Petition to Review the Singapore Education System

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    791 Posts 95 Posters 195.0k Views 1 Watching
      sall

In sch, there are a lot of students who are there to interact and have fun. Study is never on their mind. These are the trouble-makers who disrupt lessons and can cause teachers to break down in tears. Parents got to understand that when teachers have students who scored badly in exams, they got to answer to the HOD and principals. I know so many cases of teachers being scolded by hod or principals because some students didn’t do well or refused to study. So we can’t blame the teachers if they push or punish students for not doing their work.

If the students are almost late, I don’t think it’s wrong for teachers to ask them to hurry up. If they are almost late and teachers ask them to take their time, what message are we giving to the students? They will think that it’s alright to be late.We can never change the teaching culture. I used to have an Australian colleague who told me so many horror stories of discipline problems in her sch in Australia. She actually said our system is better here. But then, no perfect system in this world.

cimman

sall:
        In sch, there are a lot of students who are there to interact and have fun. Study is never on their mind. These are the trouble-makers who disrupt lessons and can cause teachers to break down in tears. Parents got to understand that when teachers have students who scored badly in exams, they got to answer to the HOD and principals. I know so many cases of teachers being scolded by hod or principals because some students didn't do well or refused to study. So we can't blame the teachers if they push or punish students for not doing their work.

If the students are almost late, I don't think it's wrong for teachers to ask them to hurry up. If they are almost late and teachers ask them to take their time, what message are we giving to the students? They will think that it's alright to be late.We can never change the teaching culture. I used to have an Australian colleague who told me so many horror stories of discipline problems in her sch in Australia. She actually said our system is better here. But then, no perfect system in this world.
        I agree there should be discipline in our culture. Just look at that angmoh chap who spray painted the MRT train. He's in his 30's, a senior IT consultant, and yet he broke into the MRT depot and spray painted the trains, just for the fun of it, and it seems to be a hobby of his. Goes to show maturity and respectability does not come with age or job. It comes with our upbringing.

I don't think we want our children to turn out that way. Discipline comes from reminding children the boundaries. We don't have to put them down.

sall:
          But then, no perfect system in this world.

Sad to say, there is no perfect system in the world. An angmoh friend told me although US has free education for citizens, those schools are public schools and there is no quality...a lot of times, students there are trouble makers. If parents want quality, they have to pay for private school.

In today's ST, there is an article about the attributes GOOD teachers should possess. Some students may have behavioural problems, but teachers themselves can be guilty of that too. A good teacher plays a very important role to inspire students.

BeContented

sall:

But then, no perfect system in this world.

Sad to say, there is no perfect system in the world. An angmoh friend told me although US has free education for citizens, those schools are public schools and there is no quality...a lot of times, students there are trouble makers. If parents want quality, they have to pay for private school.

In today's ST, there is an article about the attributes GOOD teachers should possess. Some students may have behavioural problems, but teachers themselves can be guilty of that too. A good teacher plays a very important role to inspire students.

hee hee hee....not just teachers lah, we parents also guilty......everywhere got good, got bad, got so so.....eeerrr, more importantly, must start from HOME 😉

DD kena some complaint from her classmates recently and then I was :stompfeet: :rant: :nunchuk: but suddenly I realised 😓 eeerrr, I think I also behave that way to my DD (tho not to others), but kids being kids, they learn and apply to everyone lah :oops: :oops: :oops:

Sun_2010

Chen, you have a pm 🙂

Chenonceau

Sun_2010:
                Chen, you have a pm 🙂

Thanks I replied...

Others... do sign the petition http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_perl/signed.cgi?SgEd2011&1

Here is an interesting article on how the US can learn from Finland...
                http://www.mlive.com/education/index.ssf/2011/06/should_us_schools_follow_best.html

A quote from the new education minister, Mr Heng.

'We want our education system to be student-centric.

I want to understand more deeply the experience of the students, the interaction in schools, the experience of the teacher and student leaders, and to hopefully begin to design the prototypes so that we can look at where the experiments are, which ones have worked well,' Mr Heng said.

I hope he is able to work out a system whereby textbooks used in schools are able to give sufficient information for primary students to at least be able to pass. Although many schools want parents to work together with them, not many parents are able to, much as they want to.

Teachers are a stressed-out lot, measured by their performances. I strongly believe they want their students to be able to understand what is taught, and do well.
                  To be student-centric, perhaps the MOE should keep class size to 30 (like P1/2). Why should class size increase at P3...when subjects are much tougher and also with introduction of Science ??

SAHM_TAN

Hi Chenonceau,

I've signed the online petition. :celebrate:

Hope we will be invited for tea with the minister :evil:

Chenonceau

Hi Chenonceau,

Someone from MOE invited me to lunch. We had a long talk. They seem to be doing something so I'm just gonna leave this alone for a bit. These things need time.

SAHM Tan, you've been a wonderful support. Thank you!!

RRMummy

Hi Chenonceau,

Someone from MOE invited me to lunch. We had a long talk. They seem to be doing something so I'm just gonna leave this alone for a bit. These things need time.

SAHM Tan, you've been a wonderful support. Thank you!!

Hi Chenonceau,

welcome back..

Looks like it is making progress.

:congrats: and :thankyou:

:udawoman:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 66 / 80

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog