Does your child's kindergarten give Homework?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    17 Posts 12 Posters 7.1k Views 1 Watching
      clioclio

hello kiasu parents,

just want to ask if at which level does your child's preschool/childcare gives out homework ? Is it very prevalent in the first place that preschoolers are given homework?
      My daughter is in Nursery in a church kindy in Seng kang and they donot give homework even at k1 or k2 level. We are moving house soon and i am thinking of enroling my 2 girls in another church kindy near our new plce.
      I called to enquire abt their curriculum and again they too say they do not give homework to K1 or k2 pupils.

If your child's preschool does give out HW, how is it like? Worksheets or pages of workbook to complete or ...?? Thanks for enlightening me. :please:

smartmummy

Hi!

My DD in K1 in a preschool. She has 4 EL and 3 MT splling a week.She has one A3 page of handwriting homework for a week.Personally, I feel is good.

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

My DS’s kindergarten did handout homework about once a month, meant to let parents to go through the work with their child and have a better understanding of their child’s progress & ability.

We told the teacher that we preferred not to have homework. After that, she let DS completes all the work in class.

My ds2’s church kindy gives out homework. He is in K1.

Personally, i like it because they are very managable.
            Spelling and Tingxie on alternate week (5-8words each).
            Once a week have English tracing and MT tracing. 1 page each. Never on the same day.
            Before long weekends or holidays, will have extra 1-2 page activities (eg matching, fill in the blanks etc).

Ds1 was in a different Kindergarten 4yrs ago. No homework. I just supplement with assessment at home. On hindsight, feel that the school should enforce and highlight the importance that tracing activities are to train motorskills (now ds1’s handwriting is bad). And it trains discipline too. My ds2 will do his school work in auto mode after we established a routine and after being made to erase and rewrite, he now ensures he write well the first round to avoid repeating that activity.

• E Offline
              e3nity

DS CC gives Home Activites for parents to work with the child 1-2 times a month… Every week DS has 5 spelling words and 6 tingxie words/han yu pin ying to learn… other than those, he don’t hav any homework… Instead i’ll make sure he do a page or 2 english or maths assessment daily…

SAHM_TAN

For my kindy, only K2 have homework, like spelling, and some worksheets. All work are done in school. Her kindy is 4hrs.

The N1-K2 will have a storybook to take home everywk.

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

I’ve a K2. She is given homework on friday and is supposed to bring back on monday. So far the worksheets are about filling in the blanks and recently, it’s about singular and plural. They have weekly EL spelling.

clioclio

thanks for the feedback.. maybe i should also reinforce with worksheets/assessment for my DD at home too..

But can i just ask, is it too'Kiasu' to write in the Comms book what lesson/topic the kids are doing for the week so that i can complement with assessment ofthe same topic? Paiseh leh, like so kiasu likedat. :oops:

- Shalom church kindergarten (Pasir Ris) give homework + school holiday assignments too (contents in depth). 😂

- Barker road church kindergarten also give homework assignments.

- Newton church kindergarten also give homework on Friday, supervised by parents.

inside the child's green bag contains homework for English, Maths, Chinese. Come Monday submit back to form teachers to mark.

Magdalene catholic kindergarten also give homework, in gentle portion age appropriate. 😂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 2