Excuse Me Can I take these seats?
:rotflmao:DH snickered, and said aunty, you haven't seen really qia from her yet. She hummpph at DH and shut up. haha.
I can't help being surprised by how the kids cannot differentiate between what's their own and those belong to \"strangers\". My son is very protective over his own things. Wonder what he will do if someone does that while I am not around - but interesting, will share these stories with him and start 'educating' him should similar incidents happen to us.very recent encounter.... in OP @ HK
weather was hot & place was very crowded... i finally managed to find an empty table after staring at those people still sitting ard after finishing their food (must put pressure on them)
together with my 2 kids, we sat down & reserved a place for DH (who was queueing for food)
this family came up & asked if anything sitting beside us... still gt abt 3 seats empty ( our table was those round kind but the seats were long wooden benches & arranged in such a way that it forms an octagon shape)
we told them 1 was reserved but their kids js plonked themselves down and even trying to squeeze my kids out so that their parents can sit down too...
i was :mad: i told them again : These seats are taken.... can u pls get up... why cant u sit on the empty ones instead... :stompfeet:
funny thing was, DH came back with the food & those kids, without realising, begin helping themselves to the food. we stared at them... what the...
then their parents apologise & told the kids that the fd was nt theirs... stop eating!!!
they bought us additional food to make up for it.
Funz, you're husband is very funny, and it is such a good way to ease the tension! :rotflmao: -
My encounter in a hawker centre in the East.
I was with my kids to ‘chope’ the table while hub, aunty and uncle went to get food. Table was obviously only half occupied.
Uncle plonked himself on the seat without asking.
(all in Mandarin)
Me: Uncle, these seats are taken.
Uncle: Is it? Are their names written here?
Me: Oh, i didn’t know need to write their names. Next time I’ll definitely do it.
Uncle walked away grudgingly. -
Yah in that incident, he was rather amused. But he was also speaking the truth lah, being on the receiving end of my qianess more often then he would have liked. :razz:
But some people are just plain bullies. She dared to do what she did cos I was a mother with 2 young kids. The moment DH joined us, her whole body language changed and she backed off. Before that she was literally looming over me. Doesn't help that I am short and she was a rather big sized woman. -
heard abt an incident where u know lah...singaporeans... chopped seats by placing tissue papers on tables or chairs...
so this 4 gals did the exact thing on the table beside us & left to do buy food...
an ang moh came up to their table, saw the tissues but js sat down. he pocketed the tissues found on the table.
i was bemused... one of the gals soon came back & was surprisd to find the ang moh there...
the ang moh apologise & sat down at another table. he returned the tissues to the gals & told them he thought they are placed on every table free to take.

I’ve always found this practice of choping seats via tissue packs odd. I’ve been tempted many a time to pocket the tissue pack and plonk myself on the seat. What would happen if I did you think?
I've always found this practice of choping seats via tissue packs odd. I've been tempted many a time to pocket the tissue pack and plonk myself on the seat. What would happen if I did you think?
I'm one of the 'barbarians' who like this practice. To me, it makes sense that everyone gets up and quickly get their food - rather than having a guard to sit there and wait till pp come back, then the guard go and queue for food. And if I'm alone, at least I know I won't have to practise gongfu holding up a possibly heavy tray of hot food waiting for a table. -
The tissue paper trick practice usually does not work in the heartland coffeeshops. I did that
once and this uncle came and took away the tissue paper and happily started
eating at the table and when I told him I put the tissue paper there, he said
he thought it was left behind by someone else and so he just took the packet and
sat down.
I could not really argue against his logic. So now, I try to leave people and not
things behind to chop seats. -
Usually practise this in town/around office. most other times, I will have pp around and we try to group orders so there is a ‘live being’ at the table.
don’t have memories of not being able to find seat in heartlands leh. -
Mine happened in some coffeeshop that was famous for its western food.
I think only those working in town understand this practice. I didnt think the
uncle was being funny on purpose, I think he really did not think the tissue
paper was used to chop seats.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.