Club Breastfeeding Mums
For me, during my maternity leave, I direct breast-feed every time. Almost gave up after 2 weeks because I was really tired with DS sucking almost every hourly and in-between sleeping on my BF pillow so I hardly get up or sleep properly!
Also did not know how much DS feeding since my breast mostly flat from the frequent sucking but knew he was drinking well since he poo and pee a lot!
Glad I did not give up (through DH’s insistence) and I only pump out using Avent handpump after I go back to work. Mendela too small for me! -
Terry,
I hear Medela is very strong. Some like it, but it may not suit all. As SAHM_TAN suggests, try hand expression to help your nipples heal. Google Marmet Technique. I much prefer hand expression as there is no need to wash pump and no nipple pain. But you need a bit of time to get used to it.
Now you’re feeling worried and depressedl. I was like that after delivery as well. I’m a breastfeeding counsellor and even I cried out of fear that I didn’t have enough milk for DS3 (and I breastfed my older two)! I was miserable for several weeks. But after the first 6 weeks, things settled down.
Just continue to feed your little one and don’t forget to rest and relax, or your body won’t be at it’s most efficient milk producing state! I read somewhere that when farmers played soothing music to their cows, they increased their milk yield! my equivalent of soothing music is TV, what’s yours? -
Terry,
and most women’s bodies are designed to produce enough milk. Otherwise the human race would’ve died out already…so a low supply is not usually caused by genetics. It’s usually the result of sub-optimal breastfeeding management, e.g. Use of artificial teats, use of supplements, infrequent feeding, poor latch etc.
But before you worry about increasing your supply, you need to ask yourself, do you really have low milk supply? Some women really have low milk supply, but many only think they do, because or people tell them they do, or because, we can’t tell how much is going in.
So, ask yourself, does baby have enough dirty diapers? Is baby happy after feeds? Does baby look like he’s growing (if you can’t weigh, just look at how well that first shirt he wore fits him now). If the answer is yes, then you probably are producing enough for him. Maybe not enough for a baby whale, but enough for him…
Whether to pump or not? Well, pump only if you are at risk of having low milk supply (e.g. Due to certain health conditions, prior breast surgery etc.) or are already in a low milk supply situation, or baby has a health condition and the demand from baby is not quite there. If everything is normal, nursing on demand is sufficient.
For the next few days, maybe stop pumping with the machine. Nurse on demand. If you feel like your breasts are full after nursing, hand express, but don’t need to nurse between feeds. Get some rest instead. Apply ointment or breast milk to sore nipples. Stop artificial teats. Get latch fixed. Observe baby’s diaper output. Then see how things develop. It won’t hurt to take fenugreek, though it will not be necessary if you actually already have enough milk.
Big hug going out to you! -
Terry,
BB's latching on will only increase your milk production. I heard a theory recently... that biologically, when BB's lips are on your nipple, it would send a signal to your body to produce the type and amount of milk that BB needs! And if you really think about it... it makes sense!! Just like when BB was attached to us via the umbilical cord!
But what is also important to increase milk are :
1) Lots of rest and sleep! SLEEP A LOT as much as you want! Any time of the day! Sleep when BB sleeps!
2) Drink lots of fluids, I drink up to 3 liters of water a day! of which about 1.5 liters were just plain warm water, and the rest were red dates tea (but do not make it too strong)
3) Make sure that you are taking enough iron rich food, I have found that beef is great for that! Also eat Drumstick leaves (Moringa oleifera lam)! It is an Indian and Filipino solution to increasing milk... and it also helps ensure your source of dietary fiber too!
4) Most importantly, believe in yourself! Believe that you do have enough milk! When BB is suckling, imagine all the milk pouring out into BB. Relax and smile.
Here is a great source of information on breastfeeding and related issues you may face. http://www.kellymom.com just search what you want to find out.
Keep it up, afterall, how did humans feed our babies before formula milk was created!!
P.S. Oh yes, by the way, get a breastfeeding pillow and a comfortable chair to sit on when you bf. It is a lot easier when your body can relax as BB is suckling
I used to fall asleep on my chair when BB was suckling and lying on her breastfeeding pillow 
Hi Terry,
I'd like to add on to what all the mummies have mentioned here. You might like to request for motilium if your milk supply IS low. These are pills that will boost your milk supply.
I took them for a while as DS2 was hospitalized and after he was discharged, to ensure that he gained back his lost weight fast. My PD recommended the pills. I am currently taking fenugreek pills.
Anyway, for me personally, pumping has increased my milk supply, but I only saw the results some time after DS2 turned 6 weeks. I was also advised by the PD to pump 1 side while nursing him with the other if possible, and not to give him the bottle until after 6 weeks. Don't be put off by the initial meager amount. Once you establish a three hour routine,
you will notice that your milk supply will increase. I started with 1 ounce and now can pump up to 4 ounces from 1 breast. One thing to take note is that milk supply may not be so great in the afternoons. Mornings and nights are the best .... for me at least. This is so much different from when I nursed DS1 cuz I never pumped then except for a short period of time before and when I went overseas for a short holiday. With the first child, I always felt that my milk supply was never enough even with the fenugreek pills. He fed often and cried often too.
This time, I made sure that I enlisted the help of lactation consultants from the hospital who taught me to massage my nipples before nursing DS2 to
open the pores so that the milk would flow out, so that DS2 would not have to 'work hard' to get the milk flowing. Then a private consultation eradicated the nipple soreness I was suffering from. It seemed that the baby was not latching on properly and I was advised to use the 'football hold' when direct breastfeeding. After that, no more sore nipples. And oh yes, I found the breastfeeding pillow very useful while nursing. You might want to consider that ......
Please DO NOT give up. I thought it was the end of the world when the
doctor insisted I introduce formula to DS2 when he was losing weight at the hospital. I thought he would reject my breast, but he didn't. In fact, I do
believe he didn't like the formula, as it always took him about an hour to finish the bottle. Within 2 weeks after being discharged, he went cold turkey on the formula and we have not looked back.
You can also read Gina Ford's The New Contended Little Baby Book. It talks about settling babies into a routine and she also advises how one can increase breast milk through routine breastfeeding and pumping.
You need to eat and rest well, among other factors, for your milk supply to increase. On the days that I do not sleep well, my milk supply when I pump is not very high.
Just my 2 cents .... hope you find them useful
Hi Terry. Saw your posts here and just wanted to cheer you on. i know how it feels like because i also very nearly gave up breastfeeding. Similar circumstances to yours, my bb won’t latch on, sore nipples, doubts abt whether enough milk. But persisted and now i’m still breastfeeding my toddler. Things may look tough now but it will become easier later on once you cross the first few hurdles.
Think the other mommies have given you great advice. Totally agree with them- don’t let anyone tell you that you don’t have enough milk. The supply is actually very much a function of demand, so the more bb nurses, the more milk there is. So hang in there, things do get easier! -
patntee:
CayennePepper, omgmum, you are amazing to breastfeed for so long. Sometimes I regret going on that path for my DS when he behaves so addicted to latching. It's embarrasing when we are outside and he wants to pull up my top and makes a big fuss crying and screaming when he doesn't get his way. He is only 15mths now. Did you face similar problems before? If yes, how did you manage?
Sorry for the late reply. I have a nursing bib for emergencies. If can't find nursing room, then nurse in car. I've never been brave enough to nurse in public cos dd will pull up the bib.
I make sure that dd is well- fed and pack snacks for her. If I can sense her wanting to latch, I'll pass her to someone else. After a few times, dd got the message that we only nurse when we're in private. But yes, just recently, she tried to pull my top up, in front of my male friends! :yikes:
Usually, we just hurry balik kampung when dd gets cranky. -
Hi Terry, what all the mummies say is true. Wah, that tmc hotline is really lousy! What right on earth does the lc have to tell you that you don't have enough milk? Especially on the phone, without a personal consultation. Be aware that not lcs are good, choose those with certification and who have personally breastfed their babies. I always thought that lcs who have never breastfed, especially those without certifications, are like driving instructors who do not drive! Most importantly, look and seek advice from ppl whom have done it and who tell you you can succeed.
Babies are the best pumps, and just because you can only express out 40 ml, doesn't mean that you are only producing 40ml. It just means that the pump can only get 40 ml out. Many things can affect output, like whether the funnel is of the right size, whether you are relaxed enough to have a letdown etc. When using pumps, do start with the smallest setting, esp if your nipples are sore, before slowly increasing the strength. You should not
feel pain when expressing, only a gentle pull on the aereole.
As for sore nipples, what I did was to survive on 8 normal panadols a day and keep using lanai oh nipple cream. Both nipples were sore and bleeding cos I have short nipples and dd couldn't latch properly. But I was worried that dd would go hungry so I didn't unlatch her when I felt pain. Big mistake! You have to stop once you feel pain. You can go to http://www.drjacknewman.com for latching videos. Personally, I find it most comfortable when dd gets more of the lower half of the breast and and most of the aerole. Her upper and lower lips have to be flipped out like fish lips, and I do it with my fingers if they are not.
The other mummies are right about the marmet hand expression. I used it when I was having v bad sore nipples and engorgement. It really helped to loosen the blocked ducts and was so painless, compared to the painful kneading from mt e and tmc lcs that left me all bruised and raw. And using the technique, I could express more milk than when I was using the pump.
Do pls try the hand expression technique.
Pls don't let anyone tell you that you don't have enough milk. I'm really quite flat chested and I mean really, but I've managed to produce enough to breastfeed dd exclusively for 6 months and after that to supplement her solids with bf till now.
If anyone tells you you don't have enough milk, ask them how they know this since there are no markings on your breasts and they are not drinking from you. These ppl really irritate me!
Lots of hugs and kisses. :hugs: :snuggles:

Hi all,
Firstly, thks so much for rallying around me, spending time to type out ur advice and sharing ur experiences.
Just nw, I latch on for abt 45mins and tried to settle bb to sleep. He fell asleep at my breast. But he zz only for abt 15 mins and woke up crying and fussing after many attempts to re-settle him. He was rooting, looking for nipple. But I dun hv any milk, so gotta gv him ebm. He slept for straight 3 hrs plus.
Mummies,
Really appreciate all ur support and encouragement.
After talking to some frends,I hv decided it's best not to stress myself. I wanna enjoy my bb and spend gd time with my ds1. I do not wan to put so much pressure on myself that I become a monster and start snapping at ppl around me. They are all stressed out trying to help me.
I missed a feed and pump out and the qty is 1oz. It is not enough for bb, unless like what some of u said, keep latching nonstop.
I'm afraid I'm gg into post natal depression. I juz join this forum not too long and I did admit that I'm not the typical mother type. For my 1st bb, I was in depression as well and when I told my mum I'm trying for 2nd bb, she did warn me abt it but I wanted a sibling for my ds1. Thru out my pregnancy I keep thinking if history will repeat itself and did as much as I can to prepare myself. I knew that 1 of the issue was BFg. And I told myself if hv I will gv, if not then I wun force it. I know breast is best and it will always be a regret that I can't do it well. But by forcing myself,I will go mental. And my family members worry abt me.
Unless I hv my confinement in the comfort of the hospital with nurses and LC on 24 hrs standby.
The night feeds are killing me. I dun hv to describe it. I'm sure all of u know what i mean. I missed my ds1 nw staying with my mum. But when he comes back, I feel so pressurized with bb. All I wan is to spend time with him with I did not do so for the past 3 hrs of his life cos of work. But nw, instead of being with him, I'm stuck with the bb on my breast, in bed, ALL THE TIME. I know itz suppose to be LIKE THAT. But I can't take it anymore.
I was actually looking forward to balloting today cos it gvs me an excuse to get out of the house!can u imagine???
Thanks to all of u who spent time to gv me such support. Im very TOUCHED that such a short note for help can garner such strong reaction frm so many of u. I'm afraid I dun hv such conviction as all of u. Some still BFg till kids are toddlers and beyond. Really fantastic and I wish I hv such patience and perseverance.
:thankyou: -
Terry,
Give Gina Ford’s book a try. Like you, my bb was crying a lot and woke up many times for night feed. I was neglecting my elder boy because I had to catch up on my sleep.
After reading the book and tweaking some parts of her advice, my DS2 has settle down to some sort of a routine. I am able to express milk and leave him for short periods of time with my in-laws as I step out for a while to run errands. With expressed milk, I am able to spend time with my elder boy at home too.
Basically I only direct feed him in the afternoons and at night before he goes to bed.
Take care and good luck!!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.