Check your singtel bill!

19 Posts 11 Posters 10.6k Views 1 Watching
      mathsparks

Most welcome! I cancelled my girl’s contract when it expired but hubby signed her up with singtel again as he wanted to replace his mobile. :x

FMz

From my point of view… if one dun have the needs for the VAS… cancel it immediately on the day of subscription… no point getting it just becos its free…

i did just tat for all my 3 subscriptions…

Its a smart business move to "con" money legally on the part of the telco, but subscriber also has responsibility over their own decision making…

tats why the contracts are signed with those who are >21yo…

my 2cts

mathsparks:
          Most welcome! I cancelled my girl's contract when it expired but hubby signed her up with singtel again as he wanted to replace his mobile. :x

Heheh... can't get away from the big red one, eh? Anyway, in my opinion, our 3 telcos are pretty much all the same in terms of performance and coverage and local plans. The difference comes in when it comes to roaming with other countries.

mathsparks

FMz:
            From my point of view.... if one dun have the needs for the VAS.... cancel it immediately on the day of subscription..... no point getting it just becos its free.......
            I wasn't referring to those free first 6 mths services.

I was talking about those services where they sent you an sms and you're supposed to unsubscribe if you don't want the service. Girl didn't read the lengthy sms thoroughly, thot it was just some kind of promotions and didn't unsubscribe. Can't expect my dad to do that either.

Hence my post was to warn ppl of such services (offered thru' sms) where you'll be billed if you didn't unsubscribe.

There are many elderly, children and busy folks out there paying $2 per month for services they didn't subscribe. Work that out and you know how exploitative and profitable the telco is.

It would be better to channel these to charity. So ridiculous!

schellen

It’s also not fair cos some people can’t read English or can’t read English well enough to understand that they have to unsubscribe.

FMz

mathsparks:
                FMz:

From my point of view.... if one dun have the needs for the VAS.... cancel it immediately on the day of subscription..... no point getting it just becos its free.......

I wasn't referring to those free first 6 mths services.

I was talking about those services where they sent you an sms and you're supposed to unsubscribe if you don't want the service. Girl didn't read the lengthy sms thoroughly, thot it was just some kind of promotions and didn't unsubscribe. Can't expect my dad to do that either.

Hence my post was to warn ppl of such services (offered thru' sms) where you'll be billed if you didn't unsubscribe.

There are many elderly, children and busy folks out there paying $2 per month for services they didn't subscribe. Work that out and you know how exploitative and profitable the telco is.

It would be better to channel these to charity. So ridiculous!

got such thingy meh???

OMG.. never receive them b4.... think either Im not consider their premium customer or becos Im taking MIO plan instead of the independent price plan.....

watmekiasu

This reminds me of the time I was charged over $150 for 2 months for some kind of games on the telco or whatever. This was Singtel, btw. My mistake not to check my bills. Anyway, when I realised this, I called them up immediately. They claimed that I had subscribed for this and would terminate it if I wished. However, I would have to pay for the sum billed. I disputed this (very politely initially) and after many calls and finally getting aggressive with them, they finally decided to waive part of the charges. By then, I was so sick and tired of dealing with them that I agreed to it just to end the unpleasant experience.

Another thing that I noticed about Singtel is that they do not print their telephone numbers anywhere on their bills or contract. Guess they don’t like receiving calls from their clients. It’s like once you’ve signed on the dotted line, don’t call us.

mathsparks

Just to add my frustration with mio. To watch digital TV, we had to power up 3 gadgets..(pai seh not sure the name)..use 2 remote control (so complex, I had to ask son) and even then, the show lags so frequent we practically give up watching and put up with the grainy pics we get otherwise.

Like the recent F1 broadcast, we see lagging scenes and pixellated ones too. It's as if we are watching a pirated movie. :x It's difficult to get an appt with them. They finally turned up some weeks ago to change our phone line and it did solve the problem for a while.

Yes and the mio-digital phone is just as frustrating. I think it's my philips phone...fully charged, but battery goes flat within seconds..still within warranty..but too lazy to send for service..

My rambling is...I still prefer the analog phone..which means I have to pay for another line. 😢 If it were possible to cable my home without paying more than 6k, I would've done so..than be stuck with singtel.

Moving on..I can't imagine all the frustrated football fans next year.:rant:

Oh ya, insider, the above is a warning to potential mio customers like you. If singtel doesn't get their act together by next June..The men in your house will be tearing their hair out...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 2