2011 P1 Registration Exercise for 2012 In-Take

3.1k Posts 327 Posters 907.2k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      zeemimi

g2m6:

admin fee will not deter ks parents... should require a valid reason for withdrawal... frivolous reasons aka excuses should not be entertained... afterall how can one change one's mind within a week or 2 :scratchhead:

They aren't changing their minds. It's all part of the kiasu strategy to secure a place at every stage.

True, admin fees won't deter the parents. But all this withdrawal does create a hassle for the admin staff having to deal with all these parents.

Impose very high admin fee, like 4 digits!!!! :evil:

Anyway i feel that parents should not deploy such strategies, registering and withdrawing. This KS syndrome distort the figures of the number of registrants. But i think the % is not high la.

I would support the motion to discontinue this practice of allowing parents to withdraw from an earlier phase. This is clearly a KS strategy which we can do away with.

• FabbymumF Offline
        Fabbymum

Hey parents,

I read so much about priorities to Sporean was wondering what can we do to make our opinion heard to the government? I mean, apart from writing in this forum, has anyone ever or planned to write to MOE? I think we could do it now, while the issue is seriously affecting the Sporean…we obviously do not want the same situation, or worse to happen again in the future!

If anyone is keen /preparing to write this note, why not we sign a petition, or collect our opinion as a group and voice it out ?

Just a suggestion here because we need to protect the best interest of our homeland, by raising a truely Singaporean educated child for our future!

puff

Fabbymum:
          Hey parents,

I read so much about priorities to Sporean was wondering what can we do to make our opinion heard to the government? I mean, apart from writing in this forum, has anyone ever or planned to write to MOE? I think we could do it now, while the issue is seriously affecting the Sporean...we obviously do not want the same situation, or worse to happen again in the future!

If anyone is keen /preparing to write this note, why not we sign a petition, or collect our opinion as a group and voice it out ?

Just a suggestion here because we need to protect the best interest of our homeland, by raising a truely Singaporean educated child for our future!
          We were given a chance to voice our opinion in may 2011 ...... Now the door is closed got to wait another 5 yrs than can voice our concern again :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

vicki

Errr... I tot it was heard liao so that's why there are 2 ballot slips now?!! N I was the last year's beneficiary of this new system! 😉

• G Offline
              g2m6

the 2 ballot chance only comes into play in phase 2B. some of the parents here are saying that Sporeans should be given priority from phase 1 bcos looking at the numbers esp for those popular schools very few places are left now when phase 2B will only commense next wk

Fur-ma

FYI and especially for those parents who, like me, are waiting till the 2nd day of 2B to see how many have applied and start calculating the chances of getting their child into their dream school - I called AT and asked if they will reveal out of the number of applicants staying <1km, how many are Sporeans so that I can calculate more accurately my dd's chances. They said will only give the number of applicants, no breakdown given. So in summary, can calculate till the cows come home, but will never be able to calculate correctly. Sigh... getting in boils down to pure luck :frustrated:

• Z Offline
                  zhuangzi

1amber:

[quote=\"alng\"]

hahaha...my dh also told me a couple days ago that our responsibilities are to highlight the problems and he will only think of solutions if he is paid $3 millions salary.

Yes of course I agree to that.
                  Ministers are paid millions to face angry residents who are against having launch shaft placed at the front of their condo...however, I wonder if these same residents will complain when their condo prices rise with MRT at the doorstep...

Newly minted ministers should be more upfront when handling problems faced by Singaporeans now...genuine ones like P1 registration. There are so many PRs here and some who become Singaporeans (I know of some couples that have either husband or wife converting) to enjoy Baby Bonus/4 months maternity leave.

yes I know of couples - one parent keep original citizenship, the other parent and children convert to pink i/c to enjoy enjoy the best of both countries...when they are done with milking our country they leave...bye bye just like that...

whereas many of our own senior citizens who paid taxes to contribute to Baby Bonus, scholarship, etc are left with trying to make ends meet by themselves...how ironic and cruel to our parents' generation who slogged in their younger days to make it a better place for other people's children.[/quote]I have a colleague that does that as well. She is Indonesian & Singaporean PR, husband took up Singapore Pink IC so that they qualify for subsidized HDB and kids pay Singaporean school fees. She also told us that she has no intention to stay in Singapore long term.

• Z Offline
                    zhuangzi

I was told for some school when you go register for P2C, they will suggest to you to try somewhere if they see that you are outside of 1km. So in theory you can assume whatever the number of applicants to be all within 1km

anxious

zhuangzi:
                      I was told for some school when you go register for P2C, they will suggest to you to try somewhere if they see that you are outside of 1km. So in theory you can assume whatever the number of applicants to be all within 1km

This is quite common. if there are already more people (staying within 1km) than the available vacancies have registered, there is really zero chance of getting. You are wasting your chances for another school.

patntee

Hi curious how if there are twins and one of their names is picked during the ballot? Do they take up 2 places on the spot and make known to all the parents at the balloting?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 203 / 311