Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 255.6k Views 1 Watching
      MummyThreeStreams

Whilst political appointees’ pay shd definitely be reviewed n is being reviewed, let’s not get carried away to d extreme.

D justifications consistently given from 1994 were dat:
      1.\t Civil service were losing good ppl to private sector. Higher pay in private sector was a major reason.
      2.\tPAP finds it hard to recruit good potential office holders coz $ not enuf to attract n retain.

3.\tAct as deterrence to corruption.

D salaries of civil service (top tier) n political appointees r linked. So by protocol, if PM wants to raise his n d Ministers’ pay, d President’s pay has to be raised first. That was wat happened towards d end of d last parliament sitting just before GE 2011. It was not debated, just announced n it was so. Wonder how many ppl missed d announcement hidden in one of d MSM pages.

1.\tI believe to maintain some standards, D political appointees MUST be accorded a decent renumeration package to reflect their office n responsibilities. But it shd not be pegged to d median of d top six or eight earners in SG, d amount has to be tempered by d intangible benefits of public service. If political appointees aspire to be in office only for monetary gain n fame, then their hearts r in d wrong place n they should be rejected at d ballot box.

2.\tD President’s pay shd be de-link with Ministers’ pay n be paid an amount commensurate with his office n responsibilities. Work-wise, he is definitely many notches below d Cabinet n his pay shd reflect dat, not purely by protocol.

3.\tLikewise, civil service pay shd be de-link from political appointees’ pay. Dis shd only affect d top tier in civil service. It’s a job like any other. They also hv families to look after. A good man with many years of experience in d civil service could be paid more than a political appointee who may come n go after every election, why not? You want to retain these ppl to keep d bureaucracy running smoothing n effectively no matter who d political appointee is.
      I agree with you!
      Took the words right out of my mouth.

Funx3

MummyThreeStreams:

Whilst political appointees’ pay shd definitely be reviewed n is being reviewed, let’s not get carried away to d extreme.

D justifications consistently given from 1994 were dat:
        1.\t Civil service were losing good ppl to private sector. Higher pay in private sector was a major reason.
        2.\tPAP finds it hard to recruit good potential office holders coz $ not enuf to attract n retain.

3.\tAct as deterrence to corruption.

D salaries of civil service (top tier) n political appointees r linked. So by protocol, if PM wants to raise his n d Ministers’ pay, d President’s pay has to be raised first. That was wat happened towards d end of d last parliament sitting just before GE 2011. It was not debated, just announced n it was so. Wonder how many ppl missed d announcement hidden in one of d MSM pages.

1.\tI believe to maintain some standards, D political appointees MUST be accorded a decent renumeration package to reflect their office n responsibilities. But it shd not be pegged to d median of d top six or eight earners in SG, d amount has to be tempered by d intangible benefits of public service. If political appointees aspire to be in office only for monetary gain n fame, then their hearts r in d wrong place n they should be rejected at d ballot box.

2.\tD President’s pay shd be de-link with Ministers’ pay n be paid an amount commensurate with his office n responsibilities. Work-wise, he is definitely many notches below d Cabinet n his pay shd reflect dat, not purely by protocol.

3.\tLikewise, civil service pay shd be de-link from political appointees’ pay. Dis shd only affect d top tier in civil service. It’s a job like any other. They also hv families to look after. A good man with many years of experience in d civil service could be paid more than a political appointee who may come n go after every election, why not? You want to retain these ppl to keep d bureaucracy running smoothing n effectively no matter who d political appointee is.

I agree with you!
        Took the words right out of my mouth.

I Agree.
        Very Logical and Sound Argument ....
        But Maybe Rather Bitter to Swallow, from their End ....

• E Offline
          Edureach

Very pleased that PM Lee is tackling the issue of ministerial pay which is a sacred cow. Also rather pleased with the appointment of our new DPM who is such a broad-minded politician. Glad to see WP winning Aljunied GRC though i personally wish that GY had stood at another area.

Holding political office is not a profession but a calling. Its for top talents who are willing to serve the people and nation and satisfaction is derived not from top pay but from respect and recognition from the people whose lives have been touched by these politicians. Top remuneration is never enough to draw top talents into the poilitical fold. In fact top talents come with top responsibilities and such talents if drawn because of top pay are actually unsuitable for political office. Its the challenging task ahead and the ability to make a difference to the lives of citizens and the nation that will entice top talents to come forward to serve and not because of pay. This point has been proven in the absence of private sector top talents from the ruling party in the recent watershed election. Instead, it was the presence of a top coporate lawyer and several others from the alternative parties that had caught the imagination of the public.

Judging from the recent statements of the political office bearers, i am hopeful of good things to come for the benefits of the people and nation. Particulary pleased with the cordial greetings from elected members of both sides of political divide as seen from the recent sworn-in and investiture. Hope this relationship can be taken up further by seeing each side as not only political opponents but also colleagues in parliament working together to enact effective policies for the long-term interest of our nation.

Hope that my offsprings can recognise the significant contributions of politicians in a parliament not devoid of charm and feelings for each other.

raysusan

good move by gayment

but dont put in too much hope

wapobs

The King finally stuck out his head to see what happening outside, when 40% of voters make noise, especially the Aljunied ones. He heard something and then go back inside and want to cut ministers pay. But they all used to hi hi pay liao, and all so rich oredy. If cut a lot, sekali they quit, jialat… If cut a bit, next election jialat. sibei cham!

I m happy with the step that PM Lee is attempting on the review of the salaries. It is good that he listens, rationalises and takes action. As for the ministers quiting because of the pay review, then it is a good time to weed out the wrong mindset ministers. At least those who stay truly care for Singapore. Actually I am convinced our government do care for our people on a macro level if we look at how the whole infrastructure is set up to bring on the progress of the nation and its security measures. It is not easy as we have many constraints and limitations and we are also vulnerable but they have leveraged rightly to make us what we are today. We cannot totally derail from our previous successful experience as it is absolutely unwise but if we spiral for changes to effect the changes, it would serve us well. I do not believe in big bang changes especially when successes have been seen in the past. So while we criticise the inadaquecies in the system, we should also objectively praise the strength. Interestingly, many things are also dual in nature, i.e. the strength is also is weakness and vice versa. So what we need is discernment as a nation to balance it off and not become vulnerable as a nation.

After watching the taiwan talks vids, I can also see that while on the outside they dislike many of our polices like whipping, high car costs etc...they are also in awe of our success as a nation. I especially like the highlights of certain \"tough\" decisions that older leaders have made, it made me understand a little deeper on the actions. Whatever it is, I will always choose to trust MM Lee's viewpoints, not because I blindly do so but I believe he is a person who does put in deep thoughts before he says something and he has a heart for Singapore. He is not infallable as well as he is only human but I believe his intentions are indeed good. At the end of the day, he really treats Singapore as his baby....... We are also parents, aren't we? 😉 So I hope the new 6 members in the parliament will help us keep this balance in place.

• O Offline
                  Oppsgal

Not sure how much difference in the salary after review. What about the bonus? If salary reduce but bonus increase then no point.

Anyway, we also cannot have any say if not happy with the final result of their salary, right :?

I am not very sure how well citizens would be if lots of fts are still coming in. But guess we have to wait awhile to see what could be done to help us Singaporean citizens on the issues on HDB, healthcare costs and the jobs available and ft in Singapore etc...

concern2

In last week's Sunday Times, there was an article written by Ignitius Low (hope I remember it correctly) about how he charted out the background of PAP candidates, and how he identified Denise Phua's background is different from the rest of the members who were 'cut out from the same cloth'.

Coincidentally came across an article and tied in with the Ignitius's observation. Denise Phua has penned down the uncomfortable feeling that I mentioned.A good read.
                    http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/into-the-minefield-of-ministerial-salaries/#more-4488

hypergatak

Not sure if you already know or whether it's true, I just got to know that Chan Chun Sing is a nephew of LKY. If that's true, it's really disappointing to think that the whole cabinet/PAP is but a web of relationships in which someone who is on the fast-track always trace back to you-know-who. Is that what you call \"cronyism\"?

There is talk Chan Chun Sing (ki chiu) is nephew of LKY, based on his standing position at funeral of LKY's wife.

Chan Chun Sing's mother is Monica Lee Kim Mon, who is also Lee Kuan Yew's sister. So that confirms the talk that Chan Chun Sing is indeed Lee Kuan Yew's nephew. Now this explains why Chan Chun Sing is often seen around Lee Kuan Yew.

Chan Chun Sing's parents (mother Lee Kim Mon and father Chan Chee Chiu) bought a Scott 28 Unit #18-02 condo on the same date as Lee's family on 06 November 1995. The caveats lodged can be viewed : http://www. http://i56.tinypic.com/2m4znyq.jpg\"> tangtalk.com/hplchart2.html

MummyThreeStreams

hypergatak:
                        Not sure if you already know or whether it's true, I just got to know that Chan Chun Sing is a nephew of LKY. If that's true, it's really disappointing to think that the whole cabinet/PAP is but a web of relationships in which someone who is on the fast-track always trace back to you-know-who. Is that what you call \"cronyism\"?

There is talk Chan Chun Sing (ki chiu) is nephew of LKY, based on his standing position at funeral of LKY's wife.

Chan Chun Sing's mother is Monica Lee Kim Mon, who is also Lee Kuan Yew's sister. So that confirms the talk that Chan Chun Sing is indeed Lee Kuan Yew's nephew. Now this explains why Chan Chun Sing is often seen around Lee Kuan Yew.

Chan Chun Sing's parents (mother Lee Kim Mon and father Chan Chee Chiu) bought a Scott 28 Unit #18-02 condo on the same date as Lee's family on 06 November 1995. The caveats lodged can be viewed : http://www. http://i56.tinypic.com/2m4znyq.jpg\"> tangtalk.com/hplchart2.html
                        I would take such stories with a big pinch of salt. What proof does this anonymous letter have, except for a photo ( which doesn't actually prove anything except that CCS had a higher degree of involvement at the funeral than you or me), and the name of two people who have the surname 'Chan'. According to CCS' bio http://ge.pap.org.sg/candidate/chanchunsing, his parents were divorced. He lived with his mum and maternal grandparents in a circuit road HDB flat. I read somewhere his mum was a machine-operator. Doesn't sound like he is related to LKY as described above.

Of course, one could argue that CCS's official bio is made up...But that would require a degree of cynicism that I do not have. 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 107 / 133