My maid who is now with us for 6 yrs already. She is also ex-sing. When she first started work for me, I asked her if she knows how to cook. She said yes. So I told her ok, then you decide what we will have for dinner and from there we guage her cooking. Lucky for us, she is a fairly good cook. Only thing is she rather heavy handed when it comes to adding salt and sugar. Had to keep reminding her. Until now, still have to tell her if you think this pot needs 1tsp, pls put only 1/2 tsp.
She has initiative, sometimes too much but these are things that I can live with. Yes it can get frustrating cos she geh kiang and in the end I have to undo what she has done but for all the positive attitude and skills that she has, I am willing to work with this aspect of hers. No such thing as perfection, we just need to adjust our expectations and work around other stuff. -
:goodpost: agree. actually sounds like mine too.....but fortunately, she scared of the SIR, so SIR wants less salty, she changed quite fast :lol:My maid who is now with us for 6 yrs already. She is also ex-sing. When she first started work for me, I asked her if she knows how to cook. She said yes. So I told her ok, then you decide what we will have for dinner and from there we guage her cooking. Lucky for us, she is a fairly good cook. Only thing is she rather heavy handed when it comes to adding salt and sugar. Had to keep reminding her. Until now, still have to tell her if you think this pot needs 1tsp, pls put only 1/2 tsp.
She has initiative, sometimes too much but these are things that I can live with. Yes it can get frustrating cos she geh kiang and in the end I have to undo what she has done but for all the positive attitude and skills that she has, I am willing to work with this aspect of hers. No such thing as perfection, we just need to adjust our expectations and work around other stuff.
Yes, no perfect human, adjust and work around it. Recently as my FIL becomes frail and needs assistance, I have started to appreciate her more. How many willing to dig butts, clean pee and sai a few times a day.....caregivers are very tough job. Personally, I can't...... -
Hi, actually I am very particular about the meals been prepare for my family so I would still prefer to teach her how to cook my usual dishes and hopefully she get learn fast then I can let go for her to in-charge. I’m a SAHM so sometimes certain dishes which need special seasoning and so on then I would prepare myself. This is how I do it with my previous Philo maid. She usually would see and observe how I prepare the meal and slowly can cook quite up to my standard. Now, this Indo maid is quite forgetful and she also needs to write down the recipe for all my dishes but still can’t get it right till now. Also very poor in estimating how much oil and so on.
She said that she can cook but I am not prepare to try her dishes yet cos she can’t even cook what I teach her so how to trust her. As what I had mentioned, if she refuse to follow my instruction, she would never learn.
Btw, another question, is your maid fussy about the meal you all prepare everyday and what about eating at restaurant and food court. I find that my maid do. There was one occasion after 2 weeks with us, we were out for dinner. We all had udon for dinner and as she was feeding my boy, we did not order for her first. Btw, we did ask her what she prefer and she said anything, she just refuse to specifically point to the menu what she really wants to eat. After that, my husband thinking that Indo people may like to eat rice and chicken so he go and buy a plate of rice with chicken in gravy for her. Well, what an expression we see on her face upon seeing that plate of rice. Her face immediately sank down and she eat the rice with such an attitude like you know when you can’t get what you want and yet had to swallow down what you don’t want, that kind of expression and body language. My dh and I were actually taken aback and since then, we made sure that she will eat the same with either one of us, then she got nothing to complain on her face. Till now, that attitude of her still irk me.
We never had such issue with our previous maid. When in restaurant, she can choose from the menu but she never cross the line, and in foodcourt, we give her the money to buy her own food. She was very humble and slow she had gain our trust and we also appreciate her more and even dont mine paying for a good meal for her. -
Hi ,
Can anyone advise me whether you have got a maid thr this POEA thing. the agent say that employer has to sign an employment contract stating S$600 plus off days to go thr this POEA (for Philippines side). But this type of contract is for 'show' in PHilippines to get them come over. After that, they will based on the agency employment contract done (for employer n FDW) which was the original salary for eg. $420 with 1 day as agreed.
Has anybody signed this type of contract? Is there a risk involved.
If not convenient to discuss here, can pls kindly emial me [email protected]. Thank u so much! -
Anna Ng:
My Prev-Prev Maid is Better ....Awonder:
I will let my maid decides what to cook. She has been with us for 10 months and she know what we (all my family members) like and dislike. Since it is quite hard to serve everybody well, she will make sure all of us at least have a dish to eat. For example, if she cooks curry, she will prepare nuggets or another non spicy food for my children. Now i even let her to do marketing.
When she just came, we need to teach her how to cook, but after showing her once, she is able to catch up fast, but sometimes need to give advices for improvement lor. I always advise her to learn as much as she can, then she can open a food stall when she going back to her own country.
After Staying with us for 10 years ....
When She Go Back Indo ....
She .... Open Restaurant!
And She Does Not Even Know How to Cook Rice when she Arrive in Spore!
:lol: :lol: -
Maybe she purposely not do right at ur place.. just learn learn then later go back open restaurant..[/quote]No la!
My Prev-Prev Maid is Better ....Funx3:
[quote=\"Anna Ng\"]Awonder:
I will let my maid decides what to cook. She has been with us for 10 months and she know what we (all my family members) like and dislike. Since it is quite hard to serve everybody well, she will make sure all of us at least have a dish to eat. For example, if she cooks curry, she will prepare nuggets or another non spicy food for my children. Now i even let her to do marketing.
When she just came, we need to teach her how to cook, but after showing her once, she is able to catch up fast, but sometimes need to give advices for improvement lor. I always advise her to learn as much as she can, then she can open a food stall when she going back to her own country.
After Staying with us for 10 years ....
When She Go Back Indo ....
She .... Open Restaurant!
And She Does Not Even Know How to Cook Rice when she Arrive in Spore!
:lol: :lol:
We teach her to Cook .... from scratch!
My Kids still miss her cooking now ....
Coz Nowadays ....
I No Energy to teach the New Maid ....
And New Maid also .... Not very Teach-able .... So No Mood -liao ....
:sad: :sad: -
Ppl Boss Already, where got want to come back to work as maid ....
Ah okkk..Funx3:
No la!
We teach her to Cook .... from scratch!
My Kids still miss her cooking now ....
Coz Nowadays ....
I No Energy to teach the New Maid ....
And New Maid also .... Not very Teach-able .... So No Mood -liao ....
:sad: :sad:
call her back lah :idea:
Also she Go Back to Get Married ~2 yrs back ....
Her Mum Scold during that time -liao ....
I think is good for them to learn some skills here (eg. cooking) so that they can upgrade and do something better when they return home. My maid will be taking some computer lessons during her off days from next month onwards.
tigger88:
I think is good for them to learn some skills here (eg. cooking) so that they can upgrade and do something better when they return home. My maid will be taking some computer lessons during her off days from next month onwards.
Unfortunately, Most Maids R Taking Beginner's Lesson here in Spore .... At our Expense ....
Their Dream Job is in Taiwan, Hong Kong, etc
Got More Pay .... Esp if they R ex-SPore.
We R ALL Good Training Agencies ....
:sad: :sad: -
For some is true lah. My maid knows that she will get better salary in HK. But also know the risks involve (unable to transfer in case she or employer terminates the contract) so she rather stays in Spore.tigger88:
Unfortunately, Most Maids R Taking Beginner's Lesson here in Spore .... At our Expense ....
Their Dream Job is in Taiwan, Hong Kong, etc
Got More Pay .... Esp if they R ex-SPore.
We R ALL Good Training Agencies ....
:sad: :sad:
Anyway, she is paying for her own course so i dun mind letting her attend the lessons using her own day offs. No difference for me.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.