Fun Materials, Books & Games For Phonics!
fyi, popular book fair at expo coming again on 25 Sept 09.
Heyya maltbibi!
Good you found the cards.
So, tried it yet?
My
elder girl uses it to practise
with my younger...
She plays with it, just like
how i played with her when
she was learning to read a
few years ago.
As for the Pull & Learn books
i definitely did not get mine
from roadshow. It was bought
at the store itself... but right now
i cannot put my finger on whether
it was at BPP (Bt Panjang Plaza or
at Lot 1 Shoppers Mall.. :idea:
But during the Popular roadshows,
i usually can get quite good books
at good price! Especially since i have
time to slowly dig out the good stuff.
Hi Buds
I have not tried out the cards yet. Intend to play with her these few days. Guess she will love the cards
Will try my luck at Popular at BPP or Lot 1. Thanks for sharing this with me. Have enquired from the distributor but they have not get back to me yet. Btw, do you remember when do you bot it? Isit recently?
Hehehe..how I wish I can go shopping with you at the Popular roadshows.. Sure will find many treasures
Busymom:
Ya, busymom... sometimes one can find treasures inWow, I got two of those years ago at those temporary book stalls that you sometimes see. My DD simply loved them (but I didn't know these are great for learning phonics - blur me!). Would love to buy the rest if someone could tell me where to get them. By the way, don't think I have seen them at United Sq's Popular.
By the way, think Popular should pay buds advertisement fees liao.
normal shops. As SAHM, i am always on the prowl for
value-for-money products!
Smaller pockets.. :oops:
So, my sharings are to help parents get good finds or
even share DIY stuff to benefit our children.
It is possible to pay peanuts for the great stuff.
Just to share.. :lol:
Chief has a book similar to mine.
He bought at Borders for like SGD$30.
I bought it at Popular for SGD$13.00.
When i say he ATAS type; ONLY go
Borders to buy...(meaning upper-class...)
hahaa... He explains, it's just more of the
convenience factor to get it at Borders...
But, still... about the SGD$17 savings... :idea:
:idea:.... now that you've mentioned it, busymom..
I guess Popular can consider giving me commission. :lol:
Naaah, seriously... sharing feels good!
fyi, popular book fair at expo coming again on 25 Sept 09.
I like the stuff i got from their fairs.
I reali cannot stand the queuing up
though.. Need to go for foot reflex
after that.
And they actually have like 20
payment counters wor.. :idea:
Thanks for the heads up, hquek! -
maltbibi:
Heyya maltbibi, sowie.. :oops:Hi Buds
I have not tried out the cards yet. Intend to play with her these few days. Guess she will love the cards
Will try my luck at Popular at BPP or Lot 1. Thanks for sharing this with me. Have enquired from the distributor but they have not get back to me yet. Btw, do you remember when do you bot it? Isit recently?
Hehehe..how I wish I can go shopping with you at the Popular roadshows.. Sure will find many treasures
Cannot recall when exactly i bought it but definitely
quite sometime back. The thing is, with lots of new
books coming up, the stores dun exactly have space
to permanently display all the books they have, so in
this light... the roadshows will open up the best hidden
secret treasures again... and at an even better price!
I have tried to get some series from them too and
they told me to wait for their roadshows. But if i can
get it at a glimpse somewhere else, i still just get it..
No need to wait for the roadshows.
Oh yes, maltbibi... I dunno how to be a gold-digger
ie.fleece men of their money kinda' woman... :lol:
But i sure am a great treasure finder.
Tho' not in monetary sense...
these treasures benefits me &
my children anyhow.
Is your child a visual learner?
A simple explanation of learning styles is this: Some
students remember best materials theyβve seen, some
remember things theyβve heard, while others remember
things theyβve experienced.
Visual learning is a teaching and learning style in which
ideas, concepts, data & other information are associated
with images and techniques. It is one of the three basic
types of learning styles that also includes kinaesthetic
learning and auditory learning.
Does your child :-
1. Love pictures... and can appreciate in detail the illustration
in books...
2. Have the ability to piece jigsaw puzzles independently or
almost without help...
3. Like to draw, paint, doodle..... like maps, cartoons...
4. Remember where you parked your car in the multi-storey
carpark...
5. Like to build stuff from junk... like architectural designs from
matchsticks/cards, build boats from boxes, (etc)
6. Have a good sense of direction...
If yes to all or almost all of the above, these books will delight them.
ADVENTURES IN LITERACY By Ruth Thomson guides children
from their first steps in Phonics.
TEN TINY TEDDIES is an alphabet book where the children can
first be introduced to alphabets and letter sounds using this colourfully
illustrated book. Invite children to search for objects beginning with one
particular alphabet or letter sound to help them take that first step to
literacy.
http://www.postimage.org/
Sample pages from TEN TINY TEDDIES.
There is also a NOTES section/page for teachers and parents to help with
the representation of sounds of each alphabet.
FOUR SPECKLED FROGS introduces how consonants can go
together to form blends. Another lively book where children can
play the EYE-SPY game. You can get a magnifying glass for fun
activities with your child. Cheap ones can be bought over at
Value shops or Daiso.
Sample page from FOUR SPECKLED FROGS.
TWO BLUE COCKATOOS shares rhymes with fun-filled illustrations
and a few games to help children recognize and create their own rhymes.
In this book, children search for pictures for objects that rhyme. Good for
reading to the child, reading with the child or reading alone (if the child
can already manage).
Good for advance readers or children who have finished with consonant
blends and digraphs in Phonics classes.
Sample page from TWO BLUE COCKATOOS.
There should be a total of 4 books altogether.
I didn't manage to get one of the books in this
series, which is the 'Vowel Sounds' book.
Bought from Popular almost the same time when
the PULL & LEARN PHONICS series were launched.
The ADVENTURES IN LITERACY is hardcover and
priced at only SGD$6.90... and yes, that's before
member's discount.
:salute:
Ya, busymom... sometimes one can find treasures in
normal shops. As SAHM, i am always on the prowl for
value-for-money products!
Smaller pockets.. :oops:
So, my sharings are to help parents get good finds or
even share DIY stuff to benefit our children.buds:
Dun quite agree leh. I dun find books in Popular being priced cheaper than Borders. And when Borders has the 30% sale recently, really :x that I had paid so much more at Popular.
Just to share.. :lol:
Chief has a book similar to mine.
He bought at Borders for like SGD$30.
I bought it at Popular for SGD$13.00.
When i say he ATAS type; ONLY go
Borders to buy...(meaning upper-class...)
hahaa... He explains, it's just more of the
convenience factor to get it at Borders...
But, still... about the SGD$17 savings... :idea: -
Paiseh... Paiseh... :oops:
Guess... it depends on the books
bah.. :oops: And mebbe also to
take into consideration, each
company's respective sales
periods or seasons.
I do agree if Borders is near
to workplace or home then of
course why go all the way to
a Popular store if they have
the same kind you're looking
for...
Unless of course if half-priced!
:!:
Yah, 30% then quite worth it lah.
Especially for good books!
So, when Borders got sale you
share here, okie? I mountain
tortoise and very kampong
(ie. village)... So i oni shop
within my kampong oso... :oops:
Thanks in advance, Busymom. -
Does your child like to watch the cartoon series called
CLIFFORD the big red dog? If your child enjoys the
adventures Clifford has with Emily Elizabeth & his
friends, your child is sure to like this set of books.
CLIFFORD, THE BIG RED DOG
PHONICS FUN READING PROGRAM
I just bought the whole set a couple of days ago @
Lot 1 Shoppers Mall (Choa Chu Kang MRT) Popular
bookstore. It was sold in Popular before now but i
did not recall it being cheap. So when i saw the
poster on this promotion, i thought it would be
a good buy now.
Cannot remember exactly the last day of this promo
but these Phonics readers are available @ a Buy 2 pks
get 1 pk FREE. On top of that, for every three packs you
get to bring home a cute Clifford dog on wheels. Comes
with a yellow string your child can pull along for all his
reading adventures with the readers.
Each pack of 12 reading books are colourfully illustrated.
I would have preferred them to be hardcover, but alas all
are paperback. Books are easy to read & graded in
numbered packs. There are 6 packs altogether.
Each pack costing SGD $19.90.
Note for parents/teachers
Sample pages to share..
There are also repetitive sight words your children can practise
on with these Clifford readers, on top of the phonetic emphasis
of each book. The Lot 1 Popular outlet has one open pack for
browsing purposes, which i like.
I paid altogether SGD $79.60 for all 6 packs.
Totalling the readers to 72 books in all, plus
2 cute Clifford pull-toys.
:oops: Sorry. Thought that everyone would know already leh, as it was advertised on the papers.
So, when Borders got sale you
share here, okie? I mountain
tortoise and very kampong
(ie. village)... So i oni shop
within my kampong oso... :oops:
Thanks in advance, Busymom.
No problem, would love to share good news with everyone, especially with you, buds.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.