markfch

IJJ:
      I thot term 3 is sort of a honeymoon term with NO exam, wow...not with some PH parents here.. better siam for the time being. Lol!
      I don't know what to say! :stompfeet: (remember that?)
      IJJ:
      P2 moxie was copable even for my \"eat-potato\" girl lah, dun have to worry too much. 🆒 😉 I rem when mine was in P2, most of the time she 搞不清楚状况, let alone P1. I never purchase any exam paper, only printed a few out for her to practice a week or so before the exact exam.
      Eat potato at P1? Hmm that's quite reassuring. Btw did you say that your dd eats english storybooks for a living and later on her chinese became her best scoring subject? Hmm, that's not very reassuring (for my ds since it shows that your dd is super intelligent) ..... 😓
      IJJ:
      Mark, your son did not score well enough maybe because he was not taught on some new words and their applications yet. How come he never complain that he has to work on advance papers? :scratchhead:
      Because he doesn't know that those are advance papers, keke.
      IJJ:
      For P4 moxie, I posted the term 1 list, after that, I 100% L-F. 😉 Lol! I dunno what is really going on from then onwards. :oops:
      When are you leaving? Should be soon rite? Would you consider surrendering your dd2's place in PH for Scary so that we 100% can have BBQ? We're starving, pleaseee. :rotflmao:

markfch

drickymummy:

The 2.x to 3.x is referring to the reading level of the books. Some books indicates the reading level where u find the publisher info and other info user by library cataloger .. It also tells u that hyoid child is currently reading level is equivalent to a child in Grade 2- 3... This is just a rough guide cos the stupid program can mess up sometimes... My Ds started with a 4.x in beginning P1 and 6.x in end P1 but suddenly drop to 3.x in P2... :skeptical: so I check with teacher n she say they made a mistake n he had to retake the test again before his level went back to 6.x! :roll:
        Whoa your ds rated 4.x at beginning P1. My ds is rated much lower than that but the STAR programme still graded him in the 90+ percentile. So your ds must be in the 99 percentile. :nailbite:

You're drickymummy ..... which means that your ds is called dricky? You know that later on I'll go check on the yearbook and look out for dricky as one of the prize winners. :evil:

Ok just pulling your leg, joking only.
        drickymummy:
        Whatever the recommended books maybe, always let the child choose books he likes and of course we try to recommend new books regularly.. Those books at level 6 r boring classics which I know it will kill my Ds to read so I let him choose what he likes and i think with him reading books like Percy Jackson at P2 onwards.. He is just doing fine...
        Why boring? I'm making ds read all those classics that I read during my childhood - like oliver twist, robinson crusoe, black beauty etc - so that we can have something in common. It's a bonding thing and mightily impt to me. But of course, those books I chose are abridged versions, not the full blown original novels.

Mrsbongz

Sigh, i asked ds if he took any reading test etc this yr, he said 'no leh, wat test? Maybe teacher forgot me' so i have no idea what level is he at. I guess ignorance is also bliss, at least i wouldn't know if he falls short of my expectations. He is only willing to read abt dinosaurs and comics for now anyway 😞

Bro Mark,

This affiliation thing may ultimately reach the point where it’s not much different from non-affiliated by the time my daughter reaches P6.
            Understand sec side may raise the COP.

It’s not easy to survive in Pei Hwa. If parents wish to put their kids in this school, they had better be prepared to work together with the kids.
            There is no way you can sit back at any point…it’s a rat race starting from P1. Even if a child can score 100%, there will be several others who can do that and the pressure will kill.
            What Jennifer & drickymummy mentioned is so very true.

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

drickymummy:

I dun mean to be unkind. Not getting into PH might be a blessing in disguise for some children as well as their parents. It takes a strong willed family not to be suck into the rat race in this sch.

Jennifer,
              I have to totally agreed with u! It is a crazy rat race which put Ds n me on our toes at all time! Want to let go n yet dare not.. 😢

When u r below par, u work till death to move up...when u r up there, u again work till death to stay there or inch up some more 😓

Totally agreed.

I did not arrange so many enrichment classes for my elder boy then. Only his weakest subj- CL in P5/P6. But with this P4 boy, there are already Sci, NMOS and CL twice weekly. Think I am getting weaker each year. This year P4 cohort seems very strong and I dared not let go too.

When my younger boy was in P1, his CL told me we need to buck up with CL even though he had scored in the region of 80+ which was below cohort avg of 90+ :siao: I took lightly of her advice and saw his CL score slipped to 70+ in P2 and then near 70 in P3. Scary hor? No choice but to attend more CL lessons outside to keep up with sch std.

Started Sci this year becos I was afraid the class might kena the infamous Sci teacher. Once started, my boy likes the lessons so much that he wants to continue even though he is doing well in this subj.

Started NMOS this year becos I want to prepare him for P5 NMOS competition. Dun want to repeat a similar episode like my elder boy who went for the competition insufficiently prepared by the sch and affected his confidence level due to lousy performance.

Hubby was telling my elder boy to coach the brother in future so that we can save time and money.

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

Mrsbongz:
                He is only willing to read abt dinosaurs and comics for now anyway 😞

Considered lucky liao.

Both my boys did not start reading seriously till late P1. Hubby was so worried then. I did what I could do then- bring the children to the library every week.

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

I'm making ds read all those classics that I read during my childhood - like oliver twist, robinson crusoe, black beauty etc - so that we can have something in common. It's a bonding thing and mightily impt to me. But of course, those books I chose are abridged versions, not the full blown original novels.

Wow, Classics.

I read most of what my elder boy reads. He did not read whatever I used to read. I find that as he grows older, our taste for content drifts further.

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

So many committed and dedicated mummies and daddies in this thread. No wonder it’s the most popular in the forum!

I felt that the first two foundation years in PH must be built on very solid ground so that when we reached the P3/4s, we’ll not be pulled down too far. There is still a cushion to fall back on. Same thing, once we overcame the shock at SA1 (esp for CL) and things are smoother/better by end of P3/P4, it’ll be easier to cope at P5/P6. This, however, requires a lot of hardwork and determination for both parents and kids. Kids will mature over time (provided that they don’t give up halfway), so they’ll also learn to cope better.

• dyhD Offline
                      dyh

dyh:

They will still band. last yr more than 70% got at least 95 marks in P1 exams but they were still able to band.

Wow, more than 70% got 95 marks & above.

I gave ds yr 2010 PH P1 SA2 to do recently and he only got 88%. Does that make him bottom 30%? :gloomy: :nailbite: :faint:

Php, I think you see my ds too up oredi. Must calibrate your expectation a bit. Hehe.

Hi Mark, sorry i made a mistake. actually it is 30% at least 95 marks. i got the 70% the other way round. :oops:

Hope i din cause you to grow a few more strands of gray hair!

Mrsbongz

E3:
                        I felt that the first two foundation years in PH must be built on very solid ground so that when we reached the P3/4s, we'll not be pulled down too far. There is still a cushion to fall back on.

I think so too, this is their first foray into 'real studying' for rest of their childhood.. I hope to take these 2 years to teach him no just studies, but how to cope, find his study style, and polish his attitude towards school.. Sometimes dh say I am expecting too much 😛 but I think with the right mindset, the child can mature and cope with the stress better...
                        Both my boys did not start reading seriously till late P1. Hubby was so worried then. I did what I could do then- bring the children to the library every week.
                        I am also stepping up their library visits, and reminding them to read whenever they have free time, and also asking them to bring a book along when we go out.. sigh... :xedfingers: I am the kind that finishes a novel in 3 hours... but my boys take more than 3 weeks to finish 1 geronimo stilton.. 😢 their reading chart from school is still very empty...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1307 / 2049