is fine for daily or few times weekly kinda programmes.
                For enrichment programmes, due to the shorter duration and it being a
                weekly programme... i find that a similar age range group would be more
                beneficial towards the progress of the children.

cantbearit2

Unless I can find a Montessori sch which fit my bill (hougang preferred), i will juz let DD2 stay put & prob put her in a weekly class for Montessori phonics & Maths.

Thks for e tips buds!!! Going to e library ltr to grab a book on Montessori as well. Hee...

I have juz started using some manipulative to teach DD2 (regret din do it for DD1 then šŸ˜ž ). She's making some progress using the mtd u have shown us in another thread (e one using mahjong chips and associate the chips wif e self-made numbers flashcards). She's enjoying our \"lessons\" very much. My DD1 oso benefitted wif a clearer idea of odd/even numbers. šŸ˜„ IM so grateful for this KSP forum and to parents like u who share selflessly. :thankyou:

cantbearit2:
                    Unless I can find a Montessori sch which fit my bill (hougang preferred), i will juz let DD2 stay put & prob put her in a weekly class for Montessori phonics & Maths.

Can understand if really not much choice what to do.. šŸ˜ž
                    cantbearit2:
                    Thks for e tips buds!!! Going to e library ltr to grab a book on Montessori as well. Hee...
                    Wah! Somebody ONZ leh. :evil:
                    cantbearit2:
                    I have juz started using some manipulative to teach DD2 (regret din do it for DD1 then šŸ˜ž ). She's making some progress using the mtd u have shown us in another thread (e one using mahjong chips and associate the chips wif e self-made numbers flashcards). She's enjoying our \"lessons\" very much. My DD1 oso benefitted wif a clearer idea of odd/even numbers. šŸ˜„
                    Oh yes, this one right? > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=16584#p16584
                    Happy to hear they're enjoying lessons! :love:
                    cantbearit2:
                    IM so grateful for this KSP forum and to parents like u who share selflessly. :thankyou:
                    You're welcome! More to come if time permits.. šŸ˜„

It's because of parents like you, that keep the
                    sharings alive... and the ideas churning! :celebrate:

cantbearit2

cantbearit2:

Wah! Somebody ONZ leh. :evil:
                      Hope to create a proper hm environment mah. :lol:
                      cantbearit2:
                      I have juz started using some manipulative to teach DD2 (regret din do it for DD1 then šŸ˜ž ). She's making some progress using the mtd u have shown us in another thread (e one using mahjong chips and associate the chips wif e self-made numbers flashcards). She's enjoying our \"lessons\" very much. My DD1 oso benefitted wif a clearer idea of odd/even numbers. šŸ˜„
                      Oh yes, this one right? > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=16584#p16584
                      Happy to hear they're enjoying lessons! :love:
                      Spot on! Tats e one. She had pretty gd understanding of the significance of e numbers now. Currently IM working on simple addition (less than 5). We are pretty slow & easy at e moment cos I wan her to learn at her own pace. Montessori way, hee.... :lol: She loves playing ard wif e manipulatives & pester me each nite. But sometimes mummy is bz wif DD1's study time. Aft DD1, mummy v tired. Yawn....Zzz.... :snooze: A bit guilty a times. :oops:
                      cantbearit2:
                      IM so grateful for this KSP forum and to parents like u who share selflessly. :thankyou:
                      You're welcome! More to come if time permits.. šŸ˜„

It's because of parents like you, that keep the
                      sharings alive... and the ideas churning! :celebrate:
                      Hee....tats y i have been silently reading a lot of yur thread. There r so many thgs to learn & e instructions r so clear. Tink u can publish a book liao. Juz make sure IM in yur mailing list, ya? šŸ˜‰

cantbearit2:
                        Spot on! Tats e one. She had pretty gd understanding of the significance of e numbers now. Currently IM working on simple addition (less than 5). We are pretty slow & easy at e moment cos I wan her to learn at her own pace. Montessori way, hee.... :lol: She loves playing ard wif e manipulatives & pester me each nite. But sometimes mummy is bz wif DD1's study time. Aft DD1, mummy v tired. Yawn....Zzz.... :snooze: A bit guilty a times. :oops:

Can understand.. :snuggles: Fun lessons held after office hours can be tiring for full time moms.
                        Do what you can with what time you have but not foregoing rest as well cause you still need to
                        fill your rice bowl. :hugs:
                        cantbearit2:
                        Hee....tats y i have been silently reading a lot of yur thread. There r so many thgs to learn & e instructions r so clear. Tink u can publish a book liao. Juz make sure IM in yur mailing list, ya? šŸ˜‰
                        Oooh i didn't know you were a silent follower. :love:

Publish!?!

Anyone in publishing out there? :rubhands:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 21