[Bukit Merah] Primary Schools

4.6k Posts 420 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      KSmommy

Hi hi.

My boy’s due to be in P1 next year and I’ve done PV for both RMPS and River Valley Pri Sch (RVPS). Both schools are about 2km from where I stay. RVPS was my initial 1st choice (direct buses). But this school has became quite popular in recent years, and if need balloting at phase 2b, quite hard to get in since I stay >2km from RV.

Just like to hear from parents which school will u choose (if u were in my shoes).

titank

KSmommy,

No matter what RVPS do not have any direct buses right at outside the school gate as compare with RMPS. RVPS located in the city area therefore consider to be popular among with foreigners. RMPS located in HDB estate so may have different level playing filed.

I would recommend RMPS to be a safer bet!

Crystal Poh

KSmommy,

So what kind of voluntary services did you provide at RMPS?

I think it will be very stressful for kids in RVPS. Most parents should be quite well to do. This would also provide lotsa stress for both parents and child. That is why I am seriously not considering RVPS.

KSmommy

Hi titank,

Thanks for your advice. Will consider that.

Hi Crystal,
            I helped prepare powerpoint slides, word documents for a teacher.
            Yes, well-to-do parents/kids at RVPS is what will be expected. 1 of the kids told my PV friend to fan her (cos she’s hot) when they’re out at excursion, ridiculous.

Which school are you considering?

Crystal Poh

KSMommy,

So you did all those things in school? Heard that its abt 1hr per week.

Frankly speaking, children nowadays are more pampered compared to our time.

Am seriously thinking abt RMPS. It is nearer to my house and I also dun want my son to spend too many time travelling to and fro. Preferred to spend more quality time with him.

You might not agreed with me. But I rather he be the top few students in a not so well known school than the last few students in a top school. It will really stress him out and turn him off.

KSmommy

Hi Crystal,

If RMPS is nearer to where u stay, then it’s a good choice for u, really. Just like u, I prefer less stressful school for my kids. I came from a SAP primary school, but I won’t put my kids there cos of distant and its higher standards. Hey, but RMPS is quite well known lei, hee…

I had the choice to do my PV at home… type & type, type till my keyboard kena jam. Haha. Now still tying up some loose ends for the teacher. But the teacher is nice & encouraging, so I don’t mind.

Both RVPS and RMPS are about the same distance from my place. There’re 2 direct buses to RVPS but none to RMPS. I thinking ahead when my boys are in upper primary & won’t be taking school bus. Hmmm…

• qmsQ Offline
                  qms

Crystal Poh:
                  am really new here... How do I get the box thing to reply to a particular person???

There is a \"Quote\" button on the right bottom of every post. Just click on the quote button, and type you message after the \"[/quote]\" script in the editor.

Crystal Poh

KSmommy:
                    Hi Crystal,

If RMPS is nearer to where u stay, then it's a good choice for u, really. Just like u, I prefer less stressful school for my kids. I came from a SAP primary school, but I won't put my kids there cos of distant and its higher standards. Hey, but RMPS is quite well known lei, hee...

I had the choice to do my PV at home... type & type, type till my keyboard kena jam. Haha. Now still tying up some loose ends for the teacher. But the teacher is nice & encouraging, so I don't mind.

Both RVPS and RMPS are about the same distance from my place. There're 2 direct buses to RVPS but none to RMPS. I thinking ahead when my boys are in upper primary & won't be taking school bus. Hmmm....
                    Morning KSMommy,

hahaha.. coz there aint any better schools as compared to RMPS in our area! But heard that Zhangde also not bad. Zhangde is walking distant to my house.

Since you are doing PV for both schools and there are direct buses to RVPS, then you should choose RVPS instead. That is what I think lah. Moreover, I think that RVPS is a better sch compared to RMPS. Hmmm.. but guess the stress level will be definitely higher.

I would definitely choose RVPS if given your situation. 😄

Crystal Poh

There is a \"Quote\" button on the right bottom of every post.
                      :thankyou:

titank

Generally to put it simple, both RVPS & RMPS are well sought schools in the Bukit Merah & Central area. In terms of Chinese language standard, RVPS have a better edge compare with RMPS. In summary, the Chinese standard are as follow (Reference from 1 of the Chinese language teacher)

(1)\tRiver Valley Primary (Highest in Chinese Standard)
                        (2)\tRadin Mas Primary ( 2nd highest)
                        (3)\tZhangde Primary (3rd highest)
                        (4)\t CHIJ (Kellock) (The lowest in Chinese standard)

I have yet to verify the std from Blangah Rise, Gan Eng Seng Pri & the newly Cantonment Primary. So parents may want to use this parameter as part of their evaluation process. How I wish RMPS have a much higher Chinese standard & heritage as much like RVPS.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 165 / 460

excellencetuitionacademyE
                        excellencetuitionacademy
                        AieshaA
                        Aiesha