Just curious, is P1 really that stressful for kids…?
reading the preparing for P1 and kind of get the feeling that Primary school becomes like an educational slaughter house for kids…
DD1 chinese enrichment already has those bite size enrichment from nowhere. She did well coz she spends ard 30mins a day revising
DDs still have loads of time to play, CC even more time to do science things, art/craft. DD1 loves her maths enrichment and DD2 is begging me for it… hiaz
They do have a nag at me about wanting to do this and that… which I will say no or yes depending…
places? we have our special friday night dinner, going to bring them to geylang serai this week… they seem happy to me and overactive lol -
no wor... mummy of 3 having sushi lagi best :-p!!MintyMin:
wah liew.. still trying to make us hungry w ur carrot cake.. luckily i got ulcer.. not interested.. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
ulcer still healing?
But sushi doesnt sound breakfast to me.. more for lunch.. :evil:
Yupz.. healing liao.. much better.. going to down more water today.. shld b recovering soon. Thanks!
just scare.. and my imagination just runs wild hiazMintyMin:
dare not slp? y not?
Oooo.. when m slpy.. i dun bother.. i juz zzzzzzzzzzzzz... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
I am a super light sleeper.... :faint:
Oooo.. when m slpy.. i dun bother.. i juz zzzzzzzzzzzzz... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Just curious, is P1 really that stressful for kids...?
reading the preparing for P1 and kind of get the feeling that Primary school becomes like an educational slaughter house for kids....
DD1 chinese enrichment already has those bite size enrichment from nowhere. She did well coz she spends ard 30mins a day revising
DDs still have loads of time to play, CC even more time to do science things, art/craft. DD1 loves her maths enrichment and DD2 is begging me for it... hiaz
They do have a nag at me about wanting to do this and that... which I will say no or yes depending..
places? we have our special friday night dinner, going to bring them to geylang serai this week... they seem happy to me and overactive lol
Not sure leh.. Coz m still quite lax abt it.. Not much educational activities at hm.. except colouring, reading books, etc.. I tink u r doing more den i do..
As for ur DD2 wanting to go to maths enrichment like DD1.. i guess it happens to all, as tatz the reason y my DD1 is in maths enrichment and swimming too..
We occasionally go out for movies as a family, n if DH dun feel lazy.. we will have picnics, whh my kids love.. esp DS.. he's been asking for it again.. He has a lot of.. 'i want to do tis' 'i want to go here', etc.. -
Oic.. no wonder..
I am a super light sleeper.... :faint:MintyMin:
I get haunted quite a fair bit by DDs on their assessments... :faint:Not sure leh.. Coz m still quite lax abt it.. Not much educational activities at hm.. except colouring, reading books, etc.. I tink u r doing more den i do..
As for ur DD2 wanting to go to maths enrichment like DD1.. i guess it happens to all, as tatz the reason y my DD1 is in maths enrichment and swimming too..
We occasionally go out for movies as a family, n if DH dun feel lazy.. we will have picnics, whh my kids love.. esp DS.. he's been asking for it again.. He has a lot of.. 'i want to do tis' 'i want to go here', etc..
they get bored with TV after 2 hours on weekends... weekdays.. time for tv is rather little coz they need to pack their room, pack their bags and watch me cook :rotflmao: or we will be out for dinner...
ya... I don't feel that stress either.. more worried on social integration rather than academics lol
I stll remb when I was young... I was given much more assessment books to do then DDs now... coz my mum is a firm believer that any foundation starts from young... -
TV on weekdays is usually limit frm 30mins to an hr a day.. sometimes i nid more 'me' time to myself.. den i m guilty of giving them 2hrs tv a day.. Whereas for weekends, tv is usually on only on sunday evenings.. like a movie time, where they get to choose a movie to watch..
hmm... mayb i shld start getting DS to pack his own cc bag.. :evil:
I guess most kids tat attend CC has no prob with social integration bah.. tatz my tot lah.. :rotflmao:
As for assessment books.. i noe i was a kid tat finished up every new assessment book within weeks.. but when i was in pri sch.. i dislike assessment books to the max.. so i guess i shldn't start my kids too young on tat.. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
haha yes! , the "me" time is extremely important to me… not that I won’t miss DDs or how but gives me a space to breathe
hiaz… I used to be the kid who finish an assessment book every other week… single child nothing better else to do so do assessment lol
I don’t have a helper :-p, so DDs would need to do most of their things on their own… -
P1 stress- really depends on parents’, and to some extent teachers’ expectations. If you are always expecting perfect scores and no corrections at all, then sure torturous time for child and parent.
Social integration- my children were always getting birthday invites throughout the early years in primary school. Though I admit my dd took a longer time to gel with kakis than my ds.
Foundation- reading and number skills are essential headstart. Then just reinforce whatever is taught in school. NOT with assessment books but more hands-on activities and daily life application (supermarket shopping, reading directions etc) Assessment and exam papers should be minimal- IMHO
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.