Preparing kids for P5 in 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 5
    1.5k Posts 90 Posters 485.9k Views 1 Watching

Brenda10:

Same here. Where compo is concerned, be it EL or CL, I've washed my hands since I cannot offer any help. Yesterday's homework was CL 命题 type :gloomy: and he had never done it before...so I told him to do what he can.

Have to inform tutor this Saturday about it.

This CL 命题 for compo. really not easy! For exam is advisable to choose the picture compo. to avoid out of point unless the child is very good in this area.

This 命题 type of compo...cannot attempt esp for Chinese.
      I've told my son to avoid this type of situational writing for both EL and CL...with pic, he can't go out of point :xedfingers:

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

Brenda10:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Same here. Where compo is concerned, be it EL or CL, I've washed my hands since I cannot offer any help. Yesterday's homework was CL 命题 type :gloomy: and he had never done it before...so I told him to do what he can.

Have to inform tutor this Saturday about it.

This CL 命题 for compo. really not easy! For exam is advisable to choose the picture compo. to avoid out of point unless the child is very good in this area.

This 命题 type of compo...cannot attempt esp for Chinese.
        I've told my son to avoid this type of situational writing for both EL and CL...with pic, he can't go out of point :xedfingers:[/quote]But my ds2 - they are all told to do 命题 . All the Higher CL students, that is.

Chenonceau

DS had HCL Paper 1 and Paper 2 today. He sat pensively in the car and waited till I had concluded my business with some vendors. Then he commented in subdued tones… "In terms of language use (for compo) I think I performed my best yet under time pressure… but I went out of point". He had written 3 pages versus 1 page at the start of the year… and he used more "good phrases" and "cheng yu".

He had chosen something called "ming ti zhuo wen". He could only choose this or "wan cheng gu shi". So he chose "ming ti".

Oh well… I told him that we needed to celebrate victories wherever we found them and so I was still really happy that he had written 3 pages of CHINESE in 50 minutes… and was able to use many of the expressions he had memorized.

pixiedust

..I was still really happy that he had written 3 pages of CHINESE in 50 minutes... and was able to use many of the expressions he had memorized.

I would be over the moon if my son can do that and write <10 wrong words !
            Great job your boy did ! He is pushing ahead with HCL ?

ming ti zhuo wen 命题作文 - is like our English continuous writing. Question gives a topic eg. A most unforgettable incident
            wan cheng gu shi 完成故事 - a few pictures and helping words given in question. like our English picture comp (but English only 1 pic).

ming ti zhuo wen - because no pictures to guide the content, there is a risk of writing out of point (especially if kid tries too hard to fit memorised phrases into the topic) but better chances of higher marks. Since this is a school exam, I think it is a good experience for him to weigh the risk and benefit. My ds will never dare to attempt ming ti zhuo wen.

Chenonceau

Pixie… yeah lor… he wrote outta point. But ok lah… he learnt something. His marks won’t show it but he and I know he has made a lotta improvement and that’s what matters. It’s nothing a hug and a cuddle won’t fix. He told me HCL has no picture compo so he had to choose between "ming ti" and "wan cheng gu shi".

Yup! He is still with HCL. I keep wanting to change him out but he said that since he is already working so hard on Chinese, may as well give a shot at HCL. I’ll wait till end of year to make a decision… but he does have a point. May as well kill 2 birds with one stone.

Peony

Alamak!! No like button to click on!

I like like like both your \"posts\", Chenonceau and Pixiedust! \"Celebrate victories\"!! :rahrah: :rahrah:

tinkfirst

My DD CA2 English and Mother Tongue Listening Comprehension is round the corner. Any methods of preparing beside listening to news on tv and radios? Any good type of assessment books can you reccomend? TIA

pixiedust

tinkfirst

Glad to see you back here ! I have been wondering where is the mom who started this useful thread for us. 😄

For English, I didn't get any.
                    For Chinese MT, I use Longman 'Chinese Listening Exam Practice'. I can't find the product image online. It comes with CD and answer script - bought it from Popular. I find it is not bad. If you come across good ones, update us too.

How are you coping with your P5 ?

Hi all,

2011 PSLE Oral will start next week ! In 12 months' time, it will be our turn ! My friends with kids taking PSLE said they are passed the :nailbite: stage and just can't wait for it to be over.

Term 3 will end in a few weeks but we still have so much to do. For Chinese we are still in :imdrowning: 😢 stage...hope to see some light soon.

Brenda10

pixiedust:
                      Hi all,

2011 PSLE Oral will start next week ! In 12 months' time, it will be our turn ! My friends with kids taking PSLE said they are passed the :nailbite: stage and just can't wait for it to be over.

Term 3 will end in a few weeks but we still have so much to do. For Chinese we are still in :imdrowning: 😢 stage...hope to see some light soon.
                      Yes, what you friend said is quite true.

Once the oral is over we left with 6 weeks and everything is over.

True that P5 have lot of topics to cover and things get better when move into P6.

Peony

Brenda10:
                        pixiedust:

Hi all,

Yes, what you friend said is quite true.

Once the oral is over we left with 6 weeks and everything is over.

True that P5 have lot of topics to cover and things get better when move into P6.

All the best for PSLE Brenda10!!

I cannot wait for this year to be over and the \"get better\" part to begin :xedfingers:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 128 / 151

zaizaimomZ
                        zaizaimom