Presidential Election 2011

1.7k Posts 157 Posters 404.5k Views 1 Watching
      Way2GO

Trying to give another perspective about statistics. Say, if Dr TCB has won, he would also win with 30+% given the number of contenders and their campaigning efforts, it would also mean 60+% not supporting him and he will have to prove himself the same. Similiarly for TJS. So for each of them individually whoever won, they would have to press on in the new role with a 60+% not supporting them, they have to spur themselves abit by thinking positive.

That's why d winner has to psycho himself dat he has clothes on.
      With only 1/3 cloth, cover d face or d bottom when strutting in public? :rotflmao:

Seriously, any winner with < 50% winning votes wouldn’t hv a strong mandate to speak up for d ppl.
      A rule could hv been included to hv a run-off between d top 2 in a close fight n
      when d top candidate has less than 50% of d valid votes to ensure dat
      d winner has at least a strong mandate to start his Presidency.

However, it’s not going to happen coz:
      1.\tIt’s an unnecessary costly process given d EP’s limited powers.
      2.\tMore importantly, d gahmen of d day has deliberately chosen FPTP coz it is almost certain dat in a run-off,
      TCB will beat TT convincingly going by d PE voting pattern.

If one look beyond d PE, FPTP is likely to be retained for d next GE too.
      D voting pattern in dis PE seems to indicate there is a strong support base of die hard PAP voters ard 35%.
      In any 3 or more corner fight, d PAP is thus likely to win.

Way2GO

Oppsgal:

Why no strong party tell citizens who to vote for, to get unity on who to vote :? Too late now...

Many people still kiasi, dare not be too outspoken on their own analysis. Think some smart ones already have idea, but rather stay safe and not be too outspoken or suffer consequences. How many independent people do we know, have the courage to be candid about their views and not be 'black marked' ? (I can think of Catherine Lim, but see what happened to her :lightrod: ) Even foreigners who speak about Singapore, no matter how candid, if contrary to 'politically correct' get marked.

Unfortunately, our society and media isn't as opened like in other countries where you can be 'educated' on possible outcomes, or a forum by a panel of INDEPENDENT analysts in areas of political science, sociology, economics, etc, the various strategies in place by each candidate, how the society react, etc... Online Citizen is commendable in inviting the candidates for open discussions, (not limited to just the media), but it is not enough. The growing number of bloggers wiling to discuss politics openly is also commendable. Oh, and of course, a forum like KSP!! :lovesite: Unfortunately, our media is controlled, so the majority of the public is still very much 'out of the loop' and given a bigger picture.

Political openness opens the door to diversity of views and possibilities - not changing for the sake of changing, resulting in a more COLOURFUL, CREATIVE, and MATURE society.

My understanding is dat no polling is allowed during campaign period in SG politics.
        A poll would hv been indicative for fence sitters choosing bwt TCB n TJS.
        d net is naturally filled more with alternative views when d MSM is viewed as bias n controlled.

concern2

Not talking about having polls leh... :scratchhead:

caroline3sg

Trying to give another perspective about statistics. Say, if Dr TCB has won, he would also win with 30+% given the number of contenders and their campaigning efforts, it would also mean 60+% not supporting him and he will have to prove himself the same. Similiarly for TJS. So for each of them individually whoever won, they would have to press on in the new role with a 60+% not supporting them, they have to spur themselves abit by thinking positive.

I believe those who voted TJS wouldn't mind TCB as president but not TT since TJS is the last one who said want to contest.

In fact TCB was my 2nd choice and 1st choice if TJS didn't contest.

what happen to Catherine Lim ?

Way2GO

Not talking about having polls leh... :scratchhead:

U talking abt independent analysts mah;
                Say wat u want to say, I say my piece mah :rotflmao:

:oops: My post was to add on to ur view dat there r constraints n restrictions limiting d spread of various views. 😉

wonderm

If TJS won, about 75% of voters not supporting him. If TKL won, about 95% of voters not supporting him. Not the same %.

But I got what you mean, none of them had gotten majority vote.

Way2GO

what happen to Catherine Lim ?

I think concern2 refers to SME GCT putting Catherine Lim in her place
                    when she wrote about d great political divide.
                    He said she shd step into d political arena if she wants to talk politics.

wonderm:

If TJS won, about 75% of voters not supporting him. If TKL won, about 95% of voters not supporting him. Not the same %.

You are right, I was not being precise like the way I would solve Math problems in the Math thread...but you got my drift. :hi5:

Way2GO

wonderm:

alamak wonderm, u another PhD in maths? 😆
                        It's not possible to win with 25% of valid votes in a 4 corner fight
                        unless there is a high percentage of spoilt votes;
                        n definitely not with 5% of valid votes.
                        But I understand ur point 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 159 / 172

CupNoodleC
                        CupNoodle