All About Flu and Cough
heutistmeintag:
ya this i agree.. gp always so long nv tell me got ear infection or wat but after i go pd they will check very thorough..IMHO, GPs are general practitioners and they may not be experienced to treat the children with more persistent or percular problems. Logically, they will be more conservative and give less \"powerful\" medications. So, it's a little trial and error for them. If you take this badly, then they are like experimenting with your kids.
You may want to check with paediatricians. Besides experiences and more specialized knowledge, they also have access to \"better\" medications. I learnt this from my paediatrician when he told me that his medications can only be prescribed by paediatricians. So for this benefit, obviously you have to foot the higher cost of paediatricians.
To balance this higher cost and reduce the sufferings of my kids, I usually bring them to GPs first. If no improvement after first visit, I bring them to paediatrician. Of course, my paediatrician is unhappy because I am doctor hopping in a way.
So the point I am trying to raise is PLEASE dun experiment with GPs or worse experiment different medications on your kids based on recommendation (despite the goodwill behind it). If we parents are prepared to spend hundreds or thousands of dollars on mind enrichment, why arent we spending a few more tens on qualified advices for their basic physical healthcare ??? :shock: -
breguet:
We tried sambucol - next to useless for us, sadly. Manuka honey is fabulous for us though. Try and get UMF 20, which is considered medical grade. My son actually hates the sweet taste, but it's ridiculously effective at the onset of cough, runny nose.
think diff kids react diff to diff vit ba.. anyone try cod liver oil.. -
Aloysiusbb:
...ya lor.. my son also keep eating medicine like medicine box.. :lol:
Not sure if I mentioned before. Make sure your child gargles after taking medicine, especially at night. The sugar content in the syrup was enough to cause major decay in 2 of my son's milk teeth by the time he was 4 year old. -
breguet:
We tried sambucol - next to useless for us, sadly. Manuka honey is fabulous for us though. Try and get UMF 20, which is considered medical grade. My son actually hates the sweet taste, but it's ridiculously effective at the onset of cough, runny nose.
I thot young children cannot take above UMF 10???? Anything above UMF 10 is for adults. -
My boy has cough and get sick very easily every other months but since after we gave him the vitakid cod liver oil recommended by my neighbour, we have found tremendous improvement... it has been almost half year already.. he caught one minor flu once but recovered the very next day..
So mummies if you are trouble over your child getting sick so easily, you might want to try this..
yup u metion but my son dun know how to gargle leh.. just let hm drink water.Aloysiusbb:
...ya lor.. my son also keep eating medicine like medicine box.. :lol:
Not sure if I mentioned before. Make sure your child gargles after taking medicine, especially at night. The sugar content in the syrup was enough to cause major decay in 2 of my son's milk teeth by the time he was 4 year old. -
2sweethearts:
i tried giving my son cod liver oil he totally reject it..My boy has cough and get sick very easily every other months but since after we gave him the vitakid cod liver oil recommended by my neighbour, we have found tremendous improvement... it has been almost half year already.. he caught one minor flu once but recovered the very next day..
So mummies if you are trouble over your child getting sick so easily, you might want to try this..
ej_mum:
I went to the website read thru, seems reali quite gd, haha, but it oni say for cold & flu, cough oso got use?? reali?? I will go and try... hehehe, thks alot...[/quote]my son got g6pd can he take it..
It is a kind of immunity booster:-bitchymum:
[quote=\"ej_mum\"]
O.o, thks... btw, is sambucol a kind of medicine or vitamin??? ^.^ Outside Pharmacy can buy??
http://www.sambucol.com/index.cfm?id=336
http://www.sambucol.com/index.cfm?id=345
I bought the range for children .... you can get in Vitakids at Forum gallery. Or you can get it from http://www.drugstore.com which is much cheaper -
My son also got g6pd, I let him take the cracked lingzhi spores pill. It actually help boost the immune system. When he have symptom of getting sick, I will give him one of those pill. So far so good.
For his cough, I gave him Cordyceps powdered pills, suppose to boost the lung and breathing functions. -
my sis-in-law recommend that i boil some crocodile meat soup for my girl since she always cough and chesty. She made this soup once every week for his son when he was very young and she told me it is not only for ashmatic children. The soup helps to build up his immune system. Not sure if it is effective. Has any1 tried this method?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.