P5 - W3 Cluster Mathematics High Achiever's Program 2011
sandunes:
Me too..... was doing a google search when I came across this link and it was actually found under one of the posting in KSP thread.
Didn't know results would be released online! TFS!cwc:
NMOS 2011 results are out ....
http://oas.highsch.nus.edu.sg/NMOS/
By the way, DS just came and told me that the school sending them for another call Mathlympics??? Gotta go read up and see whatβs that β¦ ZZzzzz
cwc:
By the way, DS just came and told me that the school sending them for another call Mathlympics??? Gotta go read up and see what's that ..... ZZzzzz
Hi, hope you find this useful.
http://www.econnections.com.sg/index1.htm
Since we have maths competitions organised for primary schools by sec schools like ri, hci, nus high, acsi has joined in the race.
Mathlympic will feature more algebra-looking questions and only local competition to ever allowed calculators (in a section of its final round). -
CWC, sorry to hear about yr FIL diagnosis :sad: but I do agreed with you about letting them go early, why torture them further with op and chemotherapy at their age. :sad: Pls take care.
Hey, went to the nmos website but the results are for 2010 leh .
My older DS is in HCI . EL & HMT are both their 1st language . Cannot fail , so died died also go tuition lor
What some more Mathlympics ! Don think DS school is joining cause it fall on his CA 2 exam weeks and 4 Aug is AMC , so many competition :imdrowning: so stressful for them
Everyone will die, just when. To me, if there's nothing much to worry already, think I'm ready ;). Ha, say this now, may not behave so when time come. But I rather go earlier rather than suffer extra time, it's easier. Anyway, we'll just try to make FIL remaining life as easy & comfortable.
Wah, HCI. Planning to place your DS2 in HCI too? I'll just aim for RV first, cos near & good :). If he can score better & choose others, then discuss later.
AMC - dun think my kid going, he din mention. Only Mathlympics. Now that we are closer to PSLE, I'm suddenly not that worried about Sch exams. As long as he can still maintain grade B & above, can let him pursue his interest in Maths for now. In anycase, better to start cramming him & get the Motor running. Else too relaxing & they'll be resistant later (like my DD now, refuse to do extra besides Sch work)
On the link for NMOS, under the News & Updates, there's a click HERE, there's a list of the participants for the schools. Think result will only publish the final outcome after the special round. -
CoffeeCat:
Hi Coffeecat,cwc:
By the way, DS just came and told me that the school sending them for another call Mathlympics??? Gotta go read up and see what's that ..... ZZzzzz
Hi, hope you find this useful.
http://www.econnections.com.sg/index1.htm
Since we have maths competitions organised for primary schools by sec schools like ri, hci, nus high, acsi has joined in the race.
Mathlympic will feature more algebra-looking questions and only local competition to ever allowed calculators (in a section of its final round).
Thanks a lot for the link. Useful
Actually think I came across this site 2-3 years ago, brush it off then cos' only thot DS is stronger in maths, that's all
, now I know. Looks like gotta try getting one of their booklet to see exactly what type of questions we are looking at.....asked DS this morning, he has yet to learn alegbra :scared: hmmmmm.....
Hi cwc, is your DS going for the Math Hub ad hoc NMOS second round intensive training next week 4 to 6 pm? They just called but the timing clashes with my DS CCA , N7 Math, HMT and supplementary classes sian :slapshead: Guess he has to be on his own
No ideal whether DS will be able to follow his elder brother to HCI , have to see how he fair for his PSLE fist :nailbite:
Will you try DSA for your DS? If yes then the P5 P6 results must all be A or A* to meet the IP school requirement . My friend try DSA RV for her girl by string instrument this year , all subjects A except CL B (74 only 1 mark to A) RV not keen to even let her try :mad: maybe RV is the top A level school last year so standard v high this year . -
mum42:
Yah, MathsHub called too....but DS mentioned that his school has already planned 2 hours (2-4pm) special class whole of next week, think I'll just go with the school (free mahHi cwc, is your DS going for the Math Hub ad hoc NMOS second round intensive training next week 4 to 6 pm? They just called but the timing clashes with my DS CCA , N7 Math, HMT and supplementary classes sian :slapshead: Guess he has to be on his own
No ideal whether DS will be able to follow his elder brother to HCI , have to see how he fair for his PSLE fist :nailbite:
Will you try DSA for your DS? If yes then the P5 P6 results must all be A or A* to meet the IP school requirement . My friend try DSA RV for her girl by string instrument this year , all subjects A except CL B (74 only 1 mark to A) RV not keen to even let her try :mad: maybe RV is the top A level school last year so standard v high this year .
) But to attend this special class, DS gonna skip all his supplementary & CCA too. But now the dilemma is on Wed, should I go W3 or the school class.....
Hmm...so far DS results for SA1 is still A/A*....but quite borderline, so won't dare to pin too high hopes in case he slips. Have heard about the DSA process, seems to be pretty taxing and DS only has Maths, so dun think he stands much chance. So I'll go for PSLE T-score. Shall let nature takes its course.....if he manages to maintain all A/A*, good - can consider trying DSA. If doesn't, still back to original idea - PSLE.
Thanks for the advice and reminder, appreciate it
Wow, your DS sch so good, have not hear anything from son sch yet , think they are on their own
. Can ask what yr DS school?
Me too, don dare to pin too high hope better bet on PSLE T score . -
mum42:
Ha ha.....think the school is trying hard to ramp up.....quite lax last time. Probably their bad bad PSLE results in 2010 was a wake-up call. So this year, seems to start pushing from P5. I was already contemplating transferring....but relented since I do see improvements (plus son objected strongly too)Wow, your DS sch so good, have not hear anything from son sch yet , think they are on their own
. Can ask what yr DS school?
Me too, don dare to pin too high hope better bet on PSLE T score .
As for the special training class, think this year first time. Think the school also excited....koyak neighborhood school.....likely the first time they have sooo many qualify for 2nd round (~6 this year) vs previously ~2 for the past few years.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.