2011 P1 Registration Exercise for 2012 In-Take
ateo:
once you have come to this stage of phase 2c (s) ...the leftover are all those craps school (as those prefered ones are all being taken up in phase 2c balloting)....so no need to panick anymore ..end of the day every child in singapore will get a place. it does not matter going to which leftover school i.e. 'ABC PRIMARY' SCHOOL OR 'BCD PRIMARY SCHOOL' AS ALL ARE EQUALLY CRAP.....................(this system is suck....) why pr and new citizen are entitled to apply in phase 2c ....(did they served national service....otherwise why is their descendent on level field with our children in school registration).
I don't think you should generalise that all the leftover schools from phase 2C are crap, not being the 1st choice school doesn't mean they are crap. All schools whether 1st or 2nd choice schools have room for improvement and the non-popular ones may also become popular in future. It is not uncommon to see some schools become popular because of a few bright or hardworking students that happen to score well and bring up the profile of the school. -
Yes, I agree wtih patntee. Not all left over schools are "craps"β¦some are out of the way tatβs why not so popular. Does not mean that your child goes to a "branded" school and they will come out with great results!
ateo:
once you have come to this stage of phase 2c (s) ...the leftover are all those craps school (as those prefered ones are all being taken up in phase 2c balloting)....so no need to panick anymore ..end of the day every child in singapore will get a place. it does not matter going to which leftover school i.e. 'ABC PRIMARY' SCHOOL OR 'BCD PRIMARY SCHOOL' AS ALL ARE EQUALLY CRAP.....................(this system is suck....) why pr and new citizen are entitled to apply in phase 2c ....(did they served national service....otherwise why is their descendent on level field with our children in school registration).
I agree... the balance school are definitely not crap school.. it is quite unfair and uncalled for to make such remarks.. -
ateo:
woah... Degrading the schools to the word \"Crap\" is really uncalled for.
Seems to be some form of jumping onto a band wagon to target schools now. -
What's left in Phase 2C(S) and beyond cannot be labeled as \"crap\"...some are just not very accessible and do not produce top-notch academic results as compared to those \"branded\" ones. I am one of those who went and applied in Phase 2C(S) after being balloted out in those popular schools. The school which I enroled my DD in is a \"decent\" school that offers a nice schooling environment. Also, some of its students have managed to move on to study in top sec schools after their PSLE.
I can't deny that some schools around my neighborhood that are still offering vacancies in Phase 2C(S) are not as good as others in terms of their academic results, but again it all boils down to individual preference and upbringing. I decided to place my DD further away because I wanted her to study in an environment that is better than what I have and observe in my neighborhood. The one that I have chosen for her is not very accessible but as I said, it has a nice schooling environment. The rest has wait to be seen as she progresses in her study.
Nowadays, doing PV also can't guarantee us a place. I tried applying for PV before and was rejected. Some told me that you will be chosen if you know who's who in the committee. Well, I guess I didn't know who's who and ain't a popular figure myself either...LOL. After applying unsuccessfully as PV and going through balloting unsuccessfully (damn \"suay\" ar...LOL...), I will not choose to go down that path again
It's a good lesson learnt for a KS parent like myself who tried to compete with the rest of KS parents for a place in popular sch...if only the current policy can be reviewed and changed...life will be different now... -
LKVM,
which school is yr child in now ? -
[quote]if only the current policy can be reviewed and changed...[/quote]
Actually no policy change can take away the parents' obsession with getting their kids into the 'popular' schools.
30 years ago, the MOE did not have all these different phases etc and the popular schools ran by the churches, clans etc had a lot more leeway in setting the criteria for admission. That was the time when you could still make donations to get into the chools.
The system is a lot more organised now and the discretion given to the schools are very limited, donations are no longer allowed. The rules regarding PV, distance priority etc are clear unlike in the past. Balloting while it causes anguish to many is actually the fairest way in a situation where demand exceeds supply.
And demand exceeding supply for popular schools is a situation that will not change although the total supply of primary one places is more than sufficient for all applicants. This was the case 30 years and will continue.
I feel we need to count our blessings - at least in Spore unlike some other developed countries, every one has opportunity to apply to a 'good' school and not be left with 'public schools' because you have no money to attend private schools.
Further the standards defer greatly between the public schools and private schools unlike in Singapore where the standards are quite consistent - there is a common curriculum and MOE ensures schools are given the necessary resources. That's why within the last 30 years, many MOE neighbourhood schools have done so well and their standards have caught up with or exceeded that of the mission schools and clan schools. -
aiyo... nonsense lah!!! ultimately, all will still be sitting for the same PSLE paper...I agree with you!!... I also applied for school in p2cs cause I was balloted out in the earlier phase... however the current school is much better in terms of my DS1's expectations and he is doing good.
This school doesnt have too many hdb's near to it and its little difficult to access, thats why not so popular. They might not have too many pupils as top scorers however they have very good average PSLE score and the teachers as well as P are just excellent...
I would really feel offended if someone say that schools left in P2CS are crap schools... -
Mod's Note
All discussions on Zoe Tay & Vivian Lai, have been merged into the following thread
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=24816
kindly continue your discussion there.
@LKVM: The school that I enroled my DD is not in HDB area. And when I was there to register, the students are pretty obedient and not rowdy. Again, it's hard to judge by spending a few hours in the sch but I have a good hunch and of course, I hope I am right when DD starts her terms there
@poppy15: Ya, that's the consolation I got from my hb...He too said all sit for the same paper ultimately...so if want to compete, compete when PSLE comes...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.