Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.
And people there move house to be near good schools. :scared:
Needless to say that these areas are in hot demand by the Asian community
Sun_2010:
Sun_2010:
the Asian kiasu community
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.jtoh:
and, however, they will not move out of the California state boundary because being 'Californians' they have preferential school fees when entering those elite uni in CA -
Sun_2010:
Being chased out of their own neighbourhood by Asians. hhmmm...
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.jtoh:
Being chased out of their own neighbourhood by Asians. hhmmm...[/quote]They chose to move out and not compete so cannot say that they are being chased out ma.. :scratchhead:
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.Sun_2010:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]
mummyo:
Exactly my point! No one system can please everyone!
People who are complaining are the ones caught out by the system.
I rest my case.
Only the rich people can afford? If u really want to put your child in that sch, you would have to fork out more to buy the house. What is the difference of being a PV and buying house near the sch that u want? One is to fork out money, one is to fork out time.
As I mentioned before, I dun think being nearer to a popular sch is the MAIN priority of people who are buying flats. It may be a consideration, but not main priority. People buy flats for many reasons. NOT just to register their child in a popular sch.
And condemn the person who said that only smart people comes from good schs. :mad: -
maybe we shld stop being envious of the european & US education systems⦠just look at their economic outlook now !!
smurf:
Only the rich people can afford?
If referring to Bukit Timah area then really not everyone can afford..smurf:
Difference big lor...What is the difference of being a PV and buying house near the sch that u want? One is to fork out money, one is to fork out time.
Being PV is time which everyone has 24 hours a day.
Buying house for areas like Bukit Timah, definitely out of reach for my pocket
smurf:
You will be surprised :evil:As I mentioned before, I dun think being nearer to a popular sch is the MAIN priority of people who are buying flats. It may be a consideration, but not main priority. People buy flats for many reasons. NOT just to register their child in a popular sch.
The problem is with the increasing flood of applicants at Phase 2A (children of alumni). There is a hereditary aristocracy at play, where by dint of some imaginary massive contributions, ALL children of alumni of a particular school get in ahead and are all but guaranteed a place, even if their parents did nothing but shake legs.
Of course, once you challenge this status quo, woe betide you! All the scaremongering about 6-y.o. taking qualifying exams and other red herrings start emerging. Can't even broach the subject without getting a bashing, much too touchy!
I did not bash you right? Just friendly discussion in another thread. Just check check to determine what you define as bash. I stop going into certain threads
, so no longer following discussion in those threads.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.