Mrsbongz

Markfch, dun hav to feel paiseh, u should b proud of your boy's achievement. For my boy, I know he is academically weak, but his strength is in his love for God. To me that is more impt than studies... So far he has no issues with self esteem when he is lagging behind his classmates, so we let it be. Just try to help him be self motivated lo. I m those mommy that concentrate on character development rather than academics, because I believe that a child with right attitudes will be a blessing to others and himself. How well he does in life is not in my hands, if he has the right attitude, don have good grades also can make a living lah. but of cos istill have my ks moments lah :evil:

To all parents, can I ask how much time do your children study each day? Esp for weekends? :? my boy is complaining that he is spending too much time studying... but he only studies for about > an hour each day, even Saturdays! no enrichment or tuition, and reads a few pages of chinese and english books. Sundays are sabbath, no studying n only bible reading and sunday school.

Mrsbongz:
        To all parents, can I ask how much time do your children study each day? Esp for weekends? :? my boy is complaining that he is spending too much time studying... but he only studies for about > an hour each day, even Saturdays! no enrichment or tuition, and reads a few pages of chinese and english books. Sundays are sabbath, no studying n only bible reading and sunday school.

Sat mornings, both have CL tuition. Son has Maths tuition after that. After lunch and some rest time (that means play), they have to take a nap. Nights, son has to finish his Math tuition hw. Younger one has to revise either Math or English. Sunday morn, son has to complete CL tuition hw before his Eng enrichment. Rest of the day, I go easy on him...but with SA2 coming, some revision is done at night.

JoeeYee

IJJ:
          Talking about CL enrichment, another popular one is Jiang, which I have no idea how it fares among the students/parents.

My dd transferred to Jiang from Berries cos closer to the pool. Also, for some reasons unknown, she prefers the teachers and lessons there... I believe its cos they uses material from China and not text from MOE/school so more interesting...not many PH kids there....

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

Mrsbongz:
            I m those mommy that concentrate on character development rather than academics, because I believe that a child with right attitudes will be a blessing to others and himself. How well he does in life is not in my hands, if he has the right attitude, don have good grades also can make a living lah.

Good reminder. Kudos to you. I am lagging behind in focusing on their spiritual growth... 😓 😓

markfch

JoeeYee:

My dd transferred to Jiang from Berries cos closer to the pool. Also, for some reasons unknown, she prefers the teachers and lessons there... I believe its cos they uses material from China and not text from MOE/school so more interesting...not many PH kids there....
              Wah, your dd is pool player. Isn't the table a bit too high for her?
              Mrsbongz:
              For my boy, I know he is academically weak, but his strength is in his love for God. To me that is more impt than studies...
              I think you got your priorities absolutely right. I depend totally on PH's pastors for ds's spiritual guidance nowadays. The most I do is to remind ds to say a short prayer before bed.
              drickymummy:
              Bro Mark, my Ds too was a little afraid to move to BB..I told him tat we will just try out for 1 term..if things dun work out well..we stopped...before tat is lots of \"brainwashing \" of success cases with BB.. :evil:

After one term..he is v happy there..n he also compared BB's standard with Berries n find BB's more challenging n he prefers tat..

Discuss with your Ds to try out...never try never know mah....
              Appreciate your encouragement, drickymummy. Uncle Trap has also been egging me on to try TLL & BB since early this yr.

I saw BB course notes before, and I'm quite hopeful that ds will be able to cope. The prob is that ds wishes to stick to Berries as he has made many friends and likes his T who is very friendly. Hence the dilemma.

Actually you are the 4th PH parent to tell me to switch (would you believe it?) Maybe I should ask for ds opinion again later.

• X Offline
                XYZ1

The prob is that ds wishes to stick to Berries as he has made many friends and likes his T who is very friendly. Hence the dilemma.

Actually you are the 4th PH parent to tell me to switch (would you believe it?) Maybe I should ask for ds opinion again later.
                Mark

my ds is enjoying berries very much and other than his handwriting, I think he's progressing just fine...once i went earlier to fetch him and peeped into the class and saw the teacher playing Ren4 Zi4 game with the class and everyone was enjoying themselves tremendously and the energy was just fantastic...never saw my ds so enthusiastic in CL before... Seems like your ds is enjoying himself in Berries...so maybe BB can wait? I hear that Berries is good for up to P3 level....
                Just my humble opinion la...

• dyhD Offline
                  dyh

JoeeYee:

Wah, your dd is pool player. Isn't the table a bit too high for her?
                  Mrsbongz:
                  For my boy, I know he is academically weak, but his strength is in his love for God. To me that is more impt than studies...
                  I think you got your priorities absolutely right. I depend totally on PH's pastors for ds's spiritual guidance nowadays. The most I do is to remind ds to say a short prayer before bed.
                  drickymummy:
                  Bro Mark, my Ds too was a little afraid to move to BB..I told him tat we will just try out for 1 term..if things dun work out well..we stopped...before tat is lots of \"brainwashing \" of success cases with BB.. :evil:

After one term..he is v happy there..n he also compared BB's standard with Berries n find BB's more challenging n he prefers tat..

Discuss with your Ds to try out...never try never know mah....
                  Appreciate your encouragement, drickymummy. Uncle Trap has also been egging me on to try TLL & BB since early this yr.

I saw BB course notes before, and I'm quite hopeful that ds will be able to cope. The prob is that ds wishes to stick to Berries as he has made many friends and likes his T who is very friendly. Hence the dilemma.

i dun believe in switching just becos others say so lah, impt is whether your child is currently doing well. for me, it is dun fix it if not broken. just my opinion.

• dyhD Offline
                    dyh

Mrsbongz:
                    Markfch, dun hav to feel paiseh, u should b proud of your boy's achievement. For my boy, I know he is academically weak, but his strength is in his love for God. To me that is more impt than studies... So far he has no issues with self esteem when he is lagging behind his classmates, so we let it be. Just try to help him be self motivated lo. I m those mommy that concentrate on character development rather than academics, because I believe that a child with right attitudes will be a blessing to others and himself. How well he does in life is not in my hands, if he has the right attitude, don have good grades also can make a living lah. but of cos istill have my ks moments lah :evil:

I also think that good character is more impt than good in studies. given a choice, i know what i would choose. but still better if can hv both...ha.

i think study one hour a day is ok for P1.

JoeeYee

Actually, I believes the chemistry between teacher and child is the most impt factor that affects a child’s learning progress. Once my dd finds a teacher she comfy with, 天涯海角, we’ll follow him/her…

Mark, I think she might be tall enough to reach the pool table… but you know there’s another type of pool that you can jump into…? Anyway, is there another name for it?

Mrsbongz, kids finish school work, then 1 assessment from me, then half hour piano before we go swimming… in between, all others are their free time. Whether they have tuition or cca that day is not taken into consideration. Grandparents will get them to read storybooks at nigyt and do some writing. Weekends very busy having fun… swim, wushu, piano, art, visit grandparents… Sunday afternoon usually we go picnic then dine out till late…

JoeeYee

IJJ:

Oh yes, and rabbits too.

Is rabbit stew a common dish there? :siam:

Oh, soooooo cruel..... please don't eat them like we're not suppose to eat dogs.... they're pets....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1432 / 2049