DSA 2011
Paddy Field:
Hi ..I am feeling pretty frustrating as till now my ds is still busy with SS assignment plus revision work and doing past yrs paper given by the teachers...No time for self revision yet...Wonder your gep kids also like tt
This SS SA is very irritating to me. They placed it the same wk as psle oral - it is on 16 aug, while psle oral is on 18/19 aug. Dunno what the GE branch is doing. Since psle is earlier this year, should't they do SS earlier instead of putting them in e same week?ngbrdad:
So is RI interview individual interview or 2 or 3 kids grouped together ?
Btw just heard from my DS that there is still SS in the coming prelims.
Thought GE syllabus finish by SA1 ?
So if one get thru DSA for GE domain but fail the final SS test then what ?
Go to normal class ?
Randomnity:
What are the ERP Assignments like? My ds IDP is also a simple one, I am also afraid 难登大雅之堂。 At first he put his option as IVP but then was assigned to join and do RS. I always thot IVP is the most interesting and easier to impress.
But then I don't think IDP is impressive enough... Maybe to be safe just do SS Portfolio or English ERP Assignments.PiggyLalala:
What about IDP? Can consider the interest driven project done at P5 if your child is keen in science -
vlim:
Ge proomotion is solely based on Ss preliminary exam. Do they look into Ss exams since p4 gep?[/quote]Is this passing mark 70% or 50% ? Just pen and paper and exclude portfolio write-up?
You have to pass SS to be awarded GEP status in secondary school. Not difficult to pass.jtoh:
[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]So is RI interview individual interview or 2 or 3 kids grouped together ?
Go to normal class ? -
vlim:
Hi ..I am feeling pretty frustrating as till now my ds is still busy with SS assignment plus revision work and doing past yrs paper given by the teachers...No time for self revision yet...Wonder your gep kids also like tt
This SS SA is very irritating to me. They placed it the same wk as psle oral - it is on 16 aug, while psle oral is on 18/19 aug. Dunno what the GE branch is doing. Since psle is earlier this year, should't they do SS earlier instead of putting them in e same week?Paddy Field:
[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]So is RI interview individual interview or 2 or 3 kids grouped together ?
Go to normal class ?
[/quote]By SS assignment do you mean portfolio write-up ? Cannot write earlier meh? My ds this yr has been given is two pieces of write-up early this year but when look at the dateline in Aug, so keep think ..still early lah and drag till now.
What are the cut-off. Every heard #3 is 250. True?
No, it's not based solely on SS. This is from the MOE website:
After Primary 6, promotion to the next level of gifted education is based on:
1. performance in the GEP from Primary 4 to 6, including a pass in Social Studies
2. attitude towards work and the enrichment programme
3. performance at the PSLE -
Hi zann,
Ss assignment is Ss portfolio… I think can do a bit earlier la but got thing to do to finish and hand up first plus DSA interview to attend …so …
For p5 Ss assignment/portfolio … Think the teacher will arrange them to do some during school hour so tt he can guide them along … So hard to rush them to do the portfolio also plus definitely there are other more urgent homework to do lor … -
Zann:
What are the ERP Assignments like? My ds IDP is also a simple one, I am also afraid 难登大雅之堂。 At first he put his option as IVP but then was assigned to join and do RS. I always thot IVP is the most interesting and easier to impress.[/quote]Not to be overly-worried about which project to bring along for the interview. For my son's interview last year, they did not ask any questions about the project that he brought along.
But then I don't think IDP is impressive enough... Maybe to be safe just do SS Portfolio or English ERP Assignments.Randomnity:
[quote=\"PiggyLalala\"]
What about IDP? Can consider the interest driven project done at P5 if your child is keen in science -
Let your child decide on what he wants to bring- something he has confidence and passion in so that should the interviewer ask any questions on it, he can impress them with his answers.
PiggyLalala:
Let your child decide on what he wants to bring- something he has confidence and passion in so that should the interviewer ask any questions on it, he can impress them with his answers.
Thanks for e advice. So do u have any other advice for e kids? -
Last year my son brought his P5 SS portfolio to RI interview. It turned out that none of the 3 boys at the interview was asked any questions about their projects.
Son shared that the interview questions were not tough but you must listen carefully. Do be aware of obvious like RI colors and motto to show you are interested in the school.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.