In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      coolit

And she also asked me to serve her the mooncake that we had bought for some

guests coming over this weekend. Aiya…I really very pek chek, sorry to rant and
      rave but she sometimes makes me boil!! She also asked me why am I on my laptop
      and not cleaning the place. All asked in very civil and puzzled tones.

coolit:
        Aiya..I really very pek chek, sorry to rant and

rave but she sometimes makes me boil!! She also asked me why am I on my laptop
        and not cleaning the place. All asked in very civil and puzzled tones.
        Dont worry. Understand your frustrations like dropping by unannounced. Thank goodness I stay on opposite side of island and hubby told her I am not at home. Anyway, she is the type who wants to be ferried everywhere..so I'm not worried she will drop by.

coolit

Thanks Janet, I feel better knowing that I have an online community that is a form

of outlet for me.

Wish my MIL is like that- must be ferried around. My MIL takes taxi to and fro. Quite
          independent in that way, but not so good for me.

auntieM

coolit:
            This is place where I come to vent when I meet MIL. She just came over to my house to

give me some mooncake. She said it was the best mooncake that one of my SIL bought
            for her and she kept looking around and when she saw some mooncake that we had
            bought, she said, \"Aiyo, you have so nice mooncake yourself, I should not have
            bought this mooncake, I thought maybe you don't know how to buy mooncake because
            I never get any from you so I come all the way here to give you.\" :stompfeet:

Very pek chek and she just drops in unannounced as if she wants to check
            up on me.
            Can understand your frustration coolit.. ..
            My ILs do not drop by, but will pass those 'alien' mooncake that no one dares eat to us for disposal I suppose if we do meet for meals outside..
            :roll:

coolit

Thanks AuntieM, makes me feel better that there are others out there who have

similar experiences.

"alien" mooncake? you mean the purple, green ones?

auntieM

coolit:
                Thanks AuntieM, makes me feel better that there are others out there who have

similar experiences.

\"alien\" mooncake? you mean the purple, green ones?
                Hehee.. ..wait long long for those 'ex' ones...
                Those mooncakes from JB that are packed in cardboard boxes.. ..
                Well travelled and been thrown around a fair bit you wouldn't dare to open the box kind.. ..
                Seriously, a decent one from NTUC is good enough for me..
                :stupid:

coolit

From JB in cardboard boxes? Oh dear, I did not know there were such mooncakes

around. Honestly, I think we are ok if we do not get mooncakes from MILs,
                  I rather not get anything that funny ones like you described or get and
                  get ‘hints’ that I should have given her.

These gifts are emotional blackmail.

auntieM

I have a drawer of expired and crushed tidbits and biscuits collected for my DH to consume.. ..Wonder why DH cannot see leh.. :?

My MIL expects to eat out in fancy restaurants and plays mahjong big time, yet when it comes to stuffs like this she is so 'niao'/'mean'.. ..I really :salute: her..

coolit

Maybe your hubby bo pian, knows she is like that and shuts both eyes to what she

is doing. That is what my hubby does but at least when I complain to him, he will
                      listen. When we were staying with her, it was worse.

Fancy restaurants? hmm, my MIL also, she always wants to go to Min Jiang at
                      Goodwood park hotel. Other places too cheapo for her, if higher class
                      than Min Jiang no problem but cannot be cheaper than that.

auntieM:
                        My MIL expects to eat out in fancy restaurants and plays mahjong big time, yet when it comes to stuffs like this she is so 'niao'/'mean'.. ..I really :salute: her..

Mine here kicks up a big fuss every CNY first day...alamak, only cooking vegetarian and ONCE A YEAR. But she expects to eat out in fancy restaurants too...but when eating at restaurants, she doesn't even dress nicely...like this year CNY reunion lunch...wore what one would wear to kopitiam :faint:

If I were you, I would dump away those expired food. If hubby gets food poisoning, you will suffer too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 324 / 529

482049mom4
                        482049mom