Scary:
Sorry never my intention to scare you. :salute:markfch,
U really scare me. Sob Sob. . .30 over PVs? Sob Sob Sob. No wonder they are so strict with the church members. They should not reduce class if took in so many PVs.
Trapwithin,
Yes. Fren is staying opposite South View. Already want to freak out for PH. If I'm her, sure freak out on the balloting day.
May I suggest that you don't need to be too concern about the no. of PVs. You're in P2C. There are 44 vacancies for P2B; those 44 vacancies will always be taken even if there're only 20 PV due to church members, GRL. The P2B vacancies will never spill over to P2C; not sure if that was what you're hoping for.
Btw, do you know that if someone from P2B & > 1km gets balloted out, you'll stand a higher priority at P2C due to your proximity to the sch. It doesn't mean that applicants from P2B will continue to get higher priority in P2C. Is this what you're concerned with? -
Trapwithin Post subject: Re: Pei Hwa Presbyterian PrimaryPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:13 am
It is a few hours event. Children will not be assess for class allocation.
If I am not wrong, the class allocation is based on the different Phases of enrolment.
Welcome to the most active school thread in KSP ...
Hi Trapwithin,
Thanks for the reply.
Glad to know that the kids do not have to go thru' any difficult assessment even before they start school.:)
thanks everyone for helping out too.
Few more questions....;)
1) Does P1 students have any extra-curriculum that require them to go to school earlier on some days?
2) Because I don't have a maid and both my hubby and me are working. Hence, if my son needs to go school earlier on some of the days, I am not sure what will be available options. I understand from the previous replies in the forum that the Before/After school care in PH may not be a good alternative....
Not sure if any parents are facing the same problem....
And I guess I will continue to have this problem when my son proceeds on to P2, P3, P4....until my son is independent enough to take bus on his own...:(
Help!!!
Thanks in advance.. -
panicky mummy:
CCA is optional....that should solve your problem....hahaha....Trapwithin Post subject: Re: Pei Hwa Presbyterian PrimaryPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:13 am
It is a few hours event. Children will not be assess for class allocation.
If I am not wrong, the class allocation is based on the different Phases of enrolment.
Welcome to the most active school thread in KSP ...
Hi Trapwithin,
Thanks for the reply.
Glad to know that the kids do not have to go thru' any difficult assessment even before they start school.:)
thanks everyone for helping out too.
Few more questions....;)
1) Does P1 students have any extra-curriculum that require them to go to school earlier on some days?
2) Because I don't have a maid and both my hubby and me are working. Hence, if my son needs to go school earlier on some of the days, I am not sure what will be available options. I understand from the previous replies in the forum that the Before/After school care in PH may not be a good alternative....
Not sure if any parents are facing the same problem....
And I guess I will continue to have this problem when my son proceeds on to P2, P3, P4....until my son is independent enough to take bus on his own...:(
Help!!!
Thanks in advance.. -
Scary:
Hi Scary!celadoncatz,
High chance that there maybe balloting for >2km based on last yr's stats.
Yes, you can register your child on the last day of Phase 2b. I believe the school will let you know on the last day if balloting is required so that you can decide if you want to withdraw last min (according to my fren who kenna from St. Nicks last yr), and dash to another school.
About the no. of PVs, if not wrong, is around 20+. However, you are also in the same phase as grassroot leaders, church members (41 Presbyterian churches!). I would say hard to estimate till they have registered.
Another question, how far away are you from the school? If too far, you may want to reconsider for the benefit of your child. Personally, I like school to be near so that my child can utilise the extra travelling time on other more meaningful stuff (heard some kids travel from east to NY which I think is kind of crazy).
Yah I fall under church member category... and I am pretty far away - I live in AMK. But honestly my DS will have 2-3 chauffeur in attendance so that's not a problem, getting past Phase 2B is! Sigh.. -
Trapwithin:
Hi trapwithin,
To read through all 1200+ pages . I :salute: youceladoncatz:
Hi everyone,
I've been lurking and reading through all 1200+ pages of postings on PHPP until I feel I know all of you personally... haha.. HELLO!! Hope to be joining you soon
I'm actually eligible for Phase 2B in PHPP but outside of 2km. Are there many PV's this year? I did call up the office but they were quite unfriendly
I would really love for my DS to attend PHPP but if it's a balloting situation, this chicken mummy really doesn't dare to take the risk and end up my kid has to go to some dunno what school
Can anybody advise? Was wondering if I can just register on the second day of Phase 2B and if there is balloting, can I drop out before the deadline? Hoping to hear from all you seasoned parents out there. Thanks!
Welcome to our long-winded thread ..
I think it is worthwhile to go for Phase 2B and see how it goes, if fail you can still consider Phase 2C near your place. No harm trying.
Phase 2C near my place sibei cham one leh. Mostly TUR super low, nobody want.
For me, if I go P2B for PHPP and don't slamdunk, means I lose P2B for Kuo Chuan Presbyterian and that one Phase 2C got balloting (and I am also out of 2km).... therein lies my ANGUISH!!! :?:
Funx3, Yah, nearly kee siao.. my husband said why I hiding iPhone under the covers past midnight. Thought I having affair. Wahaha. :lol:
:welcome: celadoncatz to the Pei Hwa Family!celadoncatz:
Hi everyone,
I've been lurking and reading through all 1200+ pages of postings on PHPP until I feel I know all of you personally... haha.. HELLO!! Hope to be joining you soon
I'm actually eligible for Phase 2B in PHPP but outside of 2km. Are there many PV's this year? I did call up the office but they were quite unfriendly
I would really love for my DS to attend PHPP but if it's a balloting situation, this chicken mummy really doesn't dare to take the risk and end up my kid has to go to some dunno what school
Can anybody advise? Was wondering if I can just register on the second day of Phase 2B and if there is balloting, can I drop out before the deadline? Hoping to hear from all you seasoned parents out there. Thanks!
Wah! I Must HAnd it to You ....
To Read thru 1200+ Pages of this Thread .... :salute: :salute:
(Shhhhhhhh .... How Long U Take to DO that?)markfch:
Hi markfch,
Actually we need a fuller picture than what you provided. For instance, are you eligible for P2B in other schs? If you are only eligible for P2B in PH, then frankly, the way forward is pretty much decided, ain't it? What have you got to lose anyway, rite? But if you have other options at P2B, then the dilemma starts.celadoncatz:
How far do you stay from PH? Distance is usually also a factor for consideration. I've a friend whose dd travelled from JW extension to RPGS daily, the journey home can take 1.5 hrs due to traffic jam. It's terribly tiring for a kid.
Btw I heard that this yr there are over 30 PVs. Some of them did more than 100hrs of PV work.
Haiz, yah lor, dilemma cos if I go for PHPP and don't get, I also don't get KCPP liao. I'm out of 2km for both but KCPP is a shoo-in for P2B lah.
If there are 30 PVs, means only left 14 slots for grassroots, church etc. Aiyah, my chances are looking ultra slim :gloomy: -
celadoncatz:
How's KC std? I went to their website but didn't see any PSLE results.
Haiz, yah lor, dilemma cos if I go for PHPP and don't get, I also don't get KCPP liao. I'm out of 2km for both but KCPP is a shoo-in for P2B lah.
If there are 30 PVs, means only left 14 slots for grassroots, church etc. Aiyah, my chances are looking ultra slim :gloomy:
Frankly, if I'm comfortable with their std, I'll take them rather than risk balloting at PH; you're right, the low odds simply doesn't justify the risk.
But if I'm not comfortable with KC std in the 1st first, then there's nothing to lose even if I got balloted out at PH anyway (no offence intended, guys like me think in simplistic term only).
I guess parents like you need to station at 2 places on the 2nd day of P2B registration to monitor the odds, analyse and execute your decision. Good luck. And don't forget what Trapwithin said, make sure your kid does well in P1 and you have the option to ask for transfer to popular schs like PH or even CHS, AT which are definitely closer to your place. -
celadoncatz:
If there are 30 PVs, means only left 14 slots for grassroots, church etc. Aiyah, my chances are looking ultra slim :gloomy:
I thot PV/grassroot/church, all equal chance? No?
You know, when we failed to enter a school at phase 2C, I was quite sad and my dd1 reminded me, \"Mommy, God already has a place for me somewhere, we just have to pray and find it. That will be the best place for me.\" Indeed.
Well, I wish you all the best in your child's P1 registration. -
celadoncatz:
Funx3, Yah, nearly kee siao.. my husband said why I hiding iPhone under the covers past midnight. Thought I having affair. Wahaha. :lol: [/quote] :yikes: :yikes: You have elephant memory too! To think you read through 1200+ pages and can remember all of us. I often got things mixed up, even recent happenings like those that happened just...errrr hours ago. I think my brain is in serious trouble.
:welcome: celadoncatz to the Pei Hwa Family!Funx3:
[quote=\"celadoncatz\"]Hi everyone,
Wah! I Must HAnd it to You ....
To Read thru 1200+ Pages of this Thread .... :salute: :salute:
(Shhhhhhhh .... How Long U Take to DO that?)
celadoncatz:
celadoncatz,
Hi Scary!Scary:
celadoncatz,
High chance that there maybe balloting for >2km based on last yr's stats.
Yes, you can register your child on the last day of Phase 2b. I believe the school will let you know on the last day if balloting is required so that you can decide if you want to withdraw last min (according to my fren who kenna from St. Nicks last yr), and dash to another school.
About the no. of PVs, if not wrong, is around 20+. However, you are also in the same phase as grassroot leaders, church members (41 Presbyterian churches!). I would say hard to estimate till they have registered.
Another question, how far away are you from the school? If too far, you may want to reconsider for the benefit of your child. Personally, I like school to be near so that my child can utilise the extra travelling time on other more meaningful stuff (heard some kids travel from east to NY which I think is kind of crazy).
Yah I fall under church member category... and I am pretty far away - I live in AMK. But honestly my DS will have 2-3 chauffeur in attendance so that's not a problem, getting past Phase 2B is! Sigh..
How about trying one evening at 6.30pm, u drive from PH to home and assess the traffic condition? It's the traffic condition that puts me off as I used to work in AMK.
Do understand where u are coming from as my fren PV for RGPS is in the same situation. If she fail in her balloting, she will lose her chance to register in a catholic school. And in phase 2c, she has 0 chance in both as she is out of 2km.
IMO, mission schools sure have some standards. Thus, like what Bro Mark said, you may want to monitor the situation for both schools. Work out a plan based on your risk level now. Whatever you have decided, just execute and don't look back.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.