Club SAHM
Hi all,
Cheery mood in the air..
You PM me? Ok, i go check.. Sorrlie.. too many PMs.. i crossed eye liao. :salute:
Thanks -
terry:
A topic very close to heart and wallet- especially when 'cost-effective' and 'multi-purpose' are mentioned...hmm..wondering wat kind of products do mummies here use? cost effective and multi purpose? care to share?
last time when i was working=spending power,my faves are:
chanel sheer illuminating base: gv really natural glow without looking oily, abit goes along way. i apply on my cheekbones,chin and forehead area then top with loose power.
SK2: hmm..think is overrated. my skin no crystal clear leh.
la pairie eye caviar: works but super ex. nw cannot afford. :sad:
fancl tense up collagen drink: i buy in japan, 40%cheaper. muz be discipline to drink evday or ev other day.
makeup products i prefer mac and benefit esp their concealers. mac has a sliver clr fairy dust which is very dense pigmented. i put some into my loose power and it gvs such a natural sheen.
i oso like faceshop skincare,not too rich for our climate and uses natural ingredients. but their masks not gd, i find not effective at all.
for scrubs, i like clinque. i wanna make it a habit to use sunscreen but find the smell very turnoff.
There was once I thought my skin will remain as good, thanks to SK-ll's pitera, Clarins a fave, along with Biotherm, Clinique and occasional Estee Lauder. Besides numerous paper bags filled with latest products and promos, the generous ladies behind the counter know that more samples make a me returning customer... and one day while unpacking all the numerous packages, made me guilty about the waste created.
Somewhere along the way, when we adjusted to single-income (and for a short while no-income), i discovered the delights of natural solutions.
I am so pleased to say that all my beauty supplies are in my kitchen/ pantry and larder (now saving for a mini-fridge for the bedroom to move my beauty products)
I think the following blogs can explain better my love-affair with natural and effective solutions.
Really why pay (more) for chemical/ preservative laden products when freshly-made coconut milk makes my hair silky smooth and shiny, raw (or manuka) honey cleanses and moisturizes my face fuss-free and yummily and (free) gourmet coffee grounds make the most delightful scrub that deodorizes the bathroom and is proven my no 1 destresser!!!! I can go on wax lyrical... but i shant bore you all. Just read my inspirations-
http://crunchybetty.com/category/natural
(I am currently part of the honey challenge and so loving it! There is a plethora of do-able tried and tested recipes here
http://www.vivawoman.net/category/organic/homemade/
(A local blog- some of you may find this more relevant)
While sharing with another friend, I just realised that going for organic (or natural) SLS/ parabens- free products need not cost a bomb at all! We dont need more costly stuff in these expensive times... ;D -
SAHM_TAN.. replied you already. I need more details ok.

sleepy:
Ever consider Botox but after seeing some of the local actress uneven eyes when they smile will think twice.Speaking of women ageing faster than men, do you gals think you look younger, at your age or older?
Would you consider botox sometime in future?
:rotflmao: Got arh? :rotflmao:
Who? :evil: -
:rotflmao: Got arh? :rotflmao:
Who? :evil:
The one who is as fair as Michael Jackson lor ...
Watch the channel u 'ladies nite' the other day n the v popular Dr xxx who do facial stuffs was invited n I got a shock when I see her face .... Hmmm a bit scary. :yikes: -
sleepy:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao:SAHM_TAN:
Yes, for the japs, even going to convenience shop must also make-up a bit.
Years ago, I used to put on make up even for nearby grocery trips. But seriously, the only people looking at me are grannies and aunties, asking me for advice which brand of ι’ηΊΏ not so soggy, the latest detergent effective or not, helping grannies to read price tags because they've θθ±. So I don't bother to put on make up for grocery trips anymore. Anyway, pushing trolley and dragging bags of grocery is not a pretty sight even with make up
sleepy:
i think i age a lot with each pregnancy too. but no one guess my age before, so i dunno. everytime people meet me and Dh will only comment on how young HE looks, so i guess that means i am old lor... i am younger than him some more, but no one say i look young. so sian to marry someone who has boyish face, everyone comment on him only. :rotflmao:Speaking of women ageing faster than men, do you gals think you look younger, at your age or older?
Would you consider botox sometime in future?
don't think will consider botox, very scared of botch ups and very scared of needles. -
sssdarlings:
wow... :thankyou: both of you for sharing!
A topic very close to heart and wallet- especially when 'cost-effective' and 'multi-purpose' are mentioned...terry:
hmm..wondering wat kind of products do mummies here use? cost effective and multi purpose? care to share?
last time when i was working=spending power,my faves are:
chanel sheer illuminating base: gv really natural glow without looking oily, abit goes along way. i apply on my cheekbones,chin and forehead area then top with loose power.
SK2: hmm..think is overrated. my skin no crystal clear leh.
la pairie eye caviar: works but super ex. nw cannot afford. :sad:
fancl tense up collagen drink: i buy in japan, 40%cheaper. muz be discipline to drink evday or ev other day.
makeup products i prefer mac and benefit esp their concealers. mac has a sliver clr fairy dust which is very dense pigmented. i put some into my loose power and it gvs such a natural sheen.
i oso like faceshop skincare,not too rich for our climate and uses natural ingredients. but their masks not gd, i find not effective at all.
for scrubs, i like clinque. i wanna make it a habit to use sunscreen but find the smell very turnoff.
There was once I thought my skin will remain as good, thanks to SK-ll's pitera, Clarins a fave, along with Biotherm, Clinique and occasional Estee Lauder. Besides numerous paper bags filled with latest products and promos, the generous ladies behind the counter know that more samples make a me returning customer... and one day while unpacking all the numerous packages, made me guilty about the waste created.
Somewhere along the way, when we adjusted to single-income (and for a short while no-income), i discovered the delights of natural solutions.
I am so pleased to say that all my beauty supplies are in my kitchen/ pantry and larder (now saving for a mini-fridge for the bedroom to move my beauty products)
I think the following blogs can explain better my love-affair with natural and effective solutions.
Really why pay (more) for chemical/ preservative laden products when freshly-made coconut milk makes my hair silky smooth and shiny, raw (or manuka) honey cleanses and moisturizes my face fuss-free and yummily and (free) gourmet coffee grounds make the most delightful scrub that deodorizes the bathroom and is proven my no 1 destresser!!!! I can go on wax lyrical... but i shant bore you all. Just read my inspirations-
http://crunchybetty.com/category/natural
(I am currently part of the honey challenge and so loving it! There is a plethora of do-able tried and tested recipes here
http://www.vivawoman.net/category/organic/homemade/
(A local blog- some of you may find this more relevant)
While sharing with another friend, I just realised that going for organic (or natural) SLS/ parabens- free products need not cost a bomb at all! We dont need more costly stuff in these expensive times... ;D
i never know about both types, the natural and the commercial. all sound very alien to me. so far the most i ventured beyond the supermarket brands like pantene and biore are The Body Shop and Face Shop. very suaku in this area.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.