IJJ:
Haha, I see. Anyway, kids love buying books on their own. Gives them the \"kick\", so I'm sure she'll be more than happy to buy the books from school book fair.
I am too lazy. :oops: I think it is ok. Most of the books are thin books, and she has school bus to our doorstep.Happy Mama:
IJJ, since you are buying so many books, you may want to drop by their bookshop in Bras Basah and buy directly from them. This way, you can also browse through to see if the books are worth buying or reading, and most importantly, your DD doesn't need to lug the heavy books back.
piezolbs:
My DD has to adapt the P5 by only securing 70+ in maths which she can easily take 90+ in P4.
The slip in P5 MA results is very normal. New topics, in-depth old topics, more wordy prob sums and more prob sums qns all add up to the reason.
To be kiasu, I think P4 parents need to start on P5 term 1 topics during the P4 Nov/Dec sch hols. This way, the child has adequately prepared himself for the jump in the level of difficulty in P5 and hence, CA1 paper will not be a shock and hopefully, the marks wld not slip too much to discourage the child.
When my elder boy was in P4 going to P5, I also heard abt the jump to P5 is quite huge. So I advised him to go thru' the P5 syllabus. Being a child, of course he turned a deaf ear to my advice. So I let him faced the music lor. True enough, he got 70+ for P5 MA (in fact, he could not believe it, his lowest among his academic path then). Luckily, he bucked up and mged 80+ by SA1.
Bearing in mind, some discouraged children might take a longer time to recover before SA1 starts. So, let's not take this risk unnecessarily.
I am already pyscho-ing my P4 boy to be ready to put in more efforts next year for P5 MA. -
IJJ:
When will you and family be back?
I am too lazy. :oops: I think it is ok. Most of the books are thin books, and she has school bus to our doorstep.Happy Mama:
IJJ, since you are buying so many books, you may want to drop by their bookshop in Bras Basah and buy directly from them. This way, you can also browse through to see if the books are worth buying or reading, and most importantly, your DD doesn't need to lug the heavy books back. -
Thanks for the tip, Jennifer. :celebrate:The slip in P5 MA results is very normal. New topics, in-depth old topics, more wordy prob sums and more prob sums qns all add up to the reason.
To be kiasu, I think P4 parents need to start on P5 term 1 topics during the P4 Nov/Dec sch hols. This way, the child has adequately prepared himself for the jump in the level of difficulty in P5 and hence, CA1 paper will not be a shock and hopefully, the marks wld not slip too much to discourage the child.
When my elder boy was in P4 going to P5, I also heard abt the jump to P5 is quite huge. So I advised him to go thru' the P5 syllabus. Being a child, of course he turned a deaf ear to my advice. So I let him faced the music lor. True enough, he got 70+ for P5 MA (in fact, he could not believe it, his lowest among his academic path then). Luckily, he bucked up and mged 80+ by SA1.
Bearing in mind, some discouraged children might take a longer time to recover before SA1 starts. So, let's not take this risk unnecessarily.
I am already pyscho-ing my P4 boy to be ready to put in more efforts next year for P5 MA. -
When will you and family be back?[/quote]This time, not sure. :?
I am too lazy. :oops: I think it is ok. Most of the books are thin books, and she has school bus to our doorstep.IJJ:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
IJJ, since you are buying so many books, you may want to drop by their bookshop in Bras Basah and buy directly from them. This way, you can also browse through to see if the books are worth buying or reading, and most importantly, your DD doesn't need to lug the heavy books back. -
Son flunked Math in Section C…improving a little to pass his Section A (no calculator). Need to move on to see what needs to be done. P5 is a totally different ball game…mummies with children in P4, do give your kids a headstart in Nov/Dec. The first CA in P5 is a wake-up call even for kids who get 80-90 in P4. Foundation is crucial.
Think the school is trying to squeeze A and A* from the cohort as what one mummy mentioned…as good as squeezing blood out from stone. -
yes, my dd has started to learn P5 math. but she is too careless, this time she miscopied the qn number. :slapshead:piezolbs:
My DD has to adapt the P5 by only securing 70+ in maths which she can easily take 90+ in P4.
The slip in P5 MA results is very normal. New topics, in-depth old topics, more wordy prob sums and more prob sums qns all add up to the reason.
You write down the wrong HYPY words, let your ds read them in correct pronounce loudly...repeat over and over.DS's student care just gave him another P1 past yr exam paper to practice today. Hanzi for ds is ok. But out of the 20 fill-in-the-blanks HYPY qns, ds only managed to get 10 correct. :imdrowning: Help!
I took a look at the paper and realised that most of the errors were due to ds confusing 第二声 & 第三声. Is there any effective way to correct this error?
Thanks lizhi, Jen & Mrsbongz for your suggestions.
lizhi:
Yah I'll do that. Hopefully it works on my ds.You write down the wrong HYPY words, let your ds read them in correct pronounce loudly...repeat over and over.

The trouble is we hardly ever watch TV programmes. If you minus 1 hr of gaming plus 1 hr of piano practice daily, there's hardly any time left for TV. And my chinese also cannot-make-it one, how to converse properly leh? Do you know if there's any intensive HYPY class this coming holiday? I don't mind paying for it as I really want to fix this 第二声 & 第三声 confusion asap.Listen more to CL speaking programme. Or children's nursery rhymes/songs.
These days, I speak to my boys in Mandarin too. Tried my best to structure my sentences correctly and in complete sentences.
The CL teacher told me to read the textbook and use its vocabulary in our daily conversation. Think this is quite a tall order :oops:Mrsbongz:
I do that too (making ds count the sounds), but didn't help very much in his case. Btw, really happy to hear that your ds is doing well in chinese. DS told me recently that your ds is coping better with sch life nowadays. :celebrate:For the 第二声 & 第三声, I get ds to 'count' the sounds from the first to fourth. I realised that he sometimes 'assumes', and indicate it wrongly, esp when 2 words have 第三声. I also draw up the 4 'tones' and paste it in sequence in front of him, at his study table, to help him visualise when 'counting'.. After he got the hang of it, he now has no prob with his HYPY
hope this helps..
:idea: Maybe I'll ask ds whether he wants your ds to teach him. His quite 'proud' one, only want to seen as strong (that's what the student care teacher told me). I'll casually ask him tonight.
ATTENTION: Popular Bookstore members!
can collect catalogue liao :dancing:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.