SBS Transit, SMRT submit applications for fare adjustment

245 Posts 38 Posters 51.1k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

snowman.697:
      At least they could use the fare raise toINCREASE the drivers salary thus attracting local ppl whom u claim are better than foreigners.

$200mil not enough to increase the drivers salary to provide better service?

well. ok.. Had it been a NTC, $200mil would have been enough, i believed..

limlim

WeiHan:

since when anyone said about wanting any company to be \"loss-making\" ? :?

There is an implicit yearning of subsidies for the services they receive. They believe these services can be run as non-profit organisations and still be as cost effective as ever. The first response is if it is possible, then show me. I would say that if we follow the same reasoning, then shouldn't we argue for the nationalisation of almost all businesses and services? Then all the needy people will get cheaper food, clothings, transport etc etc etc....

Is SBS making a loss before it was privatized?

Were there resentment and complains of SBS b4 it was privatized?

WeiHan

smurf:
          WeiHan:

As the 13 yo kid has correctly recognised, the fare rise has nothing to do with a promise to solve the sadine pack problem.

What do you mean by correctly recognized? Of course we recognized why! But does it justify the rise? ?

I believe the fare rise is to cover some of the cost rise due to inflation. see the inflation was 4-5% in the past year. Just inflation is sufficient to justify a fare hike of 4-5%.

Daddy D

smurf:

There is only 1 provider, if u dun take train, then take what?
            Yeah... straight to the point.
            Think we all debate until abit out of point liao...
            simi profits...
            simi investors...
            simi subsidised...
            simi train/bus model...
            simi fare increase is not to solve sardine pack problem...

Meanwhile those who drive cars will continue to drive cars... and take public transport once in a blue moon... just like Lui.

limlim

WeiHan:

Why can't it goes into somebody pocket? CEO and managers managing a company of this size fetch this kind of pay in the market.
              If they can deliver, why not.

Ask the public, can they deliver? Did they deliver? Consumers are the best judge.

Extra-ordinary salaries for extra-ordinary talent.. fine..

Extra-ordinary salaries for.. watever you called it.. well..... YMMV..

limlim

since when anyone said wanting any services to be subsidied? :?

Isn't a loss-making nationalised company basically receiving a subsidy from the tax-payer?

1. nationalized doesn't imply not able to make profit or provide quality service. It depends on how talented the management are.

2. SMRT is privatized.. ok.. who pays for the stations, rails, trains? Is it not subsided already?

limlim

WeiHan:
                  As the 13 yo kid has correctly recognised, the fare rise has nothing to do with a promise to solve the sadine pack problem.

And the sole purpose is to fatten someone's pocket?

ok.. points noted.

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr7q-v7NIRQ][/youtube]

Does this happen on our trains?

limlim

isn't it the target? maximum profit!

is it right? Will sinkies allow it to happen? hmm.. we'll find out in 5 years..

RRMummy

:dowan: :nailbite: šŸ™

Can't imagine boarding especially with my kids in that situation.. :faint:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 25