All About Preparing For Primary One

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    1.3k Posts 228 Posters 766.2k Views 1 Watching
      tamarind

JR:
      Totally agree with you. My son attended Han Yu Pin Yin class that was conducted by the kindergarten chinese teacher as my husband and I does not speak much Mandarin at home. Other then this we did not sign him up for other classes. We just do lots of reading on different topics and activities that are of interest to him. Our preparation is more on teaching him to be more independent and what to expect in Primary School. It is better to cultivate a learning culture rather than hot housing the kid with too many enrichment class.
      Parents should focus in teaching kids to be able to read independently in both English and Chinese before entering P1. If the child is able to read and understand long chapter books in both English and Chinese, then she basically does not have to spend time learning languages in P1 and P2.

For Chinese, teaching hanyu pinyin is not enough. Even if a child is very good in hanyu pinyin, if she cannot read Chinese books independently, she will suffer from P3 onwards when she has to write compositions. Remember that we are not only preparing our kids for P1, we are preparing them for the many years of learning ahead of them. The key is to make sure that they are very good in both languages, and the best time to learn is before 6 years old.

The only way for a child to be good in Chinese, is to read as many interesting story books as possible. Otherwise, the child will never be good in Chinese, even if she is very good in hanyu pinyin, or even if she has completed all the Chinese assessment books in Popular bookshop. Most parents have the misconception that hanyu pinyin will help in learning Chinese, in fact, hanyu pinyin can actually hinder learning, if we only let the child read books with hanyu pinyin.

tamarind

Just to clarify that it is not difficult to teach a child to read and understand long chapter books in both English and Chinese before the age of 7. It does not mean that we need to hothouse the kids. There are good resources that we can use, and we only need to spend a short time every day to teach the kids, provided we start from 3 years old. The age between 3 to 6 is the best time to learn languages. In fact, this is the best way to ensure that our kids enjoy their childhood.

Also, teaching a child to read well in both languages, is not only about preparing them for P1, or aiming for high marks. A child who is good in languages will be well equipped for life long learning. A child who can read well can also learn independently, and they can discover really fun and exciting worlds as they read.

nowadays, P1 Maths are tricky. Require higher order thinking.

read on:-
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum ... &start=940

Champion

Hello,

Do not know whether am I posting in the correct thread πŸ˜‰ but like to share & learn from all parents here :celebrate:

My DD2 will be P1 in 2012 and we are more kan cheong for her than DD1 especially Chinese as we always joking tease my DD2 \"eat potatoes\" category :lol: . DD2 speaks English most of the time at home and in school, it is also her 1st choice to speak with her classmates. So, I am preparing her as well as myself for the \"new thing\" coming soon....... :rahrah:

Last week, I was teaching her Chinese using a K2 assessment book as a reference and I was,\"Oh, my gosh! K2's Chinese also so cheemmmmm!\" :yikes: Upload a few pages here to share with you all πŸ†’ http://i53.tinypic.com/flldol.jpg\"> http://i52.tinypic.com/2ilinft.jpg\">http://i55.tinypic.com/2198jki.jpg\"> http://i55.tinypic.com/2irq3ap.jpg\">

Brenda10

Hello,

Do not know whether am I posting in the correct thread πŸ˜‰ but like to share & learn from all parents here :celebrate:

My DD2 will be P1 in 2012 and we are more kan cheong for her than DD1 especially Chinese as we always joking tease my DD2 \"eat potatoes\" category :lol: . DD2 speaks English most of the time at home and in school, it is also her 1st choice to speak with her classmates. So, I am preparing her as well as myself for the \"new thing\" coming soon....... :rahrah:

Last week, I was teaching her Chinese using a K2 assessment book as a reference and I was,\"Oh, my gosh! K2's Chinese also so cheemmmmm!\" :yikes: Upload a few pages here to share with you all πŸ†’ http://i53.tinypic.com/flldol.jpg\"> http://i52.tinypic.com/2ilinft.jpg\">http://i55.tinypic.com/2198jki.jpg\"> http://i55.tinypic.com/2irq3ap.jpg\">
              Wow. Her hand writting are very neat. Really impressive. :love:

Champion

Brenda10:

Wow. Her hand writting are very neat. Really impressive. :love:
                Hi Brenda,
                Thanks for the compliment :love: ....

I did not go straight into P1 Chinese assessment book as I was reminded by friends and also parents here (Janet Lee, Plum-Cake) not to rush into getting her to start the P1 syllabus as that might kill her interest πŸ˜‰ .

But when I sat down to do this K2 assessment book with her, I was like,\"errrr....cheemmmm leh!\" Then my P3 DD1 \"trying to help\" translate all the sea creatures names into English and started telling DD2 about what is mammal, sea-horse has no backbone....etc..etc...And she was into P3 Science with her sister! :laugh:

Then the next topic on ηΎŽδΈ½ηš„θŠ±θ‰ζ ‘ζœ¨ - where they have the picture showing the different parts of the plants. Again, my DD1 started her story on it and translated on the terms into English! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Guess, it is a good thing too - kill 2 birds with one stone - teaching Chinese and Science at the same time :hi5:

Castle House

Hi

Did anyone teach their children how to recognise $$?

Oso how much did you give now as allowance?

Pen88n

We started by giving DD a $1 coin, though she could already calculate $$ before starting P1. However, it is better to give them $1 or $1 + $0.50. The canteen vendor will help these P1s. You can also start them by letting them take $$ to buy things when you are out with them.

poppy15

my ils runs a hardware business so sometimes they get DS & DD to help sell stuff. Simple tasks like when an item cost $2 and the customer gives a $5 note, we ask DS (the elder one) to calculate the change to return the customer. ( training him in his add or sub skills)

then if an item cost maybe like $0.70 & the customer gives $1 coin, we ask DD (the younger one) to see what & what coin = the amt to give back. ( sometimes with DS helping her)

training her to differentiate between the types of coins: $0.05, $0.10, $0.20, $0.50 & $1.00. she knows all of them by hard now.

For DS, its more on training & practise. For DD, it more of exposure & a little training πŸ˜„

• bigsnoopyB Offline
                        bigsnoopy

Pen88n:
                        We started by giving DD a $1 coin, though she could already calculate $$ before starting P1. However, it is better to give them $1 or $1 + $0.50. The canteen vendor will help these P1s. You can also start them by letting them take $$ to buy things when you are out with them.

Is $1 enough to eat a meal? I have no idea at all as I have not been to a primary school in 20 years.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 72 / 131