All About Pre-school Math Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    210 Posts 95 Posters 304.4k Views 1 Watching
      micollh

any good maths teaching to share? at home and also enrichment classes?

titank

Anyone know where can get those Maths training materials in which we can teach the kids like Ones, Tens, Hundreds, Thousands.?

Meaning that 10 tens is 100, 1 ten is 10. Sort of like a lego cubes etc etc material.

Growing Fun bro! Affordable price too! 😉

I shared some places parents can get from here.
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=454276#p454276

Your girl still with the Montessori enrichment?
          How is she doing?

hi buds,

do you think MPM enrichment is necessary, if kid has gone thru Montessori Maths before ?

titank

Growing Fun bro! Affordable price too! 😉

I shared some places parents can get from here.
              http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=454276#p454276

Your girl still with the Montessori enrichment?
              How is she doing?
              :salute: Thanks very much, hunting high & low don't know where to find. Wow most likely I would get the 2cm cube. The Linking Base 10 seem complicated leh.

Have switch away from Montessori enrichment but now also into English & Maths. Too far lah & I can't tahan the travelling. :gloomy:

Now reading program she is fine, Maths she is confused with addition & substraction. Meaning when I finish teaching the addititon & do substraction , she blur. I teach until I also :frustrated:

Hi phtthp, i am inclined to note that each methodology is unique to its own and has its own strengths. MPM and Montessori is a wee similar in which in encourages children to find answers instead of asking for answers with sensorial materials to work with, except that MPM's is very colourful. 😉 If you have the extra $ to send for both.. why not? Maybe MPM might be more fun! It's already exciting looking at the materials. Not having done/gone thru with MPM on a personal level to date, i cannot comment much on its curriculum & delivery but i believe with a good Montessori teacher & centre to equip a child for P1 should be sufficient. But that's just my opinion. I encourage you to do more research, ok? I will too. :celebrate:

Titank.. bro.. i knew the travelling will kill after awhile just like how i always advise parents. Distance is the key especially if the child is young. The duration taken for travel and sit for classes and then back home again will wear anyone down. PM me where she is now, can? :please:

As for the confusion, with relevance to her age.. try to work with her one concept at a time. ie. if you're doing addition try not to do subtraction at the same time. Ensure that she has a good grasp of addition first before going on to run through subtraction concepts with her. After which you work on addition with carry over... and so on.

Yes, the one from Growing Fun is the best buy in my opinion.. 😉 I have both the Montessori Golden Bank of Beads and the Base Ten set from Growing Fun. :celebrate: I just love my treasure collection. :please:

• jkidsJ Offline
                  jkids

Hi…

i realise the p1 maths worksheet are tricky, i.e not straight forward. so
                  if my purpose of enroling my child for maths enrichment is to prepare her for P1 maths, is MPM the right choice? or i should just enrol her for p1 prepatory course, or it is same as MPM? any MPM in north part to recommend?

she has been learning abacus for more than half a yr, but it doesnt seem to benefit her. as there is homework, we need to go thro with her. and i duno whether its "difficult" or she has problem understanding the concept for her age, she will not rem how to use the abacus and every lesson we go thro with her, we have to teach her again how to use abacus to get the ans. very frustrating for all of us. we have been thinking whether to stop the abacus lesson and start with her with math enrichment class…

micollh

from the votes, seems like MPM is the favourite among parents here for pre-schooler… anyone with MPM buangkok MRT branch ? is the teacher good?

work4astar

My preferred Math Enrichment Class is JEI PSLEMath. This is not in the vote list above 🙂

izu

Hi Buds,

R u familiar withe the Montessori class offered at BRMCK? Are they authentic? With relevant Montessori materials esp Math?

Or better to send kid to a Montessori cc?

thx

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 18 / 21

sterlinghouseS
                        sterlinghouse
                        MomoidM
                        Momoid