How to tell if a child is gifted?
Every child is gifted with their own talents & should pursue these talents. talents may not show immediately, but u will soon realise his/her potential as the child grows older. Some kids are good at studies , others artistically/ musically-inclined.
Every child is special and should be given time to realise their potential. Of course, I also cannot agree more that a gifted child ought to have a happy life.Cheers!:D -
Certainly agree that every child needs to explore where his talent lies and parents to give that emotional support. The current school system is not for everyone and many feel stifled by it.
My youngest sister struggled through secondary school cos Math & Sciences are simply not her cup of tea. After O levels, I encouraged her to go to Arts School for a diploma. She’s doing very well and even got a scholarship. But not many youngsters have the support to veer from the traditional path. -
This post is very interesting and very informative. Am putting this thread up so that I do not hv to search for this .... I can't finish reading all the postings at one go ( most likely will take days ! ) & hope to be able to locate this fast from where I hv stopped early .... Sorry dun know how to use bookmark ! :oops:
my child’s teacher once told me that children who can draw quite well tend to have higher IQs. how true is that? as in…can see that they have advanced development in terms of drawing and not simply doodling lines.
I know itz norm for children aged 3 to be able to recognize the alphabet and count (not rote count, but meaningfully) but i know itz not norm for them to write clear letters and numbers. im referring to all these for children who have not received formal ‘training’ but more of through observation of teachers and minimal teaching.
any comments on these? -
deardear07:
my child's teacher once told me that children who can draw quite well tend to have higher IQs. how true is that? as in...can see that they have advanced development in terms of drawing and not simply doodling lines.
I know itz norm for children aged 3 to be able to recognize the alphabet and count (not rote count, but meaningfully) but i know itz not norm for them to write clear letters and numbers. im referring to all these for children who have not received formal 'training' but more of through observation of teachers and minimal teaching.
any comments on these?
Drawing? Really? No wonder none of our older kids are gifted. None of them, esp the boys, like drawing and certainly not colouring. They think those are the most \"wu liao\" activities to do. They'd rather be running around and playing and fighting or fixing lego stuff - generally ends up being vehicles or some sort of warcraft.
Along the same lines, our 3yo also doesn't like drawing or colouring. -
That’s pretty interesting to me, too. Hm… my boys draw well for their age, but it has never occurred to me that that has anything to do with IQ.
Let’s see, the smartest man on earth to me is Leonardo Da Vinci. He draws really well and has an incredible scientific mind as well. So perhaps there is a grain of truth in that.
But Einstein, the smartest man on earth to many is not known to draw. So I don’t know.
Perhaps if a kid can draw at a very young age, it is a sign of their mental maturity and observation, but artists can be trained. My younger daughter loves to draw but nothing looks good enough to her or to any one of us. She gives them out as presents anyway, and I admire that about her. Recently, she told me she wanted to pursue a visual arts degree and I flipped. I think my reaction hurt her. To some extent, I don’t think she draws well when young, but she colours beautifully. So, if the ability to draw is an indication of her IQ, I think we should be quite worried.
There you have it. I don’t really know. But I do enjoy every piece of art my boys/girls bring to me. They are nice to look at, speak their thoughts, and the little one also brings home some trophies from school, even without ever attending an art class. We are just so happy to be able to share that part of their lives. -
karmeleon:
My 3yo also doesn't like drawing or colouring. At most, he can draw circles and squares and make his circles spiral with a stick and say it's lollipops. He can write his numbers though, but not so much his alphabets and hasn't tried writing Chinese yet. However, he can read well in EL&CL and play musical instruments.
Along the same lines, our 3yo also doesn't like drawing or colouring. -
And some say that musically trained kids have high IQs… heh heh heh… so, draw? music? numbers? lego? read? Why guess?
2ppaamm:
And some say that musically trained kids have high IQs... heh heh heh... so, draw? music? numbers? lego? read? Why guess?
Yah lor. But anyway, for our no.4, this is only our observations. We won't even know if he has high IQ until much later - what does it matter anyway. -
That teacher saw his most recent drawing-complete with land,water,sun,birds,elephant,coconut tree n flowers. And he wrote his own name freehand on it. That handwriting was similar to my daughter’s at k1 level. For his age,itz not norm.he can draw other objects like train,car,aeroplane n recently his skeleton of helicopter. Sometimes when hez got e mood,he’d draw nicer.other times,it’d b examples of animals with multiple legs. Lol
His teacher provides monthly reports on him during lessons n fed back tat he grasps concepts like in between numbers or objects easily.
He remembered e entire phonic story book that i read to him twice. Recognizes some simpler sight words only as i barely read to him. My fault. He knows entire alphabet phonic sounds n can sound out beginning sounds.used some ending sounds to help him guess words to match to objects. He just started LCentral 1term ago n teacher proceeded to teach him ‘ch’ and ‘aw’ n reccomended him to next level next term.
Chinese word recognition is ok with previously taught words in childcare. Words that he knows,he’d b reading n searching for them in my inlaw’s chinese newspaper when he eats his dinner.
He saw sister’s workbook n wanted to do her book of connecting dots till 19. I just let him do till tat number-havent tested him any further.he can write out all numbers freehand 0-19 as tested once after teaching once.handwriting is again similar as stated earlier except for 8-strokes wrong but shape is evident. He did 0-15 all at 1 go without wanting to stop. That means 15 A4 sized pages! He showed similar concentration at 2yrs old when he sat me down to do picture search in a picture book for 45mins straight-i was so tired of doing it but he didn’t wana stop.
His speech was a clear full sentence at 2 yrs old-‘Mummy,I want to sit on ur lap.’ followed by other sentences n questions on why n how to do these…etc
His teacher feedback that he prefers to speak to elder children who can talk rather than his classmates who r too quiet or cun speak tat well. Unless hez into a fren-who can only speak chinese-he’d change channel to chinese just to speak to him.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.