Throwing Tantrum

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    130 Posts 35 Posters 42.2k Views 1 Watching
      poppy15

Oppsgal:

So next time my kid throw empty water pen at me, I throw back and scream like the toddler?

:dancing:

and roll on the floor crying, let them have a feel of it :laugh:
      🦆 :siam:

dun throw it back. throw it another direction & ask \" anymore to throw?... throw more & you will have no more. i'm not going to buy for you anymore if u dont know how to control \"

sometimes i do this : if DD or DS throws something at me in a fit of anger, even that item doesnt hit me, i will quietly pick it up & threw it into the rubbish chute, rubbish chute ar, not waste paper basket

then i will give them a wide eye look, hands on my hips, daring them to throw more.

after 2 or 3 times, they eventually learn mummy's not easy to fight with :imcool:

puff

Oppsgal:
        So next time my kid throw empty water pen at me, I throw back and scream like the toddler?

::
        If my DD want me to do something for her and is rude , I will be rude to her too then ask her how she feels when I behave this way.

So if DD would to throw pen at me I would throw it back( but i wont scream like a toddler ) then ask her if she like being treated this way.

poppy15

wow fierce mommy. i also scare :scared:

donch play play... :laugh:

poppy15

[quote=\"WCW\"]wow fierce mommy. i also scare :scared:

donch play play... :laugh:

okok, i will be good mommy :scared:[/quote]ooi, :offtopic: liao :spank:
            :laugh:

sunflowerseed84

woah u all r strict parents. sometimes i see parents either not knowing what to do or just throw the kids to maid/grandparents when their kids throw temper and kick up a big fuss in public.

i think some of us may become too protective and 'soft' compared to the older generations. *still remember how strict parents in the past used to be. :scared:

Angelight

Smurf, I happened to chance on your post and thot I would share here.

I don’t know how old your son is, but have you tried ‘time-out’ or even ignore him when he threw his tantrums at you so as to let him know bad behavior will not be paid attention to?

After he has calmed down, then try talking or reasoning with him. If all else fails, maybe it’s best you bring him to a child counsellor who can assess his temperament and solutions to manage his anger issue.

It’s better to nick the problem in the bud when the child is younger. It’d be harder to counsel and change the behavior of the child when he grows older. Hope my suggestion helps.

smurf

Hi Angel,

My boy is already in p1. So time out And some of the methods dun work anymore. And I dun believe in asking a child to sit in a chair doing nothing. As I mentioned before, I tried all kind of methods, soft or hard, cane or not, all dun work. So I'm just waiting patiently for him to stop all these nonsense.

Ignoring dun work either. Because when I ignore him, he ignore me back. He will still talk to me after that, but he will buay gam wan, as if I'm in the wrong! 🤷

Time out will work for younger child, but definitely not for older kid. Because even if u ignore him or her, they will find other things to do. They dun need so much attention as the younger ones.

The thing about him is, he doesn't think first before shouting. He doesn't wait first before talking. He just blast, after that when he think it over, he knows he is wrong, but he will not apologize, I think partly is because of pride. I told him, if he is angry,dun shout, count to 5 or 10. But every time, he forgets.

smurf

About the throwing of toys…hmm, if I throw away toys, he will cry very super loud and after that, he will ignore me. But after few days, he will forget about the incident, and then the saga will repeat again.

Actually, some of the methods work, but only for a short period of time, maybe just for a day, then after that, it’s back to square one again.

• O Offline
                      Oppsgal

dun throw it back. throw it another direction & ask \" anymore to throw?... throw more & you will have no more. i'm not going to buy for you anymore if u dont know how to control \"

sometimes i do this : if DD or DS throws something at me in a fit of anger, even that item doesnt hit me, i will quietly pick it up & threw it into the rubbish chute, rubbish chute ar, not waste paper basket

then i will give them a wide eye look, hands on my hips, daring them to throw more.

after 2 or 3 times, they eventually learn mummy's not easy to fight with :imcool:

wow fierce mommy. i also scare :scared:

then wasted the toy. haha... should ask the gurang guni man to pick them up before you throw. :rotflmao:

• O Offline
                        Oppsgal

smurf:
                        Hi Angel,

My boy is already in p1. So time out And some of the methods dun work anymore. And I dun believe in asking a child to sit in a chair doing nothing. As I mentioned before, I tried all kind of methods, soft or hard, cane or not, all dun work. So I'm just waiting patiently for him to stop all these nonsense.

Ignoring dun work either. Because when I ignore him, he ignore me back. He will still talk to me after that, but he will buay gam wan, as if I'm in the wrong! 🤷

Time out will work for younger child, but definitely not for older kid. Because even if u ignore him or her, they will find other things to do. They dun need so much attention as the younger ones.

The thing about him is, he doesn't think first before shouting. He doesn't wait first before talking. He just blast, after that when he think it over, he knows he is wrong, but he will not apologize, I think partly is because of pride. I told him, if he is angry,dun shout, count to 5 or 10. But every time, he forgets.
                        Cut off his pocket money, cut off his tv show and go to sleep early.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 13

Polaris888P
                        Polaris888