2011 P1 Registration Exercise for 2012 In-Take

3.1k Posts 327 Posters 903.5k Views 1 Watching

think from the view point of yr son.

6 yrs later from P1 - in 2017, when yr son prepares PSLE, he is peaceful, tend to be calm and composed, so tend to perform better, bec there is a good affliated CHS Secondary school waiting for him anytime, with much lower PSLE score entry required to enter. Compared to situation whereby if he enters TN, both yr parental stress level and his so high. die die must score minimum points, before can enter good Secondary school.

even if yr son decide not to go CHS Secondary, he can still choose to go other schools like RI, HCI, etc.

time passes swiftly! Day by day pass by very fast. Next yr 2012 yr son only P1 … before you know it, he’s already P6.

if really must go TN - if enter by main front door is so risky, tough & so competitive, then try back door. Enter CHS first, then slowly ask for transfer to TN.

• tankeeT Offline
        tankee

ralf2:

Pls help all extra experienced kiasu parents, let me share my good yet Bad dilemma, im a cat high old boy yet live 1km from tao nan, im desperate for him to go to tao nan but very very afraid of failing in ballot as i would possibly end up with big time nothing. My kiasu game plan is to register at cat high first and then see if phase 2c is overregistered to decide if i wanna try... can everyone pls help reply assist watever me as im really desperate with one week to registration left!!!! SOS!!! everyone ive asked has given me different answers but im really worried my boy has to travel 40 mins by car to school if we go chs... pls pls gve me some advice...

tao nan is over-registered most of the time

question to answer by yourself - you like to take chances of a balloting for phase 2c in tao nan when you already secured a place in chs at earlier phase since you are alumni ?

can move house to save travel time

agreed with verykaisu2010, competition for available spaces in phase 2C at Tao Nan will be very steep as per other years. Balloting will be for within 1km.

• E Offline
          eileenp

Hey BigDevil,

I’ve called St. Gabriels and MOE this morning.

St. Gabriels mentioned that they will help to search for my husband’s records which is great.

But at the same time, I’ll also get the PSLE results from MOE, just in case.

Thanks all mummies for your help!

mummy of 3

coffeedrinker:
            Hi Parent,

I do not have original Sales & Purchase agreement for my Yet-to-complete Property. Certified True copy is ok??
            Called lawyer, bank, developer.. no one willing to give me the Original.

Any kind soul has similar/heard of this?
            Mine also duplicate copy not original. But i call MOE and they say at least must certified true copy from HDB, can liao. I already got the letter from HDB and call the school. The school say its ok. Hope don't bluff me or i will :faint:

mummy of 3

ralf2:
              Pls help all extra experienced kiasu parents, let me share my good yet Bad dilemma, im a cat high old boy yet live 1km from tao nan, im desperate for him to go to tao nan but very very afraid of failing in ballot as i would possibly end up with big time nothing. My kiasu game plan is to register at cat high first and then see if phase 2c is overregistered to decide if i wanna try... can everyone pls help reply assist watever me as im really desperate with one week to registration left!!!! SOS!!! everyone ive asked has given me different answers but im really worried my boy has to travel 40 mins by car to school if we go chs... pls pls gve me some advice...

Hi ralf,

Maybe u want to enrol in CHS in P2A 1st then monitor TNS in P2C. Don't take the risk or your child will end up in P2C supp. Think carefully

BigDevil

eileenp:
                Hey BigDevil,

I've called St. Gabriels and MOE this morning.

St. Gabriels mentioned that they will help to search for my husband's records which is great.

But at the same time, I'll also get the PSLE results from MOE, just in case.

Thanks all mummies for your help!
                Good choice! Better be safe than sorry.
                Don't count on the school....they might not be able to find the record.

All the best! :xedfingers:

janet_let88:

Pei Hwa, Henry Park and RGPS

TQ. many parents will be upset

I put myself in the shoes of these parents, I will also be very disappointed. Granted with 390 vacancies, NYPS can't increase anymore. But I thought that if they cut 1 class from RGPS, then they should increase 1 class in MGS and if cut 1 class from both HP & PH, then at least increase 2 classes in BTPS to compensate. If can't increase, then don't cut.

What happened to encouraging our kids to study near their homes? Actually parents in BT area have all along been very fortunate to have 6 really good schs to choose from, but it got so much tougher this yr.[/quote]

Even though I've passed the stage of P1 registration, I feel sad for the parents who have to register their kids this year with the reduction of classes.

6 yrs later from P1 - in 2017, when yr son prepares PSLE, he is peaceful, tend to be calm and composed, so tend to perform better, bec there is a good affliated CHS Secondary school waiting for him anytime, with much lower PSLE score entry required to enter. Compared to situation whereby if he enters TN, both yr parental stress level and his so high. die die must score minimum points, before can enter good Secondary school.

time passes swiftly! Day by day pass by very fast. Next yr 2012 yr son only P1 … before you know it, he’s already P6.
                    I strongly agree.
                    Since ralf2's child has priority at Catholic High under Phase 2A, why not register there ? I am one who believe in affiliation...Catholic High has good secondary school. 6 years passes very fast.
                    My son is going to P6 next year...and he will have to work very hard to get into a sec school of his choice. As for my younger daughter, I've registered her in my former school and praying hard :xedfingers: the affiliation still stays by the time she goes to P6.

JonC

ralf2:

What dilemma?

This is a no brainer answer to your dilemma, pick CHS and forget about TN. Don't waste time in your dilemma. Even if I stay in JB also will choose CHS.

Old boys must send DS to own school mah. Are you from the queen street time? Got bad experience during your school days?

My DS is Sec 1 now, 7th year in the school. You will not regret. Come to the home coming / fun fair in Jul 2011 and see the school for yourself.

JonC

Just check the MOE Website.

Wow. This year CHS has 1 extra class compare to last year. Maybe due to last year’s popular demand of 9 places left in 2B and 9 places left in 2C.

Previous years of 210 students 7 classes (A to G, now with class names) from P1 to P3, 2 more classes of GEP normally added at P4 (A to H) with the P1 to P3 class cut down by 1 in P4 (A to F).

So now with increase, it will be 8 classes from P1 to P6.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 109 / 311

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo