P2 Math - General Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 2
    1.1k Posts 177 Posters 556.7k Views 1 Watching
      RRMummy

Suddenly makes me feel like eating cream puff and durian puff now..

It is inhumane to set such questions for lower primary.
      🤷
      Anyway, if I go back to P6 now, I will fail my Maths miserably :slapshead:
      I think me too.. :nailbite:

• KissguramiK Offline
        Kissgurami

RRMummy:

heuristic , i thought it starts in P4 :rant:

rosemummy, would you be ok to share which pri sch this is...?

First test in P1 back in March already kena heuristics question dy... no chance to wait till P4..

psstt.. me RRMummy not rosemummy šŸ˜‰ It's a school in the west, so you are safe šŸ˜‰

ahhh sorry RRmummy, so embarrassing *fixing my cross eyed eyes back * :oops:

Scary, wonder if other primary schools does such questions for their papers..... :sad: , worried as my DD1 takes a while for a concept to sink in hence such questions worries me for her...

• Y Offline
          Yong HL

It is inhumane to set such questions for lower primary.

agree totally. usually i skip the \"inhumane\" (aka challenging) section of the assessment books. So long she can tackle most \"standard\" questions from various schools, i happy liao :boogie:

RRMummy

ahhh sorry RRmummy, so embarrassing *fixing my cross eyed eyes back * :oops:
            No worries dear :snuggles:
            Scary, wonder if other primary schools does such questions for their papers..... :sad: , worried as my DD1 takes a while for a concept to sink in hence such questions worries me for her...
            learn like me to manage expectation lor.. I have no intention to stress DD beyond her readiness to attempt this type of questions. See in exam will explain to her if she can attempt similar question in the future, bonus, if not then it is still alright.

What made me :mad: :slapshead: was because she got super upset and cried after taking this exam paper coz she doesn't know what the question wants. And now looking at the question, what can I say... :gloomy:

RRMummy:

huh, instead of asking hw many puffs of each flavor in each box become hw many ways can she put

actually i donch understand this question at all 🤷

it's a heuristic question. All the possible combis from 7 cream puff + 1 durian puff to other way round. all in 7 possible ways.

But it really is a higher order question for a P1 lor.. such a long winded question, further more child has to also process the \"in order to at least have one each\".

haiz.. I don't know what to say abt the exams these days.. :frustrated:

RRMummy,
              kids with a poorer grasp of english may not understand this question, but once they are taught this 'type' of questions, they should be able to spot similar ones.
              I think these type of questions is 'common' in some other school's P1 past year papers; I remember seeing these type of questions when my ds1 was in P1 (eg Peter has 2 shirts and 3 shorts, how many ways can he mix and match his attire? etc). For P1, guide your kid to draw out the different scenerios. Workings in the sense of 1:7, 2:6 is not crucial if the kid can illustrate (using picture/diagram) how he can derive at the answer.

RRMummy

RRMummy,

kids with a poorer grasp of english may not understand this question, but once they are taught this 'type' of questions, they should be able to spot similar ones.
                I think these type of questions is 'common' in some other school's P1 past year papers; I remember seeing these type of questions when my ds1 was in P1 (eg Peter has 2 shirts and 3 shorts, how many ways can he mix and match his attire? etc). For P1, guide your kid to draw out the different scenerios. Workings in the sense of 1:7, 2:6 is not crucial if the kid can illustrate (using picture/diagram) how he can derive at the answer.
                Hi jedamum,

I also think it is also really testing English and an analytical mind.

You are right. She had trouble understanding the question and she actually attempted drawing but gave up. Yes, she is able to get the mix and match answer correctly in one of our practices but definitely not before this type of questions was introduced...

I have no choice but to come to terms with the fact that school nowadays love to throw in questions they have not taught yet.. :roll: Until I'm thrown another type in the next round.. :scared:

:imdrowning: For my boy in P5, he is struggling with problem sums...failed CA1 & SA1. As for my girl in P1, hubby is trying to ramp up her concepts and trying to explain to her that 'more than' doesn't necessarily mean addition. Actually, I am a total failure :sick: where Maths is concerned, esp now with the play of English.

RRMummy

:imdrowning: For my boy in P5, he is struggling with problem sums...failed CA1 & SA1. As for my girl in P1, hubby is trying to ramp up her concepts and trying to explain to her that 'more than' doesn't necessarily mean addition. Actually, I am a total failure :sick: where Maths is concerned, esp now with the play of English.

:snuggles: I can imagine your stress. Don't be so hard on yourself :snuggles:

Champion

Janet,
                      加油! We are all here to help and cheer each other on :grphug: .....We all with kids in the primary level have already gone through the last 5 months so hang on, half more to go :imcool: :imcool:

:imdrowning: For my boy in P5, he is struggling with problem sums...failed CA1 & SA1.

Janet,
                        加油! We are all here to help and cheer each other on :grphug: .....We all with kids in the primary level have already gone through the last 5 months so hang on, half more to go :imcool: :imcool:

Champion,
                        I dread to think of next year. One in P6 facing PSLE...the younger one has SA2. My hair already turned white. Next year, son may even need intensive coaching :moneyflies:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 98 / 108