Zoe Tay fails to get son enrolled in Nanyang Primary School

193 Posts 60 Posters 74.4k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      GPTeacher

Lindsay:

ZT son got in not through P2C, but P2A.

newspaper reported that ZT husband primary school almater mater is Henry Park (read last line) :-

http://edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/features/people/726034/Zoe_Tay_fails_to_get_son_in_Nanyang_Primary.html

Phase 2A is over right? Even if her hubby or her are alumni, they cannot apply through alumni now that the phase is over, correct? If so, should be Phase 2C and ballot to be fair.

That explains why they live near HPPS in the first place? The father probably grew up there and attended HPPS.

according to newspaper report - Philip Chionh was an old ex-alumni boy from Henry Park (the last line of page 2 states so.) His roots were from HPPS, had feelings for his alma mater, bought a house nearby.

http://edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/features/people/726034/Zoe_Tay_fails_to_get_son_in_Nanyang_Primary.html

so during the much earlier initial phase 2A, they had already registered their son at Henry Park successfully.

but at the same time, monitoring the tense situation for NYPS at 2B. In the end, because stay outside 2km, can’t smell any chance to ballot at all in NYPS.

hence now on NYPS waitlist, together with an extremely long, long list of many eager parents from (P2B PVs + P2Cs).

on orientation day in November, while some parents might crowd round ZT for autograph signing, perhaps ST journalists / reporters there as well, joining in the fun …. !!!

• KissguramiK Offline
          Kissgurami

mama_g:

Can like that mah??? if she would to try nanyang, she need to withdraw from Henry Park?? :?

Yes thats right however that never happend cause maybe Ny oredi inform her that no chance liao!

Agree with LKVM, She could have enrolled P2A2 where there were 59 applicants. why no one spoke about it, maybe people didn't feel there was a need to talk about it. she is still a parent registering her kid regardless of being a local celebrity.

Most , if not all, are aware to monitor the situation and only pull their kid out from P2A2 if they know there is a good chance at P2C hence why does it come off differently for Zoe? :scratchhead:

BigDevil

larkspur:
            Cos she dun have to do any volunteer work! do you know that mummies who wants to register for Tao Nan and Ai Tong have to fight to do volunteer works for over 80 hours in order to get the recommendation letters from SHHK? Some mummies even tried to do 100 hours and all just for the recommendation letters to go into phrase 2b. As a TV cast, she still can say i dun have to do volunteer work! I think quite unfair to those poor mummies who work so hard.

So you are now saying SHHK is being unfair? :roll:

• G Offline
              gancheongdaddy

lih_rabbit:

[quote=\"larkspur\"]
              i read from the chinese zaobao online that her hubby is an old boy of Henry Park. But the newspaper never mentioned if she registered under phrase 2A2 or not cos it seems newspaper just mention nanyang informs her that balloting for <1km. By the way when i read newspaper Lai Yi Ling ballot and got a place in Ai tong cos she is a member of SHHK and she dun need to do volunteer. i just get :stompfeet: Talking about privilege for these tv cast

If she got in via phase 2b ballot and she is a member of SHHK, how is it privilege for her as a TV cast?

The fact is she not born locally and can join SHHK is already surprising. Anyway, she is not the 1st case i heard about privilege given to artist.[/quote]You can join SHHK as long as you are Singapore citizen and your dialect group is Hokkien... so it doesn't matter where you are borned as long as you are converted to citizen before you join...

BigDevil

newspaper report that ZT husband primary school almater mater is Henry Park (read last line) :-

From the article:[quote]Considering her and her husband's financial situation, moving to an Orchard Road apartment within one kilometre of the school should not have been a problem, said the parent.[/quote]Orchard Road within 1km of NYPS meh :?

πŸ˜‚

dorisp

mama_g:
                  Very keen to know how did Zoe Tay got her son into Henry Park, in P2A2 (which was already over) or by P2C (which parent said cant recell her son's name to be call while balloting)??? Hmm.... its so \"under table\" life is never fair....

What do you mean by \"...its so \"under table\" life is never fair....\"? :?

KSP

She and her husband failed to get son enrolled in brand-name school, despite volunteering 80 hours.

SINGAPORE - Fame and fortune can get you many things, but it is apparently not enough to help get your son into a brand-name primary school in Singapore.

According to the Lianhe Zaobao, MediaCorp actress Zoe Tay, 43, and her husband, Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) pilot Philip Chionh, 42, have failed to enrol their eldest son, Brayden, 6, into Nanyang Primary School (NPS).

This is despite the high-profile couple putting in some 80 hours of voluntary work at the school, under the Ministry of Education's (MOE) parent volunteer scheme for primary one registration.

Under the scheme, parents may volunteer a minimum of 40 hours at the primary school of their choice, in order to increase the chances of their child gaining admission into the school.

But some elite schools like Nanyang primary - whose alumni includes Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Mandopop singer Stephanie Sun - have more stringent criteria.

Parents who wish to increase their child's chances of admission are required to volunteer a minimum of 80 hours at the school. And even then, the 'waiting list' to volunteer is a long one, with many parents vying for the opportunity, reported Zaobao.

The couple have two other boys - Ashton, 4, and Nathan, 10 months.

Madam Zhong, another parent volunteer at NPS, said she has seen the couple volunteering at the school.

Madam Zhong told Zaobao she saw Zoe's husband helping to take pictures of guests and dignitaries at an art exhibition held at the school.

\"It could be that Zoe was pregnant with Nathan at the time, that's why her husband helped out,\" said Madam Zhong.

The news that the veteran actress has failed in her bid to enrol her son at the school should take some netizens by surprise.

Speculations have been rife on some forums that celebrity parents such as Zoe, would definitely get priority when it comes to the primary school registration.

Insiders say many schools in Singapore are autonomous and have to hold fund-raising activities to run the school programmes.

Therefore the feeling on the ground is that a celebrity who endorses the fund-raising event will stand a greater chance of being a parent volunteer at the school.

But Zoe's failed bid also proves that the school is fair in treating all parents equally.

One parent told Zaobao that Zoe \"lost out\" on the opportunity, because she \"did not do enough homework\" in ensuring that her home was within a one- or two-kilometre radius of the school.

This would give her son another chance of getting a place at the school by being eligible for the balloting process, if there are still vacancies.

She said actress lives at Holland Road, which is more than two kilometres away from the Bukit Timah school.

Considering her and her husband's financial situation, moving to an Orchard Road apartment within one kilometre of the school should not have been a problem, said the parent.

But as she did not do so, she forfeited her last chance of balloting for a place in the final phase of registration, said the parent.

Henry Park Primary School for Brayden

When interviewed by Zaobao, Zoe admitted that she was not able to get her son into the school. She said she chose NPS not just because its prestige and illustrious alumni, but also because of its focus on Mandarin.

Zoe had hoped that Brayden could get a good foundation in Mandarin and Chinese culture at the school.

But now, it seems the six-year-old may be enrolling in his father's alma mater - Henry Park Primary School.

larkspur

BigDevil:
                      larkspur:

Cos she dun have to do any volunteer work! do you know that mummies who wants to register for Tao Nan and Ai Tong have to fight to do volunteer works for over 80 hours in order to get the recommendation letters from SHHK? Some mummies even tried to do 100 hours and all just for the recommendation letters to go into phrase 2b. As a TV cast, she still can say i dun have to do volunteer work! I think quite unfair to those poor mummies who work so hard.

looking at the post,then i feel i must have been terribly stupid to go and volunteer since we are always warned by those doing the volunteering parents that this will increase our chance

• G Offline
                        gancheongdaddy

BigDevil:
                        larkspur:

I think the primary condition is the membership tenure... ie the longer you join SHHK, the higher the chance you will get the recommendation letter... Volunteering will help to score more point if the membership tenure is the same... For my case, I've joined SHHK for 2 years and have volunteered for 50 hours but I did not get the letter whereas my neighbour joined SHHK for 10 years (even before he got married) and volunteered 0 hour and he got the letter... and I was told the reason is my membership tenure is too short compared to the rest.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 20

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring